We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

A small hotel with good location in Val Gardena (near a bus station and cabin lifts). Quite and clean rooms and a very friendly staff. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the morning and the hotel bar in the evenings. Hotel Laurin has a relaxing area with a swimming pool and a big jacuzzi and different types of saunas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

I would highly recommend Hotel Laurin. Astrid and the entire staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful...to the point that we thought there was a case of mistaken identity, and they thought we were VIP. Their dinner and activity recommendations were wonderful, as were the actual accommodations. We stayed in garden room #2, which I think is brand new (as is #1). It has a modern design, with a glassed-in bathroom that looks into the bedroom. The room also has a small sun room that opens into the backyard, where there are lounge chairs and a trampoline.

There is a bar in the hotel, which was a nice place to cap off the night. There's no pressure to hang out there, though, and the owner even opened a few bottles of wine for us to drink in our sun room.

We were unfortunately only in the Dolomites for two days, so we only did one day of hiking and did not use the lifts in Selva. Instead, we took the bus to Ortisei (right outside the hotel) and took the Alpe di Siusi lift up to an absolutely beautiful alpine meadow and view of the Dolomites.

We were sad to leave Hotel Laurin at the end of our stay, but were happy to leave with a complimentary jar of local jam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittanyBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is in a good location at the top of town. I had room 42 which has a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and it was spacious and spotlessly clean.

The hotel appears to cater primarily to German and Italian guests as evidenced by the lack of a welcome leaflet in English and no TV channels in English either. As such, I cannot recommend this hotel to English-speaking guests.

Breakfast is of good quality with a wide variety of cereals, breads, jams, teas, meat and cheese. Seven of my friends were staying at the Hotel Oswald and were offered scrambled egg - something not offered by Hotel Laurin. As a result, I had the same breakfast each day which was a bit boring.

The hotel is family run and has a very personal style. You can tell that the hosts try hard to make their guests feel welcome and it's not possible to go across reception without a cheery "Hello Mr X" being shouted from the office. They rang Tourist information on my behalf to check on buses home, which was a nice touch.

There is a wellness centre under the hotel which looked spotless and very new. I didn't try it but I think it is a great addition to the hotel.

Room cleaning on floor 2 started at 9am every day without fail. If I chose to sleep in, this meant a knock on the door at 9am; if I decided to breakfast earlier, I would find the cleaners in my room when I got back from breakfast. A later start time to the cleaning would have been appreciated.

Something really annoyed me about this hotel which is why I have given a lower rating than I would otherwise have done. They insisted that I paid the balance IN CASH on departure. This meant that I had to draw cash out each day to ensure I had enough as the cash machines only allow a withdrawal of 250 euros per day. At the end of the stay, I was provided with a handwritten scribble as a bill in return for my cash. This was wholly unprofessional and not what I would have expected from a professionally run 4 star hotel. I thought this was a disgrace. Maybe there is not a requirement to provide guests with a proper bill on departure in Italy? I expect one and would have demanded one had I not been in a hurry to catch my bus home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Laurin, Proprietario at Hotel Laurin Small&Charming, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Dear Sir, we are sorry about this inconvenience of the payment in cash. We just asked a favor, so we didn't have to pay the credit cards commission and invest this benefit in the infrastructure of our nice hotel.
We apologize for the hand written bill we have always done, because we find it more personal for our small and charming hotel.
Fam. Giorgi Gregor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Laurin. It is decorated very tastefully and was spotless. They even had turn down service. The new pool was nice as was all of the spa offerings. Breakfast was fine and the location was great. Our room was directly over the outside deck and there was always someone smoking and that was somewhat annoying, but it wasn't a big deal. We loved the area and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I have been going to this lovely, excellent hotel in the midst of the beautiful Dolomites on and off with my children for over ten years and seen it evolve from an under-rated 3* to a fully deserved 4*. This year some friends came with their 3 small children under 10 and loved it too. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and none has had this exceptional combination of quality and friendliness. Such quality normally comes from a level of discipline and attention to detail that is cold and sterile but at the Laurin, Astrid and Gregor Giorgi's house-pride combines with a special family warmth and welcome to make for a unique ambience. During the day, you see them planning the next improvement (swimming pool this summer). They are never satisfied so you are!

Selva is a Ladin-ish town - home to what remains of a Rhaeto-Romance speaking people - in an Austrian-Italian region. They speak Italian, German and English!

The food is very good and ample. Contrary to an earlier reviewer who could not believe they were not bought in, the pastries - such a highlight of the excellent range of desserts - are made by their very own pastry chef! See pictures below of the display for the special gala night. The service reflects the owners - high quality and friendly. The local wine is excellent and goes perfectly with the food. It is becoming better known internationally, deservedly.

The location could not be bettered - in the centre of town right by the 2 main lifts - though if you have small children who are beginners and cannot ski down a red from a chairlift then you would need a shuttle from the ski school or to be happy to hike them and their skis a good 15 minutes up to the nursery slopes.

The views from most rooms are fine - the beautiful Dolomites glowing deep pink/red in the sunrise or sunset.

The "wellness area" with very large Jacuzzi (a small pool really) and Sauna - steambath area is also excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We have stayed at the Laurin a few times in the past and have always found it an enjoyable experience. At the time of our most recent trip it had been promoted from 3* to 4* having had some minor refurbishments, although it still awaits the promised swimming pool.

The greatest advantage of the Laurin, perhaps, is its position – a short stroll (if strolling is possible in ski boots and kit) to the main Ciampinoi gondola or to the chair which leads up to the Dantercepies side. The ski pass office is opposite the hotel and the best après ski bar in town, the Kronestube, is just round the corner.

Even without its enviable location the Laurin would still be a class act. Gregor and Astrid who run the place are truly charming people and their bubbly personalities and enthusiasm have clearly rubbed off on their staff. Across the board the level of service is faultless. Our waitress in the dining room, Chiara from Bologna, could well be the best in the world, but other staff, from the bar tenders to the nice Martin who lugs all your bags for you, are not far behind.

We had booked a junior suite for just the two us – OK, a bit extravagant, but worth it. This had a sitting area with pull-out bed, separated from the main bedroom by a large and recently remodeled bathroom, and a long balcony with table and chairs overlooking the mountains – a perfect place to slob out after a day’s skiing before dinner.

Food in 4* ski hotels can often be disappointing – a triumph of posh presentation over quality of ingredients or even edibility. The Laurin, however, is a welcome exception. There were, admittedly, a couple of duff courses over the seven nights – that’s two out of 42 courses in all if you count the cheese. One was a rather limp seafood antipasto buffet – a bit unnecessary in any case since this immediately followed the ‘welcome’ evening in the bar which featured smoked salmon and other (rather more appetising) fishy snacks. The other was a rather tasteless piece of entrecote. Otherwise, the food never dropped below ‘pretty good’ and on a number of occasions reached heights of ‘brilliant’. Desserts served mostly buffet style – some home made, others clearly from a local pasticceria but none the worse for that – were particularly good and certainly put a temporary stop to skiing-augmented appetites. Breakfasts too were up to the mark, with bacon, sausages and eggs complementing the usual selection of ham and cheese – and some decent bread too.

Another big advantage of the Laurin is its bar, complete with log fire and comfy seating. If you lack the energy after dinner to make it round to the boisterous Kronestube, with its cheesy German music and dolled-up serving staff, this is a perfect place to enjoy a quieter beer (or three) while finishing your detective novel.

The Laurin is certainly a place to which we will return. The nearby Aaritz, where we stayed just for one night in the summer, is possibly more stylish. But the Laurin has that elusive ‘soul’ that other hotels in Selva seem to lack – and we’ve stayed in quite a few over the past dozen years or more.

One small niggle to finish with though. The onus is on you to settle the bill at the end of your stay in cash. For a 4* hotel where this bill can easily come to 2,000 euros or more, that is asking a bit much. Yes, we have experienced it in hotels elsewhere in the region. But no, we still don’t like having to dash round ATMs using up all of our daily rations of withdrawals before setting off home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Wonderful small hotel. Fantastic staff, beautiful room, great restaurant, and a good value. It was one of our favorite places on our ski trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L9ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
269 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurin Small&Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurin Small&Charming

Address: Strada Meisules 278, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £127 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurin Small&Charming 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LAURIN IN SELVA DI GARDENA - LUXURY AND COMFORT AT THE 4-STAR HOTEL Our beautiful small & charming Hotel Laurin, 4 stars, is pleased to get your attention which, hopefully, will transform itself into a future vacation. Creating a second home for you, this is what we care for the most. Especially in the wintertime, when meadows and woods are covered by snow, our guests enjoy our central location next to the cableway of the Sella Ronda and close to all the facilities offered by the village. For your comfort you find ski school and ski rental as well as a well furnished shop in the hotel. In the summer our nice hotel is not only the perfect starting point for excursions and hiking tours towards our well known peaks of the Dolomites, but it is also ideal just to leave for a relaxing walk around the village. A yearning for well-being... enjoy the pleasures offered by our Wellness & Spa Dolce Vita, the elegant Junior Suites, the cosy rooms and our spacious Family rooms, as well as the superb dinners served in our restaurant. Come and feel it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laurin Small&Charming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing