We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Sun Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We love this hotel.
We had half-board. The food was excellent. Breakfast was a real treat and the 4 course evening meal was just splendid.

The service was 1st class, they really made us feel welcome.
The room was a really good standard and kept very clean
The pool and other amenities were excellent.

We will absolutely be going back again in the near future. Can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    33
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
180
218
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is our 5th year ski-ing in Selva . But our first time at Hotel Sun Valley.
A lovely family run business and so close to the ski lifts and shops.
A Very comfortable hotel with great facilities( we had whirl pool in our room- Welcoming after a day of hard ski-ing)
The Staff were EXTREMELY attentive ,polite and fun.
The Food was AMAZING. A GREAT selection for breakfast . Every night a 5 course meal so don't take too much lunch !
It is worth every cent....
"Complementi" to Nogler Family.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mack-shah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJUBLJANA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed at the hotel Sun Valley for our skiing holiday this december. The Val Gardena resort is by itself a unique place to be, if you want to experience the whole package service, regarding skiing, shoping, dinning, having fun, walking throuhg the romantic village, experiencing the winter wonderland as in the fairytale.
And just when you think you've seen everything, there is the hotel Sun Valley! Located perfectly by the ski slope, and directly in the city on the other hand. Ski in and ski out, that is what every skier is dreaming about.
When you enter the hotel, you are kindly welcomed, as if it was your home. The staff is most kind, and you can have as many wishes as you like, they would make them reallity. The rooms are perfectly styled in tyrolian style or in other styles-you can also have a room that is modern style.
The hotel was recently expanded and renovated, and I must say, it is by far the most beutifuly decorated hotel in the Dolomites. Especially in the winter time, it looks like in fairytale-all the lights and the christmas trees. The hotel is really the perfect place to enjoy yourself, and you feel like a king in your own kingdome.
It is one of the hotels, everyone who passes says:'Oh it is so beautiful! One day, I would also like to stay in that hotel!' Yes, these were also my words, when I first have seen the hotel Sun Valley. The second time I came to Val Gardena, I booked the hotel Sun Valley. And I was really impressed by everything-the service, location, materials, decoration, cleanliness,...and I still am. After 3 years, the hotel is still as clean as the first time. It is clear, they are keeping the maintenance on the highest level. The hotel also has a unique spa and wellnes with the magnificent direct views on the slopes. Imagine resting on the heated waterbed and observing the nature and the ski slopes right in front of you at the same time.
It is simply 'the place to be!'

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We were at the Sun Valley as a family of 4 with kids aged 9 and 12 and a colleague with her 10 year old son. Location is equal walking distance to the Ciampinoi gondolas and the chair lift which links to the Dantercepies gondolas. It is in the centre of Selva just opposite the offices of the ski school. The street itself is quiet however there is a club/bar in the building which closes at 3 a.m. On 2 occasions we were woken up at 3 a.m. by shouting Germans who leave the club and then stand outside smoking and behaving very noisily. This was the main complaint over the week.
The hotel is brand new and this shows. Very nice rooms, bathrooms, spacious, tidy in a cosy Tyrolean/alpine style with lots of pine and assorted memorabilia of the original owner who was an alpine skiing champ in the 1930’s – 1950’s. The hotel is in 2 buildings on opposite sides of the road. Both have rooms. The main building houses the restaurant and bar while the other has the spa, wellness centre, saunas, pool, ski equipment room and a tight 2 level underground parking. The buildings are connected by an underground tunnel called “Strada del Vino” resembling a wine cellar with tasting area lined with more skiing and local memorabilia, wine bottles and tasting equipment and a … Wurlitzer juke box. There are elevators in both buildings and the set up is quite convenient. We had no issues going in bath robes from one building to the other to go from our room to the spa area.
The spa area is extremely impressive mainly because of the newness/cleansiness and the pleasant design. After skiing we would be relaxing in the pool and Jacuzzi enjoying a panoramic view of the mountains and the piste grooming machines working on the Ciampinoi run. This facility is one of the high points of the hotel although it would get crowded around 4 p.m. w hen everyone converges there. It would empty out by 6.30 p.m. The sauna part has a dry and steam sauna, ice, polar air room and a foresty smell room. Also very pleasant. In theory the sauna was off limits for kids under 12 but no one cared if they were quiet. We didn’t try the massages or solarium.
The family room where we stayed consisted of 2 rooms with new, clean décor. The beds in the main room were very comfortable. The 2nd room had a fold out sofa which was less comfy. Don’t really see why they wouldn’t put a normal bed in there? Housekeeping was very thorough and unobtrusive. Both rooms had LCD tv’s with SKY digital which has a huge selection of channels including even 2 Polish ones which was a nice surprise for us.
The evening meals were 4 to 5 course nouvelle cuisine’ish affairs with a different very varied and tasty menu every night with 1 or 2 theme nights. There was usually a choice which one had to make at breakfast of what you want for dinner. For each evening meal there was always a well stocked cold buffet of salads, cold meat cuts, prosciutto, cheese plus the waiters were always happy to order something special for our kids if they couldn’t find something they liked on the menu. Water was an extra – a bizzare arrangement – to extract an extra 3.5 EUR per 1 litre bottle when everything else was included in the price. Didn’t seem fitting for a hotel of this caliber. The food was always fresh, very well presented and extremely tasty. Breakfasts were a buffet with a very large selection of warm and cold breakfast things from fresh fruit to croissants, scrambled eggs, etc. The waiters were some of the nicest and most personal we have encountered in Europe. They chatted, joked with our kids, helped with the selections, were always ready to assist and really looked like they were enjoying what they were doing in a non forced way. The hotel owner, who would sometimes be found at the reception, on the other hand had a bit of a strict village school mistress attitude that contrasted with the friendliness and openness of the other staff.
Skiing wise Selva was one of the best places we’ve been with really varied opportunities for different abilities. We liked the runs from Dantercepies over to Colfosco best for the intermediate snowboarders in our group. The experienced skiers enjoyed the runs in Arraba best. Doing the Sellaronda was also great and the views are truly breathtaking.
The Sun Valley really stretched our budget – for our family of 4 we were paying 500 EUR per night in the highest season. Most other 4 star hotels in Selva were similar price but I think the facilities, food and service would be really quite hard to beat. If you go in summer or low season when the rates are better, the value would be really excellent.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PoleApart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
7.1 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Valley

Property: Hotel Sun Valley
Address: Strada Dantercepies 7, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Valley Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing