We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous, Personal and Atmospheric Ski Holiday Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurin Small&Charming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fabulous, Personal and Atmospheric Ski Holiday Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We have just returned from 10 days in Selva and spent our first week at Hotel Laurin with Gregor and Astrid. This hotel is what made our holiday so very memorable. Gregor and Astrid have made such a wonderful atmosphere in their hotel which is what makes it so very special and a place you want to return to again and again. After talking with many of the other guests this is exactly what people do! One family has been returning to Hotel Laurin for 30 years and now I know why! The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. We travelled with our 18 month old, 3 and a half year old, 15 and 18 year old. The hotel is small enough that we had the baby monitor and could take it to dinner or Gregor would look after it at reception and update us if there was any noise coming from the room. The food was exceptional! There was not one meal I was disappointed in. The bar in the evenings was a great place to unwind after a long day skiing and had a warm inviting atmosphere. Our little ones loved the little play room and bought toys in from there to the dining room every morning and night to play with. All the staff were fabulous with our smaller children which was lovely, they were made to feel very welcome as well. Our cappucinos were bought to our breakfast table before we had even asked for them each morning. Elena, our waitress each night, was so lovely and attentive. The internet was fast and worked well in the lobby/bar area. It was a nice end to our day to check our email, download photos from the day and update fb and enjoy a beer in the bar each afternoon. Our room had a fabulous view of the Ciaminoi and up the mountain. It accommodated us and our two smaller children perfectly with a separate little bedroom with a single bed and cot. The bathroom was absolutely spotless and obviously newly renovated with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The room itself was not one of the newer renovated suites but still perfectly comfortable. The wellness area is amazing. Very quiet and atmospheric, a great place to unwind and relax. As far as position, I think it is the best in Selva! Right next to the Ciampinoi or you can walk up the stairs and cross the footbridge to catch the chairlift then ski down to Risaccia or the nursery slopes from there. We used the Ski School of Selva which was across the road and has a mini bus which transports you to the nursery slopes (which are not far at all, just up hill) for our 3 and a half year old. I walked our 18 month old to Mini Club each morning which was probably about a 10 min walk. Our 3 yr old was in full day ski school from 10am - 4pm and our 18 month old in Mini Club from 9am til 4pm so we got at least 5 hours skiing in each day - perfect! All in all, I cannot fault this hotel and can only congratulate Astrid and Gregor on a job well done on creating a wonderful friendly atmospheric hotel. We will definitely come back to enjoy their hospitality again... hopefully sooner than later! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Touringwithtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    35
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
160
237
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in during our long 20 year skiing experience globally. We like choosing a differenet ski resorts and never stayed in one place twice, but this hotel deserves to stay as many times as possible. A really freat family&friends feelings, like you`ve been met your long life best friends. Gregor and Astrid - the owners - are very nice guys, always friendly, polite and ready to help you with everything you need. Our rented car was deeped in the snow and Gregor himself has digged it out and put in front of door while we checked out.
Tha rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. Our friends get a very nice and fashion room nearby the swimming pool. We enjoyed spending every evening in their room overlooking the inner garder. Spa area is huge with a big and very comfortable pool and diffenet saunas, jakuzzi, etc. A special impression about the food: amaizing!!! We had always been wondering about the fantasy of two local chefs. There were no one meal we didn`t liked, all was super delicious!
Once again, Gregor and Astrid: THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We spent two times the Christmas Eve in 2008 and 2009 and couple of days before the Eve and we simply love it! Hotel is beautiful, charming, food excellent, it is pleasure to know that the owner remembers our family. Service is excellent, spa is very good, have not been this year so have not tried the pool yet. We could not gpo this year but next one we are definitelly planning to come back again and enjoy this great hotel and beautiful Christmas atmosphere! Easy to get to slopes, too. One lift just to cross the street and the other just behind the corner. Playroom for children in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

the most cosy and fantabulous hotel I've ever been in. There were quite many of us: 4 couples and 1 single and had a very joyful experience that starts from when you are welcomed by Mr. and Mrs Giorgi; as soon as you get into your room you appreciate the space, the light and the atmosphere as well as the view (as we had full view on the mountains). Going to bed at night with an extremely comfortable sleep, getting up in the morning and being "gready" with the very delicious breakfast takes you to go trekking with the right spirit! Once you get back, the wellness centre has just the right music to start relaxing once more and thinking that HOTEL LAURIN really deserves a positive feedback to recommend to whoever wants to have a very good experience on the DOLOMITI.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Enjoyed our stay and the location is great if you want some quiet. Over all very friendly people run this small hotel and they provide a high level of service served with kindness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarletnGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Overall extremely happy here. Very clean, fantastic wellness, very very good breakfast, nice bar area. The price for my huge room was very good. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurston_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Overall an overwhelmingly positive experience.

Pros:
• Small = friendly and charming
• Both owners and staff very attentive and caring.
• Care about details like flower decorations, preparing the rooms for the night and changing parts of the breakfast each day.
• Great location, within 100-200 yards of both bus, cabin lift and tourist information center.
• Fantastic views of the mountains, at least from our room as well as from our friends room.
• Ambitious spa, if you care about that.


Cons (minor - we were able to live with them):
• Like others have commented on: A peculiar procedure of asking for payment in cash.
• They charge for the wireless Internet (a symbolic fee, but anyway) - still lousy or no coverage in the rooms. Coverage in the lobby fast and reliable, though.
• No English channels on the TV. (Found one great radio channel with classical music, though.)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peobjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
7.3 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurin Small&Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurin Small&Charming

Property: Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Address: Strada Meisules 278, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LAURIN IN SELVA DI GARDENA - LUXURY AND COMFORT AT THE 4-STAR HOTEL Our beautiful small & charming Hotel Laurin, 4 stars, is pleased to get your attention which, hopefully, will transform itself into a future vacation. Creating a second home for you, this is what we care for the most. Especially in the wintertime, when meadows and woods are covered by snow, our guests enjoy our central location next to the cableway of the Sella Ronda and close to all the facilities offered by the village. For your comfort you find ski school and ski rental as well as a well furnished shop in the hotel. In the summer our nice hotel is not only the perfect starting point for excursions and hiking tours towards our well known peaks of the Dolomites, but it is also ideal just to leave for a relaxing walk around the village. A yearning for well-being... enjoy the pleasures offered by our Wellness & Spa Dolce Vita, the elegant Junior Suites, the cosy rooms and our spacious Family rooms, as well as the superb dinners served in our restaurant. Come and feel it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laurin Small&Charming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing