We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tarragona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Lovely place close enough and far to get in silence from the center of Selva. What to stay of this charming and very helpful team, that makes you feel as comfortable as at home.The wiew to the Sasslong every morning are unforgetable to keep with you in the way back home !!.

Room Tip: Easy to get the ski lift. Perfect to rest .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    36
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
162
317
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We have skied in Selva since 2004 and first stayed in the Granvara a year ago when our usual hotel couldn't take us. We have been back this year and will go again next year. This hotel is not cheap but it is extremely good value for money. The location is terrific, perched on a plateau about St Christina, with fantastic views on all sides. The bar, restaurant, rooms and spa facilities are all first rate and the owners and staff could not be more helpful or welcoming. The service is truly outstanding. The skiing in and out is via a red run which can be icy in the mornings, but there is always the alternative of a lift with the hotel van into town to pick up one of the lifts in Selva. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the rooms which are separate from the main hotel and reached through the spa area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Wonderful friendly staff, good food, you can ski to and from the hotel, clean, nice spa, nice view from our rooms and from the hotel. Excellent hotel transportation to and from the hotel if you do not wish to drive.

Room Tip: Choose room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was in a 23 days trip through Europe with some friend and we planned a break from the trip for a few days and rest ourselves from museums and travelling.
So, between Austria and Italy, we stayed 3 days at the Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel which is an Alpine Hotel, with very nice atmosphere of the small Alpine village of Cristina at the south of the Tyrolean’s Dolomitis.
We arrived late afternoon, and went down to the pool and sauna before a delicious dinner (fist night I had need for special food, as I was having gastric problems, and was provided with different plates free of fat and spice, at my request, which were delicious). Fortunately, in the next days I had the chance to appreciate the full 5 course meal, which was fantastic, and also the great breakfast they provided!! So was the wine list!!
We had a nice evening and the next day we decided go to the small town of Cristina and afterward use the very nice spa and wellness, just to relax with massages and sauna. They have various different saunas, including a Turkish. We also appreciated the great indoor, outdoor pool. It wasn’t hot enough for sun bathing, as we are from Brasil and only sunbathe in very hot weather, but had a nice time walking around and taking pictures of the great views and places.
Our room was a two bedroom cozy suit, with luxury furniture, as well as with three big and comfortable beds. It also had a sauna and a very strong shower wall, with numerous body sprays for massage, as well as the bath tub. The view of the mountains from the balcony was incredible! The free wireless in the room was a pleasure, as some hotel we were before, only had it in the lobby.
The Concierge was very are helpful as we wanted, at the last day, to go hiking up the mountains of the national park, which turned out to be a very fun trip. Were we had a nice lunch with some wine up in the mountains! The hole personnel were very nice, friendly, always asking if we needed help and with a very warm attitude. From the manager to the cleaning lady they were all atenciosos.
I would like go back and specially it in the winter for skiing, and surely recommended it for summer and fall vacations. It was a great trip with no down sides.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFSSALGADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have been here a couple of years ago. We were a group of friends and stayed over a longer weekend.
The setting is just amazing! The food and the Spa something to remember a life time.
The staff s always very helpful and we had a great room with a sauna!
We are all looking forward to going back there.
Do not miss the Dessert Buffet Thursdays! A delight and a highlight in our trip!

Room Tip: The Suite Deluxe is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Dolomite villages are no longer traditional mountain villages and their Alpine style hotels have been largely replaced by concrete and glass emporia of the kind prevalent all over the world. Happily, the Granvara is still in essence an Alpine inn and La Selva, where the hotel is situated is still far enough from the burgeoning resort of Selva to retain the atmosphere of a small Alpine village. Selva itself is now a busy modern resort but the hotel is far enough above it and sufficiently separated by a wood threaded by a pleasant path to make it just a distant prospect.

The hotel has the design and feel of a mountain chalet and wood and soft tones predominate. But there is a real sense of spaciousness and there are amenities that are essential for a walking holiday rarely encountered in most Alpine hotels in any country, particularly comfortable areas for day dreaming, conversing in real armchairs, reading or playing games.

The bedroms are superb with beds so comfortable that a long walk on the first day of a holiday leaves no legacy of aches or stiffness the next morning. The bathrooms are also superb and ideal for easing stiff muscles - once one has mastered their futuristic bath and shower controls.

The restaurant is magnificent but diners should bear in mind that the starting buffet is not the complete meal -there are four imaginative and filling courses to follow. One could easily be lured into thinking that the buffet was a complete banquet. There are real provisions of comparable range and quality for vegetarians, not just lip service to their needs.

For some of us spas brings back nightmares of compulsory school gym. This doesn't matter - the spacious pool is magnificent with splendid technology that allows you to swim indoors and oudoors in warmth even when the air temperature is near freezing. Very disorientating- how were we transported miraculously to Iceland?

The staff are helpful and attentive because that is what they want to be; their unfailing courtesy and interest in their guests owes nothing to commercial considerations.

The rates are so reasonable that one has to blink and double take before realising that these modest charges really do relate to 2012, not 20 years ago.

A Shangri La in the very accessible Dolomites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our second stay at the Granvara, this time for our anniversary. The owners, staff and service are all wonderful and strive to make your stay the best it can be. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. The pool and spa area are great at the end of a day of hiking in the beautiful mountains and the view is gorgeous. The bar and dining room are lovely and the food is truly excellent. A must for any trip to the area!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money for a view of the mountains from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyDeLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel

Property: Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Address: Strada la Selva 66, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Spa Hotel Granvara in the Dolomites... Room to free your soul, for wellbeing and imagination. Room for the simple things in life and the highest standards of individuality. Welcome to the Granvara on this sunny Val Gardena plateau! Our inviting "home from home" comfort reflects the elegance and exclusivity of the Granvara Spa & Relais Hotel in Wolkenstein. Four-star s luxury coupled with five-star privacy: at the Granvara wellness hotel you'll enjoy individual attention well away from the world at large. A place of tranquillity and energy in a 15,000 metre square private garden and park with a unique 360º view of the South Tyrolean Dolomites, a UNESCO world natural heritage site. The Relais & Spa Hotel Granvara didn't get itsname by accident: "Granvara" comes from the Ladin and means "great wide meadow". For as far as the eye can see, the striking Dolomite mountains of Langkofel, Schlern, Seceda, Cuca, Stevia, Chedul, Cir and Sella surround you. The corresponding peace and feeling of security are guaranteed by the hotel's philosophy: the Relais du Silence philosophy. In the wellness and spa complex on Val Gardena's sun terrace, the hotel's own Dolomite spring and the use of natural sources of energy help guests to experience the gentlest rest and recuperation. Our head chef, Michael, and his team invite you on a very special gourmet journey, Italian specialities combined with traditional South Tyrolean fare. The unique position of Val Gardena's 4-star s hotel, surrounded by greenery and yet directly linked to the popular Sella Ronda, means that in winter you are guaranteed to be able to "ski in and ski out" at the Spa Hotel Granvara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granvara Relais Hotel
Hotel Granvara Relais
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing