We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scalea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Cielo B&B Scalea
Ranked #6 of 20 Scalea B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A really warm welcome from the moment you enter their lovely home. All the rooms have hand painted pictures of Scalea. Nothing is too much trouble and we even got a tour of the area. Highly recommended Steve & Anna

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecooke2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Clive and Kathyrn are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. They offer so much more than just a B&B. they provide excellent advice on places to visit both in Scalea and further a field at nearby towns.
We have eaten regularly at Casa Cielo and Clive's interpretation of Italian dishes never disappoints. A trip is not complete without a meal there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Everything you read here is absolutely true this is a unique one off establishment run by 2 people who know the history and culture of this place. It feels less like being in a hotel but rather more like being a house guest of old frinds who will share a glass of wine and their knowledge of this region. We will definately be back and all their recommendations were spot on. The rooms were clean quirky and comnfortable and our final meal on the terrace under starlight is a memory which will stay with us for a long long time. We rate this place highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our decision to stay at Casa Cielo was based on reviews on tripadvisor. And we regret.. that we stayed there only for 4 nights. All the previous reviews are true. Clive and Cathrine were very nice and helpful. Clive gave us advice on good places to explore and helped us how to reach them - driving in mountains can be tricky. Breakfasts and dinner were just superb.
We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

After visiting Italy previously on the lovely but very 'touristy' Amalfi coast, my wife and I decided that for our second journey to the country we would try and find something a little more, well... 'Italian'! After some searching we found Casa Cielo in Scalea, that seemed to tick all the boxes that we were after. There was, possibly, only one problem - as vegetarians, it is sometimes difficult to get good veggie food abroad. A couple of emails and phone conversations with the host later, our worries had been eased - Clive was more than happy to provide suitable meals for us during our stay, should we wish.

The journey to Scalea isn't exactly quick - fly to Naples, then a 3 hour train journey south. However, unlike flying, the train journey itself was relaxing, cheap and, very importantly, felt as though you were leaving the frantic UK life behind.

Casa Cielo is deep in the heart of the old town - it's cobbled, narrow passages full of hidden corners, beautiful houses and tranquility (the busier part of town is the new section, a short walk away). Upon arrival, we were greeted by Clive and Kathryn, and a long-awaited drink of fantastic Italian wine on the balcony, already taking in the stunning view of the Mediterranean glimmering in the late afternoon sun. The house itself has a lovely old facade, but on entering is a very different environment. Clean, polished stone floors that were lovely and cool on the aching feet, modern bedrooms and lounge, and a view that I would never tire of seeing - across the jumbled terracotta rooftops of the old town to the sea, with, just on the land side, the stunning towering mountains providing the backdrop.

Clive was more than happy to take us on a tour of the area, and obviously knew the area very well. Surrounded by mountains on the landward sides, Scalea is brilliantly situated to offer stunning vistas from almost any excursion. Numerous beautiful, unspoilt (very over-used, but in this instance very true) villages and towns are dotted around the area, and Clive seemed to know them all - each had a character of it's own, and, as an amateur photographer, exactly the kind of 'old Italy' that I was after.

A word, of course, about the food. We did try a couple of the better restaurants in Scalea during our 10-day stay, but in all honesty the food served up by Clive easily surpassed them. Vegetarian food abroad can be very unimaginative sometimes, but each meal was a sheer delight. My wife still talks about the Mushroom Polenta and salad that was served one night, which was so good she requested it again before the holiday finished. The pizzas he conjured up were also better than the local Pizzerias could provide.

Overall, a superb trip, and Clive and Kathryn the perfect hosts. Looking forward to a return journey as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Clive and Kathryn have created the most heavenly vacation getaway one could ever imagine. Their efforts could be nothing but successful because of their kind, helpful and generous manners. I have stayed with Clive and Kathryn at Casa Cielo in the past and would NEVER consider an alternative situation. They became instant friends especially because of the care they took of me since I was traveling alone on first visit. During another visit to Casa Cielo Clive and Kathryn surprised by sister-in-law with a hugh, homemade birthday cake! That special touch made quite an impression on my traveling companions! So, when you are basking in the sun on the roof terrace at Casa Cielo while lookking out at the beautiful sea sipping a glass of wine and listening to Clive's entertaining stories or Kathryn's good advice just remember - I told you so!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have recently been over to Italy to stay with Clive and Kathryn at Casa Cielo. RIght from the start both Clive and Kathryn took us under their wings and took every opportunity to ensure that our stay was absolutely wonderful.
Casa Cielo is a beautifully refurbished historic house nestled in the center of the old town in a classic Italian hill top village. Staying there, you get a taste of history that you can't get anywhere else. The village is the same in may ways as it was hundreds of years ago and yet, Clive and Kathryn have gone out of their way to make comfort and convenience a high priority.
Clive and Kathryn are the perfect hosts. Clive is an amazing chef and cooks using only the freshest local ingredients bought straight from the market that day. He is also a history buff so, if you want to he can take you around to the local sights and tell you all of the history surrounding them.
Kathryn is also a beautiful hostess. She is gentle and sweet and just appears when you need anything. She also knows how to negotiate the Italian market and has helped me get great deals with the local merchants.
The great thing about this couple is that they seem to have a sixth sense as to how much attention you want. If you want a lot of interaction, they provide it and if you want to be left to your own devices, you will be. It is perfect.
I could go on but I think you get the idea. If you want a beautiful holiday in a part of Italy that most people don't ever get to see and if you want someone who speaks your language as well as Italian and can help you negotiate train schedules and a million other things, you want to come to Casa Cielo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalea
0.5 mi away
Le Dune Suite Hotel
Le Dune Suite Hotel
#4 of 29 in Porto Cesareo
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Azzurro Hotel & Resort
Club Azzurro Hotel & Resort
#1 of 29 in Porto Cesareo
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#1 of 6 in Torre Lapillo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Conchiglia Azzurra Hotel
Conchiglia Azzurra Hotel
#9 of 29 in Porto Cesareo
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#3 of 6 in Torre Lapillo
148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#10 of 29 in Porto Cesareo
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cielo B&B Scalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cielo B&B Scalea

Property: Casa Cielo B&B Scalea
Address: Vicolo 1 | Piazza Vecchia 16, 87029 Scalea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Scalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Scalea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA CIELO BED AND BREAKFAST IS IN THE HEART OF SCALEA'S OLD TOWN (THE HISTORICAL CENTRE) SURROUNDED BY HISTORY AND CULTURE and is a genuine five minute walk from the beach, restaurants and cafes with no roads to cross. NEW FOR 2015, each bedroom now has its own private lounge. Your English hosts will welcome you to enjoy the most traditional of Italian holiday tailored around your every need. All rooms are en-suite and the use of your own private sea-view lounge is available to guests. A relaxed, private and personal holiday is assured you for the duration of your stay. The view from the terraces (a perfect spot to sit and watch the sun go down) is of mountain, plain, island and sea and cannot be beaten by any other establishment in the area. Our rates for bed and breakfast are per room for two people, but we also offer half-board (B&B + evening meal) at a very good price. Casa Cielo boasts of the finest stone carved doorway in the town if not the area. The obscure date etched into the artwork seems to read 1724 but many argue it reads 1174 while inside the decor and furnishing are sympathetic to the houses antiquity. Although the splendour and size of the Casa cannot be appreciated from the medieval alleyways in which it sits, these are soon realised upon entering the property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing