We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and great location”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stella
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and great location”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Hotel stella is a 3 stars hotel, located just off the Ciampinoi elevator and Danterciepes, so location is great. From the first moment we felt at home, and the staff was great and helpful. Rooms are not so big, but are very clean and warm.
The whole atmosphere is that of a family, warm and wellcome, what more could you ask after a day out skiing.
Sauna dry and wet (hamam) is good but small
Also the ski room and rent is very professional, and convenient and very good prices.

Room Tip: we slept at the side of the elevator and it did not bother us at all (we were with a small kid)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    68
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We have just come back from staying at the Hotel Stella which we stayed there for Xmas. The decoration of the hotel needs updating but it is very clean and they are very accommodating. It is right in the center of the village and one ski lift is behind the hotel and the other one is only 100 yards away. The bedroom was sufficient for our needs and they always changed the towels every day.The staff are brilliant, I can't praise them enough and also the bar man Aldo was superb. We are already looking to going back there again later on this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I visited the hotel Stella in March 2011. It is brilliantly located with a lift directly behind and a gondola around 50 yards away around the corner. There are a number of bars and restaurants directly around the hotel.

If you do travel to Selva, you may wonder if you have arrived in Italy or Austria as this part of Italy used to belong to Austria, as a result the locals are very proud of their history and the main languages spoken are German and Ladeen (an official language only spoken in this valley).

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Each night we were provided with a choice of three starters, three main courses and three desserts to choose from for the next night. My German isn't too good so the hotel were very accomadating and prepared a copy of the menu in English for us each night.

The person who we had most contact with wals Aldo who is the barman, he is very polite, funny and keen to interact with his guests, although he would never accept a drink from me despite numerous attemps to persuade him.

All in all a very well run, friendly hotel with good quality food and a great selection made even better by the professional and friendly attitude of Aldo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We found the hotel to be very welcoming, it has good sized clean comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is ideally situated in the village with a ski lift at the back of the hotel with another 2 about 100 meters away. It is also on the Sella Ronda ski route which we did several times and enjoyed being able to come back and use the hotel's excellent sauna and steam room to relax.
The food is very good. We were there over Christmas and had an 8 course Christmas Eve dinner and 6 course Christmas day dinner. If your children are fussy eaters i.e like chicken nuggets and chips as ours were when they were younger then this hotel may not be for you, as it is Italian/German cuisine. It has its own very good ski hire shop so it is not necessary to go elsewhere to hire skis. Overall it is a very friendly and comfortable hotel that we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilclarey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We read a review of this hotel on Tripadvisor and as a result nearly cancelled our booking.

That review could not have been further from the truth.

We arrived later than planned because of a problem with the transfer from Verona. The staff could not have been more helpful and made sure that we got dinner despite the late hour.

Check-in was smooth and quick. Our rooms were perfect.

Next morning we realised that the hotel is perfectly positioned. It is close to the heart of the town, ski hire - in fact the hotel has it's own ski shop - and less than 100 metres from the 2 principal lifts. At the end of the skiing day a short walk of no more than 100 metres gets you back to the locker in the hotel's ski shop.

We stayed on a half board basis. Whilst the food was not the most exciting it was always of excellent quality. The staff were without exception very helpful and friendly.

Our stay exceeded our expectations and we will consider returning there next year for our annual skiing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arsmith4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This hotel is one which First Choice use and can only be booked on the internet - it is not in their brochure - I now know why. First Choice rate it as a 3 star plus - I wouldn't give it 1 star. I have stayed in better in Bulgaria. When we arrived, the room was freezing cold as the windows had been left open in temperatures of minus 5. The bathroom, which First Choice said were recently refurbished were nothing of the sort. In fact ours didn't look like it had been refurbished since 1970. Avocado in colour, the shower screen didn't close, the tiles were cracked and the shower flex cover was breaking. The carpet in the room which had at some point in it's life been pink was just a sort of dirty colour and was filthy. The only light in the room was a fluorescent strip light at the top of the window. There was no hairdryer in the room as First Choice had stated that there would be, and it definitely isn't "ski to door" as they say it is. The wardrobe was stained in the bottom corner where it looked like someone had at some time urinated in there.
On the plus side, the bedding was actually clean (even though the top blankets were a dirty brown colour) and the food was ok, but nothing exceptional. When we attempted to make a mild complaint to the hotel manager we were ignored for the rest of the week. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oddpolewatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#17 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Freina
Hotel Freina
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#43 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garni Hotel Concordia
Garni Hotel Concordia
#78 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Strada Meisules 283, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#58 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing