We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granvara in winter.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Wonderful friendly staff, good food, you can ski to and from the hotel, clean, nice spa, nice view from our rooms and from the hotel. Excellent hotel transportation to and from the hotel if you do not wish to drive.

Room Tip: Choose room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was in a 23 days trip through Europe with some friend and we planned a break from the trip for a few days and rest ourselves from museums and travelling.
So, between Austria and Italy, we stayed 3 days at the Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel which is an Alpine Hotel, with very nice atmosphere of the small Alpine village of Cristina at the south of the Tyrolean’s Dolomitis.
We arrived late afternoon, and went down to the pool and sauna before a delicious dinner (fist night I had need for special food, as I was having gastric problems, and was provided with different plates free of fat and spice, at my request, which were delicious). Fortunately, in the next days I had the chance to appreciate the full 5 course meal, which was fantastic, and also the great breakfast they provided!! So was the wine list!!
We had a nice evening and the next day we decided go to the small town of Cristina and afterward use the very nice spa and wellness, just to relax with massages and sauna. They have various different saunas, including a Turkish. We also appreciated the great indoor, outdoor pool. It wasn’t hot enough for sun bathing, as we are from Brasil and only sunbathe in very hot weather, but had a nice time walking around and taking pictures of the great views and places.
Our room was a two bedroom cozy suit, with luxury furniture, as well as with three big and comfortable beds. It also had a sauna and a very strong shower wall, with numerous body sprays for massage, as well as the bath tub. The view of the mountains from the balcony was incredible! The free wireless in the room was a pleasure, as some hotel we were before, only had it in the lobby.
The Concierge was very are helpful as we wanted, at the last day, to go hiking up the mountains of the national park, which turned out to be a very fun trip. Were we had a nice lunch with some wine up in the mountains! The hole personnel were very nice, friendly, always asking if we needed help and with a very warm attitude. From the manager to the cleaning lady they were all atenciosos.
I would like go back and specially it in the winter for skiing, and surely recommended it for summer and fall vacations. It was a great trip with no down sides.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFSSALGADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have been here a couple of years ago. We were a group of friends and stayed over a longer weekend.
The setting is just amazing! The food and the Spa something to remember a life time.
The staff s always very helpful and we had a great room with a sauna!
We are all looking forward to going back there.
Do not miss the Dessert Buffet Thursdays! A delight and a highlight in our trip!

Room Tip: The Suite Deluxe is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Dolomite villages are no longer traditional mountain villages and their Alpine style hotels have been largely replaced by concrete and glass emporia of the kind prevalent all over the world. Happily, the Granvara is still in essence an Alpine inn and La Selva, where the hotel is situated is still far enough from the burgeoning resort of Selva to retain the atmosphere of a small Alpine village. Selva itself is now a busy modern resort but the hotel is far enough above it and sufficiently separated by a wood threaded by a pleasant path to make it just a distant prospect.

The hotel has the design and feel of a mountain chalet and wood and soft tones predominate. But there is a real sense of spaciousness and there are amenities that are essential for a walking holiday rarely encountered in most Alpine hotels in any country, particularly comfortable areas for day dreaming, conversing in real armchairs, reading or playing games.

The bedroms are superb with beds so comfortable that a long walk on the first day of a holiday leaves no legacy of aches or stiffness the next morning. The bathrooms are also superb and ideal for easing stiff muscles - once one has mastered their futuristic bath and shower controls.

The restaurant is magnificent but diners should bear in mind that the starting buffet is not the complete meal -there are four imaginative and filling courses to follow. One could easily be lured into thinking that the buffet was a complete banquet. There are real provisions of comparable range and quality for vegetarians, not just lip service to their needs.

For some of us spas brings back nightmares of compulsory school gym. This doesn't matter - the spacious pool is magnificent with splendid technology that allows you to swim indoors and oudoors in warmth even when the air temperature is near freezing. Very disorientating- how were we transported miraculously to Iceland?

The staff are helpful and attentive because that is what they want to be; their unfailing courtesy and interest in their guests owes nothing to commercial considerations.

The rates are so reasonable that one has to blink and double take before realising that these modest charges really do relate to 2012, not 20 years ago.

A Shangri La in the very accessible Dolomites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our second stay at the Granvara, this time for our anniversary. The owners, staff and service are all wonderful and strive to make your stay the best it can be. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. The pool and spa area are great at the end of a day of hiking in the beautiful mountains and the view is gorgeous. The bar and dining room are lovely and the food is truly excellent. A must for any trip to the area!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money for a view of the mountains from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyDeLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have stayed at the Granvara now several times and it never fails to impress. Each individual is made to feel very special by the friendly, helpful staff. The food and service is so impressive as are the fantastic spa facilities. The view, whichever way you look, is breathtaking and the rooms are classy and comfortable. The Granvara is my most favourite place, I love it and I can't wait to go back.
Lynne P

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are lighter and have better views of spectacular scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Granvara is just a fantastic hotel. The rooms are very confortable and cozy, with a beautiful view to the mountains.
The service is flawless and the staff - and this really stands out - is very friendly and helpfull.
The food is nothing less than excellent, one of the many highlights.
The facilities are outstanding, with indoor and outdoor pools and amazing SPA area.
And, of course, all that surrounded by the most amazing landscape i've ever seen in my life.
Summing up: fantastic hotel in a fantastic place.
Really worth a visit!
Andre Costa

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreruizcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel

Address: Strada la Selva 66, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#9 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £132 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Spa Hotel Granvara in the Dolomites... Room to free your soul, for wellbeing and imagination. Room for the simple things in life and the highest standards of individuality. Welcome to the Granvara on this sunny Val Gardena plateau! Our inviting "home from home" comfort reflects the elegance and exclusivity of the Granvara Spa & Relais Hotel in Wolkenstein. Four-star s luxury coupled with five-star privacy: at the Granvara wellness hotel you'll enjoy individual attention well away from the world at large. A place of tranquillity and energy in a 15,000 metre square private garden and park with a unique 360º view of the South Tyrolean Dolomites, a UNESCO world natural heritage site. The Relais & Spa Hotel Granvara didn't get itsname by accident: "Granvara" comes from the Ladin and means "great wide meadow". For as far as the eye can see, the striking Dolomite mountains of Langkofel, Schlern, Seceda, Cuca, Stevia, Chedul, Cir and Sella surround you. The corresponding peace and feeling of security are guaranteed by the hotel's philosophy: the Relais du Silence philosophy. In the wellness and spa complex on Val Gardena's sun terrace, the hotel's own Dolomite spring and the use of natural sources of energy help guests to experience the gentlest rest and recuperation. Our head chef, Michael, and his team invite you on a very special gourmet journey, Italian specialities combined with traditional South Tyrolean fare. The unique position of Val Gardena's 4-star s hotel, surrounded by greenery and yet directly linked to the popular Sella Ronda, means that in winter you are guaranteed to be able to "ski in and ski out" at the Spa Hotel Granvara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granvara Relais Hotel
Hotel Granvara Relais
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing