We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitelly one of the top ten for me”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have been there in summer with our 3 boys in July 2012 on hiking holidays and we loved it so much we immediately booked the Xmas skiing holidays too.
The owners make you feel special from the moment you arrive. The hotel is very romantic, with typical southern Tyrol architecture but also really modern and classy. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, bathrooms were newly modernized when we came in winter. They are always spotless clean.
We ate in the restaurant every night and I have to worn you - you really have to exercise every day because the food is simply irresistible and we always had too much! :-)
We love this place, the hospitality and the beauty of the region. In winter you can ski directly from the door of the hotel, no driving and parking hassle!
When you are lucky you can sit next to a Formula 1 champion in the restaurant as they seem to also like the hotel... :-)
Simply a dream!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dorota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed in many great hotels around the world over the past thirty years, and this is one of the best!
Everything came together: the location and view, the spacious and comfortable room, the friendly and helpful staff, and the fabulous food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.
We came to go hiking: the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the town of Selva and its lifts, and a short drive to the nearby towns of Ortisei and S. Cristina. We had a car, which made driving to the various towns easier.
Dinners here were as good as any fine Italian restaurant in San Francisco, and were generous and varied.
The indoor/outdoor pool, with it's electrically operated glass door separating the two areas, was very relaxing after a long day hike.
If you want to visit the Dolomites, you couldn't do better than to stay here.

Room Tip: Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable. Ask for a room with views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We traveled to Italy for our 10 year wedding anniversary in September of 2013. Our very first stop was three nights at Granvara - a selection we made off of TripAdvisor. This boutique hotel is a hidden jewel - in the United States it would cost a fortune to stay at a place like this. My husband travels quite a bit in his job and stays at the very best hotels in the United States and even he was blown away. We were given a beatiful balcony room with incredible views of the mountains. My husband's main reason for wanting to visit this region was to take an "easy hike" and to capture some great photos.

The food was incredible. The menu changed every night and while we intended to eat in the town a few nights, we were much too drawn to the food at Granvara. We were seated at the same table for breakfast and dinner and were given waiters that spoke English very well. We loved that you were able to get to know other visitors by having meals at the hotel.

The room was spotless, modern and yet very true to the style of the area which we thought was wonderful. I can still smell the wood inside of our room.

We had a massage which was lovely. The owners of the hotel are amazing - personal service and attention to detail. We hated to leave.

As a part of your stay, you are able to take guided hikes. As an American, I can say that these are hikes that should not be taken lightly. Make sure you are prepared and enjoy hours and hours of hiking on some tough terrain and extremely high heights. Our hike was about 6/7 hours. We literally hiked up and over the Dolemites. It is not a stroll. It is a vigorous hike. While I was very surprised by the intensity and the height of the hike - I must say that it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. We enjoyed lunch in the mountain tops which was such a treat - a true restaurant high above civilization with great food and beer.

Do yourself a favor, book a trip to Granvara. You will make memories that will last a lifetime.
We cannot wait to plan our next trip to Granvara - it is

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent three nights in a junior suite here at the end of June. We have stayed at many wonderful places, and will be right at the top of our list. The accomodations were very comfortable, but the million dollar view is what really made our suite special. In addition, the food is extraordinary. Each night presented a menu of multiple courses and choices. The presentation was outstanding and food delicious. They certainly don't scrimp on the quality or quantity. Although drinks are not included and are relatively expensive, we thought our bar bill was fair and the overall value still excellent. One thing we learned our last day is that if you purchase a bottle of wine and don't finish it, they will keep it for your next meal. We wish we had known this because my husband and I both like different kinds of wine. Finally, as previous reviews have mentioned the warmth and hospitality of this hotel are something a cut above. Maria, who usually sits behind the front desk is a gem of knowledge for things to plan your days with. Bottom line, this place is really special. The owners told us that not many Americans visit. Not sure why, because if you are looking for a beautiful remote place where you are treated like royalty, you really should consider the Granvara.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We allways have to come back to Granvara. It is a hotel with superb service and hospitality and Konrad, Gabriella and the nice staff are doing whatever they can to make the stay unforgetable. The food is like a Michellin restaurant and the spa and swimming pool is exellent for relaxing after a long day in the beautiful mountains. The rooms are nice and some of them with stunnings views to the valley and the mountains. The only minus is that beds can be a bit hard. Scandinavians are used to softer beds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank perole2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I don't even know where to begin other than to say Granvara, its location and its staff, were the highlight of our 2-week trip across northern Italy (north of Florence, including Bellagio)! Conrad and Gabriella are the most gracious and kind hosts and there is nothing they won't personally do to make sure you feel welcome. Their staff is impeccable! We also stayed at a 5-star hotel in Bellagio before this and I would say that the Granvara staff rivaled theirs from everything from the front desk, check-in, help with local information, bag handling, service in the restaurants, the spa...you name it, it was outstanding!! They even stored our wine for us that we bought in Tuscany. The food was absolutely delicious and creative and served with impeccable attentiveness, style and flair!

The property itself is situated a bit back from town, although it's a short walk there. It's very quiet and set up a bit from the rest of town as well. So, you get an unobstructed, panoramic view of the mountains and the valley. It's breathtaking!!

The staff also knows a lot about the local hiking trails and while you can take a guided tour that they schedule a few times a week with a local expert, we decided to trek it alone. Before the trip, I had found some of the spots in the Dolomites that I wanted to see and all I did was open up the pictures and they said, "Yeah, I know where that is," and this was just the girl at the front desk (not the hiking expert!). She gave us quick and easy directions to follow to get there and the trail led to vistas that were amazing!! The hotel also offers trekking poles (nice Leki brand) and a small backpack, which was wonderful because it helped save space in our luggage!!

All we can think about is going back now but with the whole family! It doesn't matter where else in Italy we go, we'll always make time to come back to this specific hotel. No other will do!!

Room Tip: We had a spectacular view of the south valley and from the balcony, you could easily see both east a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We just returned from 1 week ski holiday in hotel Granvara, and can only say: very close to perfection. Beautiful rooms, excellent food with almost every evening something special (seafood buffet, dessert buffet, ...), very friendly and competent staff, with the owner and his wife always asking if everything was OK, excellent spa and wellness area, ...
We can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a perfect holiday in Wolkenstein.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.9 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel

Address: Strada la Selva 66, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#8 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £133 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Spa Hotel Granvara in the Dolomites... Room to free your soul, for wellbeing and imagination. Room for the simple things in life and the highest standards of individuality. Welcome to the Granvara on this sunny Val Gardena plateau! Our inviting "home from home" comfort reflects the elegance and exclusivity of the Granvara Spa & Relais Hotel in Wolkenstein. Four-star s luxury coupled with five-star privacy: at the Granvara wellness hotel you'll enjoy individual attention well away from the world at large. A place of tranquillity and energy in a 15,000 metre square private garden and park with a unique 360º view of the South Tyrolean Dolomites, a UNESCO world natural heritage site. The Relais & Spa Hotel Granvara didn't get itsname by accident: "Granvara" comes from the Ladin and means "great wide meadow". For as far as the eye can see, the striking Dolomite mountains of Langkofel, Schlern, Seceda, Cuca, Stevia, Chedul, Cir and Sella surround you. The corresponding peace and feeling of security are guaranteed by the hotel's philosophy: the Relais du Silence philosophy. In the wellness and spa complex on Val Gardena's sun terrace, the hotel's own Dolomite spring and the use of natural sources of energy help guests to experience the gentlest rest and recuperation. Our head chef, Michael, and his team invite you on a very special gourmet journey, Italian specialities combined with traditional South Tyrolean fare. The unique position of Val Gardena's 4-star s hotel, surrounded by greenery and yet directly linked to the popular Sella Ronda, means that in winter you are guaranteed to be able to "ski in and ski out" at the Spa Hotel Granvara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granvara Relais Hotel
Hotel Granvara Relais
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing