We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unending natural splendour that stays alive to a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Being a writer by profession I often migrate off to places of solitude to gather content for my books. Selva Alta Val Gardena came as a surprise destination as I had planned the trip on the spur of the moment. As suggested by one of the pedestrians in town, Alpenroyal Grand Hotel became my shelter for the next few days and undoubtedly I cherish every moment spent there. With a host of lavishly laid out rooms depicting the bygone era along with the backdrop of the majestic Alps Ranges, Alpenroyal is a sight to marvel in awe. Just lay at the sparkling poolside or spend hours gazing at the unending natural splendour or simply lay in your room overlooking the greenery and munching on the sumptuous gourmet that extends a flavour of the town's inhibit fooding, you are sure to have days that stay alive for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Easy to find and also easy to find your way around the hotel, thanks to the excellent front desk staff that takes the time and show you the place rather than just throwing you a key.
Very warm welcome.
Front desk always willing to help with any suggestions.

Restaurant is out of this world. Different set menu each night with plenty of choices and excellent wine pairing suggestions. Chef is proud of his work...and should be.

Bed linen, pillows, comforter and towels of highest standard.
No need to bring a car. They have a shuttle minibus that will take you anywhere in the valley, with a smile!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

A visit to Selva Alta Val Gardena was planned by my family on the spur of the moment and hence I was left with very little time to go for extensive arrangements. Having minimal clue of the accommodation options there, I opted for Alpenroyal suggested by one of my colleagues and truly cherish my decision. Mushroomed in the astounding Alps Ranges, the sheer beauty of the Alpenroyal Grand Hotel engulps you as you enter its premises. Taking care of the most trivial luxury details the hotel extends you a perfect stay in the laps of nature. Flaunting exquisite architecture that offers a serene outlook to the prevailing atmosphere Alpenroyal Grand Hotel bestows the perfect holiday mood on a roll. Toothsome delicacies along with the elegant, cozy rooms and the die-hard hospitality services leave you spellbound. Enter a world of comfort and luxury at Alpenroyal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and me together with our kids (5 and 8 years old) spent ten wonderfful days in Alpenroyal Grand hotel. It is fourth years one after the other to spend winter holidays in this excellant hotel. Everything regarding skiing (rent equipment, ski pass, school for kids) is possible to arange in the hotel. Indoor swiming pool, outdoor swiming pool with worm water, gym...Superb food. Very cordial staff ready to help in all situation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the level with swiming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeljko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I had been to Selva Alta Val Gardena for a short holiday with my wife and kids and had the most pleasant stay at Alpenroyal. Being unimaginably hectic on regular business days Alpenroyal extended the perfect settings to just relax amidst the tranquility of nature. With environs that create a lasting impression, Alpenroyal lays forth a horde of services that unfold the heights of luxury and pleasure. With sumptuous cuisine that rise your dormant taste buds along with elegantly laid out rooms Alpenroyal extends a perfect holiday. Guys this is the place to be if your just one of those tired souls who wish to escape the monotony of commercial living.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The Alpenroyal is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and boasts 5 stars. Needless to say, for our extended weekend we had high hopes of being duly pampered and were looking forward to great food and sophisticated accommodation. All in all, we were disappointed with the hotel and felt it felt short of its 5 star rating. First of all, when we entered our room (Park Junior Suite Deluxe) we were practically overcome by the strong fumes of an unpleasant air freshener (like those used in public restrooms) and the temperature was far too hot. (It took one full day of having shut OFF the heat in the room and leaving a window open to reach a comfortable temperature.) Upon entering the bathroom we noticed long dark hairs on the tiled floor, tub and counter top. Not a very good first impression. The fixtures in the bathroom were out-dated, caulking discolored and loosened from the seams around the tub and the shower stall was small and had a cheap plastic enclosure. As to the living room, the colors used were a garish red and gold, the sofa had a cover draped over it, and only a simple wooden table and basic chairs made up the 'living room'. (We had the feeling that the rather stuffy, un-modern hotel had seen better days and was trying to save on costs, delaying a make-over for as long as possible.) We did get a welcome note from the management, but instead of flowers or chocolates, we received odd, rather unnaturally-colored baked items which had no taste. I guess the gesture counts, though. Also disappointing were the mattresses which were had seen much wear and had troughs in their middles. We were also thankful that we belong to the Leading Hotel membership program or else we would have had to have paid for our internet access. There were a few positive things to note, however. Although the hotel is set on the main road, the room, even with the windows open was quiet--no noise from outside or the other rooms. The view from the balcony was nothing less than stunning: the Dolomites right at your door, both day and night! Amazing! And the outdoor pool is heated to a toasty temperature (33* centigrade), boasts a view onto the jagged peaks and is illuminated by an ever-changing light sequence. (I do not recommend the pool for younger children, though, as there is a current-maker/water jet feature which produces strong currents at the entry/exit to the pool.) There is also a glassed-in 'chill-out' area where one can recline on lounge chairs, listen to relaxing music, enjoy the view of the Dolomites and listen to the crackling fire from the open fireplace. There are also saunas and an outdoor hot tub. As to the food aspects of the hotel, we enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet each morning. There was an acceptable selection of baked goods (be sure to try the apricot-filled croissants), an extensive array of local dried meats and cheeses, a station for making your own juice etc. One tip: you'll want to check out the various dining areas with their different decor before you settle on a seating assignment. They are all quite different: one offering froo-froo nylon satin flowered table cloths and seat covers, one quite sleek and modern, another in the style of a traditional mountain retreat with wooden chairs and cushions and one dining 'hall' with a view (and chlorine smell) of the indoor swimming pool. Despite our positive view of the Alpenroyal's breakfasts, our half-board dinner experience, however, was mixed. (The small gourmet restaurant was booked out on all the nights of our stay, so we can't comment here.) On one of our nights, we were quite impressed with the dishes we received. We felt they were creative and well-prepared. On the others, we found that the dishes were not very tasty and that they had been prepared in the style of a kitchen catering to the masses. We compensated for our mediocre food by enjoying the wonderful South Tirolean wines even more. The staff in general was pleasant and helpful, but we found that the atmosphere was not especially friendly towards dogs. No special treatment for our dog or amenities were offered. (This whole area of the Dolomites has a different feel than the rest of South Tirol. Here, the first language beside the local Ladin language is Italian and not German. Also, the style of the interior decoration is often more Italian flower-prints and louder colors than rustic, mountain or modern in its direction. We have also found the hotels in this area are more reluctant in general in accepting dogs than those near Meran or Bozen.) We did find an open space behind the hotel where our dog could romp and roll in the snow and the walking trail off the parking lot offered a bit of green for quick outtings--but we have to admit, this time our dog came out a bit short in the fun department. The real treat for us this trip was skiing in the Dolomites! The hotel offers ski lockers where the bulky equipment can be stored and the ski boots dried. A bus was also available (arranged with a quick cell phone call) to drop off and pick up guests from the various slopes near the hotel. This was convenient even if we did often have a bit of a wait until the bus came. The Dolomiti Super Ski Circus offers 1200 km of runs and connects 12 various ski resorts all throughout the magnificent Dolomites. Especially recommended is the complete circle tour, the Sella Ronda, which offers 4-6 hours (depending on your skill and number of pauses you take) of non-stop skiing and dynamite scenery. As a nice diversion, we went to the neighboring ski town of St. Ulrich (or Ortisei). The town has a small pedestrian area, numerous restaurants, shops and bars and harnesses the river to form frozen, towering, illuminated ice towers for an artistic effect. We can recommend the enoteca or wine bar, "Cercia", Str. Rezia 30. This is a quaint, small after ski meeting place where you can enjoy wines by the glass and sample cold platters of local dried meats, sausages, cheeses and Shuttelbrot. Certainly a fine way to unwind after skiing and chat with friends before dinner. We are certain we will return to the area again to enjoy great skiing, good food and wines and the one-of-a-kind beauty of the Dolmites. But we doubt we will stay in the Alpenroyal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a short winter sports break at the end of January/beginning of February. The hotel is postioned slightly outside the town but the hotel will run you to the ski lifts and slopes which are a few minutes drive away. If not skiing, the hotel gardens are a great place to relax in the winter sun. The outside pool, sauna and jacuzzi are also wonderful but only open for set hours. Dont bother with the sauna inside if you like a hot sauna but the hamam is very good as are the waterbeds in the relaxation room. The staff are great and very helpful; this includes reception staff, drivers, the night staff and waiting staff in the restaurant). Lots of good free activities on offer, snow shoeing and climbing walls as well as walks to places of interest in the area. Food is really superb, we did not get to try the gourmet restaurant though. Would definately go again, regard this is as a good winter and summer destination. Bolzano is short drive away and a good place to shop.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.6 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
562 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa

Address: Strada Meisules 43 | Dolomites, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#5 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £267 - £669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Winter or summer, the majestic Dolomites Range, a UNESCO Natural World Heritage since 2009, is one of the world's most beautiful, and the Alpenroyal, nestled in the scenic Val Gardena, is a memorable place from which to take it all in. For cold-weather aficionados, te hotel has ski-out facilities, as well as a brand new sauna and fitness world. Warm-weather guests can explore the stunning natural setting along a myriad of hiking trails or swim in the 1.500-square-eter alpine lake framed by the Dolomites' pale limestone peaks. For the ultimate in relaxation, book one of the hotel's suites, which come with Jacuzzis and privat steam-bath showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet And Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet Selva Di Val Gardena
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing