We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel with a smile”
Review of Hotel Somont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Somont
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Family hotel with a smile”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We are repeat visitors to this friendly family hotel in the more elevated part of Selva. For skiers a separate elevator takes one up from the ski room straight to the slopes, saving much time and effort. Following a full day on the slopes, a wellness center provides a variety of saunas, a steam bath, Jacuzzi, swimming pool and relaxation area. The rooms are spacious with balconies providing an excellent view of the village and surrounding mountains. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV function well. The food is excellent and typical of the South Tirol region as is the extensive wine cellar. But most strikingly is the friendly staff that makes one want to keep coming back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide balconies facing two directions with different views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    46
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
106
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

3000 km away and it is home. Friendly atmosphere, good food and ski out and in.
We spend a week that looks like a dream, all was orgenized so well, ski equipment, clean rooms and a chef in the kitchen. Add to it the Sela Ronda and you have it all. Mostly recomended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tor1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

An extremely well organised hotel. The room was very clean and always made. The evening meal was well presented and there was a large variety of dishes, which tasted great.Of course the skiing straight down to the hotel was an enormous plus. I also loved the swimming pool and sauna and spa facilities, which are really lovely.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent family hotel that I and my family are happy to come back to it every year, the hotel is well located right on the ski slopes and it's really fun to come back to after a day skiing, large comfortable rooms and well equipped including free internet. The hotel owners and the staff give a family atmosphere and meet any request of the guests. The hotel's restaurant serves a variety of gourmet meals with excellent wine list. We look forward to stay in the Somomt years to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zvikaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I spent a week in Somont hotel skiing the amazing Sela Ronda and surrounding slopes.
The hotel is a Gem.
Managed by the owners Lily and Norbert (an expert ski instructor), supported by their sons Ferdi and Patrick (the owner of a ski rental sfop), and run by their expert staff, this is a true family hotel with a warm family atmosphere.
Friendly and helpful and always ready and willing to accommodate special needs.
Well equipped and immaculately clean rooms including free WiFi.
The hotel is situated right next to a ski slope with ski out / ski in capability.
It incorporates a magnificent Spa with a pool, Jacuzzi and sauna as well as a large underground parking area.

The food, prepared by an expert chef is something to write home about.

Somont is without doubt one of the best ski resort hotels I have stayed in, and by far the most friendly and accommodating. I warmly recommend it to anyone planning to ski Val Gardena. And as for myself, i plan to ski Val Gardena again and again BECAUSE of the Somont.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dror G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we chose the hotel mainly because of its "ski in - ski out" feature, which is rather convenient on a skiing vacation. it is published as a 4 star hotel - and apart from the very modestly decorated rooms, everything else was up to its 4 stars. Excellent food (half board), a nice and pleasent lobby, clean and well equipped spa, very convenient ski room... in fact, everything was in accordance with our needs and expectations. the location is a walking distance from the city center - which is another good thing.
Last, but not least, the service was kind and flawless, including that of our last morning. We had to leave early, to reach our flight in Munich, and upon our request they have prepared for us "breakfast kits" to take away. These were rich, and tasty, and we have certainly fely the heart behind them.
I warmly recommend it to visitors in Selva Val Gardena.

Room Tip: For all I know, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was in the hotel last week, and enjoyed the hospitality of Lilly and Norbert lovely people. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are beautiful. Great food and a good atmosphere in the hotel. Ski to your door and in the center of the village. I would recommend this as the best place I have stayed in selva.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#13 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aaritz
Hotel Aaritz
#20 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#35 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#22 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somont

Property: Hotel Somont
Address: Via Ciampinoi 34, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#15 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#19 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Somont 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Somont, surrounded by the world famous Dolomites mountain range, offers you the key to open up your own personal treasure chest and discover your inner strengths. This 4-star hotel in Selva di Val Gardena, which has been completely renovated and refurbished, now offers a new 300 m² spa area featuring saunas and indoor swimming pool, the perfect place for you to relax in. The Hotel Somont provides all the best a holiday can offer. Come and discover how great life can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Somont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Somont Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing