We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've stayed at in 30 yeas of skiing!”
Review of Hotel Aaritz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aaritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a superb hotel. I frankly do not believe there is a better one in Selva, and without doubt it is the best hotel we've found on our many trips to a wide range of European ski resorts.

We visited the Aaritz in Feb 2011 as part of an Inghams package flying from Newcastle - Innsbruck. We were bowled over by the hotel, so much so that (for the first time ever) we went back to the same hotel again this year, going out of our way to get there, flying from Edinburgh when Inghams sadly dropped the Newcastle flight. We had half expected to be disappointed because we had such lovely memories from the previous year, but, no need to worry, everything was just as perfect!

The key to the success of this hotel is Susie, the owner. She works so hard to make sure everything is right. She is always in the reception area to greet guests and to deal with queries, and has collected together a team of the loveliest staff who are universally thoughtful and friendly. The staff were pretty well identical this year to last - probably a sign of a happy ship. Susie can come across as doing her round of the dinner tables as a professional must do without really getting to know guests personally. Maybe a fair comment, but she definitely does have guest's interests at heart at all times and on a couple of occasions has gone out of her way to assist us. As an example on one day we couldn't get the internet to work at the internet point. No problem. We were ushered through behind the reception desk and straight onto her own PC and to the required website in seconds. On our first visit we had a little wait for our coach for the return airport transfer and without even asking, as we sat in the reception seating area, Susie fixed up drinks and nibbles "on the house". No big thing maybe, but no drama and very thoughtful.

The food is stunning. The quantity is as much as you want - this much is true of most of the skiing hotels - but the quality is in a different class to what we have had at other similarly rated hotels, with meal after meal of superb quality. The sort of food you'd be delighted to be served in a high quality restaurant. Attention to detail is staggering given the number of meals that are served, and all delivered by highly personable waiters, that enhance the experience.

2012 saw the opening of the new spa area which is absolutely lovely and a great place to chill after a day on the slopes. We visited it each evening, then a gin and tonic in the bar - which comes with lovely canapes - by which time we were more than ready for the evening's culinary excellence in the restaurant.

On top of all this, the best placed hotel in Selva for the main Ciampinoi ski lift (directly across the road) and minutes from a small chair linking you in to the Dantercepies lift too.

Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Generally a quiet resort but with the occasional drunk. Higher rooms at the back probably best and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Aaritz and I can categorically say it is the best ski resort hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is situated bang opposite the main lift. The food was delicious (both breakfast and dinner) and the staff just couldn't do enough for you in a warm and efficient manner. They are a great credit to Susie the owner/proprietor who was always there to great us with a friendly smile and to help with any questions. The spa facilities are first class - modern and well equiped and a great excuse to chill out at the end of the day.
Thank you so much - we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliapatterson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Aaritz. This is the fourth time we have stayed at this excellent hotel - once in summer - and three times on a skiing holiday. Everything about this hotel is first class and attention to detail in every area is impressive. The restaurant and bar have a lovely atmosphere and the food is outstanding. All the staff are very friendly and professional and it was wonderful to see the same faces - Daniel in the bar, Sergio in the restaurant, and Angelo greeting guests at reception.

Suzie (the wonderful proprietor) is always on the scene to answer questions and approaches her guests at dinner to ask about their day. We travelled with Inghams and we were collected from the hotel at 3.15am. Suzie had sent a tray to our room after dinner the previous evening, with a thermos of coffee and food to take with us on our coach journey!

We have never felt the need to upgrade to a superior room as all the rooms we have stayed in have been very comfortable and well proportioned. Plenty of toiletries, good lighting and towels being changed twice a day!!

We will definitely be back next skiing season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghSkiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for a week during Feb 2012. It is in a fantastic location literally yards from the main Champinoi ski lift, and only a few minutes walk to the Dantercepies ski lift. Lots of shops and bars nearby - as well as a chemist and ski hire shops and ski school offices. All staff were really helpful - particulary Susy - who also replied promptly to e mails i sent before we arrived. Food was amazing - 5 courses at dinner - lots of choice - and superbly cooked by the resident chefs. Newly opened wellness centre was also fabulous with a pool, sauna and turkish bath. Great ski boot room with heaters to dry your boots overnight, and lockable cupboards for your skis and poles - free of charge. Boot room protected by cctv too. If you are thinking of staying in Selva - look no further - this is the place to stay - we would go back there in an instant. We stayed in Selva 12 months ago at the nearby Linder Hotel - which is a good hotel too - but the Aaritz is different class! We travel a lot but this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a mountain view and are quieter as they are away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJ0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, hotel Aaritz must have some *world* class opposition, not to be the top hotel in Selva-Val Gardena. This may seem a vaguely silly thing to say, for someone who has only been to one hotel in the resort but allow me to explain why.

First, the hotel is situated across the road from the resort’s main gondola ski lift. So no trudging around town in ski boots, no waiting for the ski bus and if you so wish, you can stick your head out of the hotel, to wait for the queue, (if there is one), to die down.

Second, it is the friendliest and most efficient hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. For example, our tour operator was forced to divert our flight into another airport, due to bad weather. Eventually, we arrived at our intended airport, where we waited for people from other flights and buses to join us. In short, we arrived at the hotel Aaritz at 2230, instead of the planned 1530. We struggled into the hotel, tired and very hungry to be greeted by a charming lady who, after shaking hands with all declared, “If you’re quick, you can make dinner”, (dinner was scheduled to finish at 2200). Could we be quick? Five minutes later we were treated to a superb four course meal; a standard of cooking that was maintained during the entire stay. Also, despite mucking up their Saturday evening, the restaurant staff couldn’t have been more cheerful and helpful; a trait that also carried on for the entire week.

Third are the superb facilities at the Aaritz, which are more five star than four. Our room was extremely spacious and had all the usual amenities…and then some. There is a superb pool, Jacuzzi, sauna etc. as well as some exercise equipment, all in almost new or new condition. The bar is well stocked and staffed, as usual, by thoroughly professional and friendly staff. Last but not least, the wi-fi internet access is free! Not only that, you get strong signals throughout the hotel.

I’ve mentioned before, that occasionally you visit a hotel that raises the bar so much, it renders other hotel reviews, over-generous. The hotel Aaritz is precisely that kind of hotel. I don’t think I have ever visited a hotel, where the phrase “We’ll be back next year” was used so frequently and so sincerely and that includes me!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel may be languishing well down the classification but it is still unbeatable as a package among all the hotels in Selva. Suzy has now completely redesigned the pool and sauna area which is now stunning. The rooms are excellent and the food is exceptional as always.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HastingsBanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights . After visiting there I would definitely stay for more. We came the whole family- parents with 3 children . I have asked for 2 rooms - duble + triple. When we entered the rooms we realized that the hotel upgraded our rooms. It was like entering a palace . So beautifull So rich So clean So much room .Just Lovely!!! Suzie is the owner of the hotel and you can feel her everywhere . During breakfast she is greeting everone for good morning. The breakfast is great and so is the service . Everyone there is so happy to serve you. In summer the price is really good and fare. Suzie has suggested us a wonderfull trip in the morning - we went with 2 cable cars to colfosco and then a walk to a great waterfall. Certainly the best area for trips . Thank you Suzie and your staff !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5fingersisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#17 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aaritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aaritz

Address: Strada Meisules 229, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#18 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#23 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#25 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £91 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aaritz 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aaritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aaritz Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing