We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second trip sadly not as good as the first” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sun Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sun Valley
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
561 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Second trip sadly not as good as the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I decided to go back to the Sun Valley after a fabulous stay in 2013.

This time around we decided to pay a little extra for a room on the new wing of the hotel. The room was great. Tastefully furnished, spacious and with a great modern shower room. The only problem was that it faces the disco (located in The basement of the main wing of the hotel). As a result our sleep was disturbed by customers leaving the club which unfortunately does not or cannot enforce a policy where customer would leave the place quietly. Nevertheless we enjoyed being on the same wing as the spa area, which we used extensively. I particularly recommend the hay bath and the alpine sport massage.

However we were slightly disappointed with the service at the restaurant. The staff was the same as last years but for some reason we did not receive the same attention as other guests. At both breakfast and dinner we felt we were being rushed. Moreover the dishes were not as good as last years, but still well executed.

In all we will probably return to the Sun Valley, as its location, price and spa area remains unbeatable.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing but avoid room 402 which faces the disco. Next time we will go for room 401 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    33
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
175
216
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yaroslavl, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel from 06/01/14 for 19/01/14.
When you are in 'Sun Valley' you feel as if you came to visit a good friends or your relatives. Nogler family and all the staff are very hospitable, kind and responsive. The hotel is very nice and cozy. Spa area comfortable and varied. The food is delicious, wine is elegant .
Big thanks for a great Holiday!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a fantastic week at this hotel, lovely spacious and comfortable rooms, excellent food but the most important thing was the friendliness of ALL the staff. They could not do enough for you and joined in with the fun we were having, whilst always remaining completely professional. Certainly the best ski hotel we have ever stayed in, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282WendyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

After skiing for more than thirty years I have finally found the perfect hotel for a ski trip. Stayed at the Sun Valley Hotel with a group of friends and had a fantastic week. All the staff were very friendly with smiling faces. Food was first class and tremendous variety. Rooms very large with good storage space and very comfortable. Visited the beginning of January 2014 and have all ready booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The stay at Sun Valley is exactly what you need if you want to feel welcome and appreciated as a guest. A very warm welcome and sincere staff that is always ready to be of assistance at all times. Great rooms with a great view over the town and the mountain in our case.
Unfortunately for us it was just a short stay but next time around we will certainly be back. The accommodation is a bit more expensive then other hotels but the service and friendliness is worth every Euro!

Room Tip: The junior suite has a great bath :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Our friends -tree families-and my family (all with kids) stayed at Sun Valley this January! That was great! Everything was perfect! We had all we needed for nice winter holidays. Food and wine list -perfect! Everybody very attentive. Swimming pool, saunas - real pleasure. We liked the rooms! All families want to return back! By the way, one family -for the 5th time:) Thank you, Sun Valley!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Sun Valley and would definitely love to go back. The Nogler Family went out of their way to make this a dream holiday. We were a family group of 12 and returned home with very special memories of this incredible place. Special thanks to Susie, Vanessa, Demitri, Fabio and Luka. Your humour and kindness in keeping us well informed, rested and relaxed, fed and hydrated was exceptional! Special thanks to the chef who prepared the most delicious fine dining. The breakfasts were also superb. Thank you!

Our room was incredibly spacious and quiet with an amazing view from the bed onto the Dolomites. The pool and relaxation area was lovely with much attention paid to detail. The location of the hotel in getting to the ski-lifts is perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful with a stunning view across the Dolomites from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
7.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Valley

Property: Hotel Sun Valley
Address: Strada Dantercepies 7, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Valley Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing