We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aaritz” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aaritz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aaritz
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Aaritz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here for a ski trip. Was charged a fortune for a child travel cot. Looking back I could have bought one in the town for less than their hourly rate. Was an okay place with friendly staff and clear the bloody ice off the path outside!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuthbert15831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, MALTA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Excellent location right opposite the main ski lift to Ciampinoi. Well appointed, wonderful breakfast and as we were on a half board basis we also had superb dinners every night. Room was very spacious with a good view and very comfortable bed.
Susy, the owner and chief factotum is a wonderful lady who takes a personal interest in each and every hotel guest, ensuring nothing goes amiss and solving any problems that might arise.
I would certainly recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have to agree with all the other reviews. This hotel is excellent with all staff thoroughly committed to ensuring your stay is as comfortable and easy as it can be. It would be so easy for the staff to view the guests as just another and only there for a week of skiing, but this could not be further from the truth. From the moment we arrived we received a personal greeting and welcome from Susy, who is tireless in her supervision and attention to detail, and had the ability to remember details about her guests likes and dislikes that was really quite amazing. The same was true of all the waiting staff in the dining room and bar, who were prepared to go to great lengths to ensure that we ate and drank extremely well, changing and altering dishes to suit the needs of vegetarians or discovering that one of us did not like something. The food was excellent all through the stay, with four course meals each night and each course having a good variety of choice. If you ventured to the bar for an apperitif this was accompanied by wonderful canapes, which we could have dined on alone. On the Tuesday night there was a gala dinner preceded by champagne cocktails and canapes in the lounge, all included. The menu was suitably international with local specialities so there was always something to choose from and on the one occassion when a couple of us struggled with a choice, alternatives were offered that were not even on the menu.

Rooms were nice and large with plenty of cupboard space and drawers to store clothing, a sitting area and nicely sized bathrooms. Our bathroom had an excellent over bath shower, plenty of space to store toiletries, hair dryer, towel rails and plenty of soaps, shampoos, etc supplied. Our sons room was of similar standard but only with a shower - no bath. The Spa area of the hotel is excellent, with a wonderful pool, whirlpool, saunas and steam rooms, plenty of loungers and an adult only quiet area. Like a previous reviewer, this quiet area has a very noisy shower at the rear, which did mar the ambience every now and then, but not to the point of being unbearable. There is a good size ski and boot room which was easily accessible and secure.

The location of the hotel is brilliant for skiiers, being right opposite the Ciampinoi cable car lift or a five minute walk (that is a timed five minutes for the whole familyto walk in ski boots and carrying skis) to the chair lift up to the Dantercepies slopes. The ski bus also stops directly outside the hotel should you decide to go further afield. We skiied the "Sella Ronda" circuit twice in as many days from the hotel. We had one day of bad weather and the staf were excellent at suggesting places to go and things to do and we had a very pleasant morning in Ortisei - a beautiful town with plenty to see.

Our holiday was only marred by slushy, sticky snow conditions and this could not be blamed on the hotel. It was the hotel facilities, the staff and standards here that saved the trip and made it wonderful inspite of the snow conditions. We will definately be going back - but earlier in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter as they do not overlook the main road. They still have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family_manDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a great time at the Hotel Aaritz.
You never know exactly what you’re going to get when you book a hotel in Europe. This hotel does not disappoint in any category. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. The service was top-notch from the top (the amazing Susie) to the front desk staff, to the bar, to the waiters, to the cleaning people. All very friendly and would seem to go out of their way for any reason. The food was great especially for an all-inclusive rate. I wouldn’t say it was the best food ever, but pretty darn good. All you can eat which they strongly encouraged. This was great on the first night, but by the last night the waiters seemed genuinely upset and confused when we would turn down a course just because we felt we had eaten so much over the week. The kitchen would also make anything if we were in the mood for something special. We did not use the pool/spa, but we did walk through - it was beautiful!!! The location is the best. We are always willing to pay a bit extra for convenience, this hotel is right across from the main lift and 100 meters from the best après ski bar in town.
A complaint? If I have to find one… the room cleaning, though great, was a not very ‘green’. I don’t think it’s really necessary for a fresh towel after every use. No matter how special you think you are I think you can use a towel twice. I think the hotel could promote a bit ‘greener’ policy.
There isn’t much of a village, we tried to walk around and shop and spend money but either we weren’t in the mood or there just wasn’t much shopping of any interest. The skiing was great and the scenery in the Dolomites is stunningly beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steves_Rickshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

March 2012 flying from Manchester with Neilsons. From the moment we arrived at the door the staff and owner were on top form. All the staff have are seem to be really happy to work there and do whatever they can for us. The hotel itself is fabulous and in a great location - right opposite a main Gondola and Ski Bus Stop. The rooms were spacious with balconies & plenty of storage space. The food was out of this world with a wine list to match - the drinks prices were very reasonable for a hotel of this standard (£18 house red very drinkable). Open fire in the lounge with generous canapes before dinner.....the pool & hot tub were modern & just what was needed each afternoon post ski... we would def go back,,, & Neilsons Rep (Richard "Frosty) was one of the best we've come across... good trip all round

Room Tip: We had room 224 & 225. larger than some and facing the back of the hotel - better views out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaufourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a superb hotel. I frankly do not believe there is a better one in Selva, and without doubt it is the best hotel we've found on our many trips to a wide range of European ski resorts.

We visited the Aaritz in Feb 2011 as part of an Inghams package flying from Newcastle - Innsbruck. We were bowled over by the hotel, so much so that (for the first time ever) we went back to the same hotel again this year, going out of our way to get there, flying from Edinburgh when Inghams sadly dropped the Newcastle flight. We had half expected to be disappointed because we had such lovely memories from the previous year, but, no need to worry, everything was just as perfect!

The key to the success of this hotel is Susie, the owner. She works so hard to make sure everything is right. She is always in the reception area to greet guests and to deal with queries, and has collected together a team of the loveliest staff who are universally thoughtful and friendly. The staff were pretty well identical this year to last - probably a sign of a happy ship. Susie can come across as doing her round of the dinner tables as a professional must do without really getting to know guests personally. Maybe a fair comment, but she definitely does have guest's interests at heart at all times and on a couple of occasions has gone out of her way to assist us. As an example on one day we couldn't get the internet to work at the internet point. No problem. We were ushered through behind the reception desk and straight onto her own PC and to the required website in seconds. On our first visit we had a little wait for our coach for the return airport transfer and without even asking, as we sat in the reception seating area, Susie fixed up drinks and nibbles "on the house". No big thing maybe, but no drama and very thoughtful.

The food is stunning. The quantity is as much as you want - this much is true of most of the skiing hotels - but the quality is in a different class to what we have had at other similarly rated hotels, with meal after meal of superb quality. The sort of food you'd be delighted to be served in a high quality restaurant. Attention to detail is staggering given the number of meals that are served, and all delivered by highly personable waiters, that enhance the experience.

2012 saw the opening of the new spa area which is absolutely lovely and a great place to chill after a day on the slopes. We visited it each evening, then a gin and tonic in the bar - which comes with lovely canapes - by which time we were more than ready for the evening's culinary excellence in the restaurant.

On top of all this, the best placed hotel in Selva for the main Ciampinoi ski lift (directly across the road) and minutes from a small chair linking you in to the Dantercepies lift too.

Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Generally a quiet resort but with the occasional drunk. Higher rooms at the back probably best and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Aaritz and I can categorically say it is the best ski resort hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is situated bang opposite the main lift. The food was delicious (both breakfast and dinner) and the staff just couldn't do enough for you in a warm and efficient manner. They are a great credit to Susie the owner/proprietor who was always there to great us with a friendly smile and to help with any questions. The spa facilities are first class - modern and well equiped and a great excuse to chill out at the end of the day.
Thank you so much - we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliapatterson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Freina
Hotel Freina
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#59 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Somont
Hotel Somont
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aaritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aaritz

Property: Hotel Aaritz
Address: Strada Meisules 229, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#23 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#25 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aaritz 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aaritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aaritz Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing