We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mignon(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chalet Gerard(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bellevue(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Pralong(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plazola(Selva di Val Gardena)
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
487
63
15
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
63
15
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet restaurantmichelin staroutdoor pooltop levelgourmet experiencepark suitemain restaurantchauffeur servicehalf boardskiing locationitalian alpsstunning hotelsore musclesreception staffperfect place to relaxdolomites mountainssuperb food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Monotonous working schedules get the better of your adolscence and each year keeps piling onto the existing boredom and freaky robotic behaviour. Desperately seeking for a change I planned a trip to Selva Alta Val Gardena along with few of my colleagues and landed up at Alpenroyal for the next few days. Being the closest holiday spot from our cosmopolitan city this turned out to be the best weekend getaway option. Alpenroyal turned out to be a surprise package. Incorporating world class comfort amenities the hotel portrayed the epitome of luxury. Francesco, the head barman needs a special mention. We planned for a crazy booze party at the hotel's sprawling lawn and Francesco just laid out the exact settings to sweep us off our feet. Perfect settings with the most optimum hospitality details.

Room Tip: Best Service
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joesph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you like to celebrate Christmas or your anniversary on the streets with all your luggage - this 5* hotel is for you! 
Or, for example, you don't know how to throw out 11000 euros... Just book Alpenroyal online!!! And when you came there, they can always cancel your reservation (right on the reception!), for example, because of size of your dog! And without any money back! 
Although if you would contact the travel agency, then you could have at least some money back after the trial.
Nothing know about the "magnificent" SPA, but "ultraluxurious" Deluxe room (as was told on them site) is actually small low ceilings room with old furniture and with terrible bathroom! And no balcony!
The "idyllic surroundings" are two big roads (hotel is at the crossroads) and wire fence. 
Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Larisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolomitico, Proprietario at Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

We are very sorry that this client has not been happy with our hotel ( without having passed any night with us ) but we have clearly informed the client once he booked that we do not accept big dogs. The client presented himself at check-in with a hudge male Dobberman wich we could not accept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Alpenroyal entwins luxury and peace both in the perfect composition. I had been there to attend a business meeting and throughout my stay could not have got better hospitality services than Alpenroyal Grand Hotel. The extravagant structure furbished with optimum conference amenities coupled with spectacular food and drinks in their in-house restaurants lay forth accurate environment for those nerve-wrecking decisive deals. The hotel's utmost perfection and professionalism truly bowled me over. Taking note of every particular playing a pivot role in those spine chilling corporate deals, it was a welcome experience to host a crucial conference in the heart of the stately Dolomites. The premium luxury hotel also offers a shimmering swimming pool, a health club and a spa to enable you to rejuvenate your body and soul.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Since we our first stay at this hotel, six years ago, we are coming back again and again, every year, to spend some days in this wonderful place. Everything here is of the highest level (service, rooms, views, restaurant, spa), but, on top of that, the hotel has a very nice atmosphere and a special charm, in part due to its relatively small size as well as to the fact that it is family-owned and managed. The charismatic owner, Mr Hannes Prinoth, a very elegant and cultivated man, is always present and available to make you feel at home, to give you information and advice or to have an interesting talk with you. This is simply a magic place, which deserves every praise it gets.

Last stay January 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent a week in mid January with my wife at the Alpenroyal. We were immediately welcomed at the front desk, offered a drink and shown into our rooms in less than 20 minutes. Front office staff was very friendly and helpful. We were also able to get skipass and rental skis directly from the hotel a bit later, which was very convenient.

The hotel is located slightly outside the village of Selva, which is good if you want to avoid crowds, and bad if you want to step from the hotel directly on the slopes. Nonetheless, the town center can be reached in about 10 minutes on foot, and makes for a relaxing walk.

The room was not huge, yet in line with European standards, around 550 sq. feet. All amenities one expects in a Leading Hotel of the World are available, the room itself was nicely furnished, and very clean, service was impeccable all the time. We had a room at the first floor above the outside swimming pool, and the view on the surrounding mountains was breathtaking, especially at sunset.

The hotel has two restaurants, one offers a choice of four different menus, while the other is an à la carte restaurant. The latter was recently assigned a Michelin star, and while I am not especially fond of extravagant/innovative cuisine, our only evening spent there was truly memorable. The “ordinary” restaurant is all but ordinary, and not necessarily inferior to the Michelin-starred one. I was especially amazed by the quality of fish plates that were on offer considering that this is a mountain resort! It goes without saying that service was top notch and that the hotel’s wine offering is among the broadest I have experienced lately. Wine prices tend to be somewhat high, although this did not seem to deter customers, as I saw plenty Sassicaia and Gaia bottles on many guest tables!

The hotel is not located directly on the slopes, although it is possible to easily return to the hotel on skis. To get there the hotel provides a very efficient shuttle service that takes clients around the resort in no time.
Since all slopes in the area are connected, you can get everywhere from the nearest slope. I will not go into much length on the (many) highs and (few) lows of skiing in the Dolomites: this is one of the top skiing locations in the world, and the scenery is peerless. My only recommendation is not to spend too much time on the famed “Sella Ronda”, since there are many many better slopes outside of it, and they are decidedly less crowded than the ones on the ronda.
The hotel’s owner is always in the hotel and likes to chat with his guests. I suggest you talk to him since he has some great tips on the surroundings, which slopes to try, which huts to stop by for lunch etc.

The hotel has two swimming pools, one of which is outside. The inside pool is a perfectly ordinary swimming pool such as can be found in many other hotels, but it does its job. The outside one is my favorite place in the whole hotel, especially after sunset. It is an amazing experience, very large allowing for some serious swimming, and at the same time a perfect place to relax enjoying the scenic surroundings. Right next to the pool, on the top of a small hill there is a whirl pool, which is very nice as well, although reaching it at 10-15°F is a bit daunting, especially for the ladies.
I did not make use of the spa facilities, although they appear perfectly adequate from the outside. There is a small but well equipped gym near the pool.

There is wifi coverage in the whole hotel, although it is not free, which is a bit of a shame considering the price one pays to stay here. On the other hand, If one wants just a quick peek at the internet every now and then there is a free internet access point near the lobby.

All in all I am very satisfied with my stay. The price is aligned with the category, the hotel itself is very nice and cozy, and the staff has made us feel at home on every occasion. So for me this is the best hotel in what I consider the best skiing location of the world.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews