We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Home from Home - Absolutely Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly Home from Home - Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is now our sixth visit to Hotel Portillo. We usually refrain from writing comments about our holidays, particularly as we wish to jealously guard our best kept secrets. However, there is no way of guarding the secrets of this most wonderful experience. Hotel Portillo was already a wonderful place in every respect - hospitality, food, cleanliness, spa facilities and location. During the past 12 months the hotel has had a major facelift in its main reception, bar and health spa facilities. Put simply, it is a quantum leap in class and sophistication. The warmth of the Senoner family and the staff, however, continues to be all embracing. We noticed a large number of clients from previous years have continued to return! Something must be right about this hotel! So why are we no longer guarding this secret? - We've booked for next year already!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    50
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
111
116
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nick from Canada

I do a lot of traveling, and I've stayed in a many different hotels, but none quite like Chalet Portillo. The experience that I had staying at Chalet Protillo was one of the most memorable I've ever had.

First of all, the hotel itself is beautiful; the dinning room is magnificent, the rooms are gorgeous, the beds are unbelievably comfortable, the amenities are top notch, and the location could not be better.

Second of all, the service is unparalleled. I was looked after as though I was part of the family, anything I needed was provided for me.

Third of all, the food is delicious. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, and i've toured Italy many times, and I must say the cuisine at Chalet Portillo is unmatched. The nights that I spent in their beautiful dinning room are nights my taste buds will never forget.

Finally the owners/staff. These are some of the nicest, kind hearted people you will ever meet in your life. Chalet Portillo is a family run business, and it is felt; the attention to detail, the care, the love. The moment you walk in, you are made to feel as though you are part of the family.

Chalet Portillo holds itself to the highest standards, and it shows. I recommend Chalet Portillo to anyone that has a love for food, comfort, beauty, and great people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A real 4 s star hotel ,very pleasant environment ,elegant,new and fashionable design .We stayed there for 3 days and had a wonderfull time .The fireplace ,champagne,awesome spa ,polite staff and friendly managers made our stay excellent .I truly recommend this 4 2 star hotel that can easily be taken as a 5 star hotel !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book the lodge suite (unforgettable experience )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you ever dream about perfect winter holidays and you really obsessed with the ski then I would suggest you the best place to be. Portiilo Dolomites **** superior hotel is located in Val Gardena and impress you with the first step in with its hospitality and warm welcome from the Senoner family.
The hotel founder Carlo Senoner after his winning of the World Ski Championship in Portillo in 1966 named the Hotel with the place of his great victory. Since that time seems that the hotel saved the spirit of the big wins. The highest service, perfection of the cuisine in the restaurant and incredibly comfortable wellness spa complex worth of its international category as **** superior.
So after great ski day on the various of slopes it is possible to relax at the spa in Portillo which suggests you a wide range of saunas, different programs for body care, swimming pool and even outdoors jacuzzi. After trying some specific body treatment with mix of massage you can easily forget the stressful weekdays.
Then the Senoner family welcome to see you at the restaurant which reach your taste with the Mediterranean cuisine and Ladin cooking traditions. Afterwards you can easily find some interesting topics to discuss with the friends in the homebar. By the way it is not necessary to come with your own friends because in Portillo you could easily find them among guests. Most of the people prefer to come to Portillo Dolomites again and again. That is why it is possible to see here the birth of the great beautiful friendship sitting with the glass of wine next to fireplace.
So such warm atmosphere and amazing experience of the great nature of Dolomites definitely made you come back here again. And from the personal experience the renovated last year Portillo Dolomites brings some sort of renovation to you as well. You can feel yourself new rebirth way after such amazing time spending here. So being far away from the rush of the everyday life you have just one rule in Portillo - to enjoy your best ever winter vacations!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annatkacheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying there are not enough stars to rate this fabulous retreat
I ski with a group that travels all over North America and this has been the best in the 12 years we've been doing it
Beautiful , great service , great price , great food , and a great family the own and operate it
Loved it !! I will be back and so will you if you go once

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I was imprested by the modern " cut " from the begining . And by the clenes . The hotel look pristine , giving a strong filing of fresh. Inrealy liked this . The staff was helpful and atentive . The room was large , clean , with nice furmiture . Terrible pilow , they have to change them. The bathroom is small and shower cabin is very small . Restaurant looks very well , the food is good , the brekfast is ok , but it can be much better. The hotel has a free shuttel to and from the slops . Very good and helpful . The driver is the most atentive I ever meet . Overall it is the best hotel in a ski area I ever was in , even it is to expensiv .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After the hotel's complete renovation, it is now a boutique hotel. The food is exceptionally good if not outstanding. The staff are equally good paying great attention to detail and always remembering names and requirements of residents. I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel. We have just had a wonderful week's skiing and it was so good to return to this smart hotel with spa, swimming pool etc.

Room Tip: We had a side room with huge balcony. Very quiet and away from the road with lovely views of the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
440 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'

Property: Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Address: Strada Meisules 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy (Formerly Hotel Chalet Portillo)
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#7 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel in Selva Val Gardena where to relax and spend unforgettable holidays, the Portillo Dolomites****superior is exactly what you need. You'll have the possibility to ski and make excursions and then relax in the gorgeous spa and wellness area. SINCE 1966' AND COMPLETELY RENEWED IN THE YEAR 2013! Energy and mountain, evolution and transformation, dynamism and diligence, welcome and attention are terms that describe the Portillo Dolomites 1966'. Come and encounter the charme of the Dolomites, of the alpine lifestyle and take advantage of your holidays to get in touch with nature and with the outdoor activities. A holiday in the Portillo Dolomites 1966' means pleasure, relax and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Portillo Hotel
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966' Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing