We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasurable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A most pleasurable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The enjoyment of the Alpenroyal begins even before you arrive at the hotel as you will be greeted by the most stupendous views of spectacular mountain scenery as you drive up the valley towards Selva.
Having studied the excellent web site before arrival we were pleasantly to find the lay out of hotel even more striking than expected.The young ladies at check in were most efficient and our cases were wisked away while we enjoyed a complementary on the sunny terrace overlooking the splendid swimming pool.
On arrival at our suite (we had actually booked a superior room and were most gratified with the upgrade)we were highly delighted with the facilities which included a kingsized bed,2 bathrooms and a spacious sitting room with large flat screen television,both rooms leading to a fine terrace with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains.
Before dinner we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar where we met Fraccesco who looked after us during our stay in a most friendly and efficient manner and turned out to be an expert in matters relating to wine and drinks in general.He also provided us with complementary canapés which was another highlight of the evening.
The dinners at the Alpenroyal are of a very high standard and run to 4 courses with a selection of 3 choices at each together with a most extensive and reasonably priced wine list.
During our visit we were looked after by Monica who was as highly efficient as she was pleasant and greatly added to our evenings enjoyment.
We would certainly advise any guest to reserve a table for at least one evening at the separate Michelin starred restaurant where the food is both of superb quality and demonstrates the originality and flair of the chef Felice lo Basso.We were looked after by Gianlucca who could hold his own in any fine restaurant in the world.
All in all our stay at the Alpenroyal was one of the most memorable and we would have no hesitation in recommending this destination with the utmost confidence.

Dorothy&Clive,London.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    55
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
169
226
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Staying alone given to corporate calls turns out to be very monotonous and to sherk off this irritating feel I often take short trips to nearby places with my family. This time the place was Selva Alta Val Gardena given to the huge reviews it had garnered. Alpenroyal was my premium choice for accommodation as it extended a splendid view of the Dolomites. Wrapped up in the laps of nature Alpenroyal extended the leisure that corporate bugs like us yearn for and the cool respite from the scorching temperatures of the city are add on. With artistically laid out rooms that utter grandeur at their every corner and a large window pane to gaze at the sprawling lawn and the snow-peaked ranges, Alpenroyal lives upto all its speculations. The dainty dishes and the hospitality that stays at your service at every beck and call is indeed commendable. 4 cheers to the spectacular hotel...

Room Tip: Best Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Monotonous working schedules get the better of your adolscence and each year keeps piling onto the existing boredom and freaky robotic behaviour. Desperately seeking for a change I planned a trip to Selva Alta Val Gardena along with few of my colleagues and landed up at Alpenroyal for the next few days. Being the closest holiday spot from our cosmopolitan city this turned out to be the best weekend getaway option. Alpenroyal turned out to be a surprise package. Incorporating world class comfort amenities the hotel portrayed the epitome of luxury. Francesco, the head barman needs a special mention. We planned for a crazy booze party at the hotel's sprawling lawn and Francesco just laid out the exact settings to sweep us off our feet. Perfect settings with the most optimum hospitality details.

Room Tip: Best Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joesph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you like to celebrate Christmas or your anniversary on the streets with all your luggage - this 5* hotel is for you! 
Or, for example, you don't know how to throw out 11000 euros... Just book Alpenroyal online!!! And when you came there, they can always cancel your reservation (right on the reception!), for example, because of size of your dog! And without any money back! 
Although if you would contact the travel agency, then you could have at least some money back after the trial.
Nothing know about the "magnificent" SPA, but "ultraluxurious" Deluxe room (as was told on them site) is actually small low ceilings room with old furniture and with terrible bathroom! And no balcony!
The "idyllic surroundings" are two big roads (hotel is at the crossroads) and wire fence. 
Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Larisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolomitico, Proprietario at Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
We are very sorry that this client has not been happy with our hotel ( without having passed any night with us ) but we have clearly informed the client once he booked that we do not accept big dogs. The client presented himself at check-in with a hudge male Dobberman wich we could not accept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iran
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Alpenroyal entwins luxury and peace both in the perfect composition. I had been there to attend a business meeting and throughout my stay could not have got better hospitality services than Alpenroyal Grand Hotel. The extravagant structure furbished with optimum conference amenities coupled with spectacular food and drinks in their in-house restaurants lay forth accurate environment for those nerve-wrecking decisive deals. The hotel's utmost perfection and professionalism truly bowled me over. Taking note of every particular playing a pivot role in those spine chilling corporate deals, it was a welcome experience to host a crucial conference in the heart of the stately Dolomites. The premium luxury hotel also offers a shimmering swimming pool, a health club and a spa to enable you to rejuvenate your body and soul.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Since we our first stay at this hotel, six years ago, we are coming back again and again, every year, to spend some days in this wonderful place. Everything here is of the highest level (service, rooms, views, restaurant, spa), but, on top of that, the hotel has a very nice atmosphere and a special charm, in part due to its relatively small size as well as to the fact that it is family-owned and managed. The charismatic owner, Mr Hannes Prinoth, a very elegant and cultivated man, is always present and available to make you feel at home, to give you information and advice or to have an interesting talk with you. This is simply a magic place, which deserves every praise it gets.

Last stay January 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent a week in mid January with my wife at the Alpenroyal. We were immediately welcomed at the front desk, offered a drink and shown into our rooms in less than 20 minutes. Front office staff was very friendly and helpful. We were also able to get skipass and rental skis directly from the hotel a bit later, which was very convenient.

The hotel is located slightly outside the village of Selva, which is good if you want to avoid crowds, and bad if you want to step from the hotel directly on the slopes. Nonetheless, the town center can be reached in about 10 minutes on foot, and makes for a relaxing walk.

The room was not huge, yet in line with European standards, around 550 sq. feet. All amenities one expects in a Leading Hotel of the World are available, the room itself was nicely furnished, and very clean, service was impeccable all the time. We had a room at the first floor above the outside swimming pool, and the view on the surrounding mountains was breathtaking, especially at sunset.

The hotel has two restaurants, one offers a choice of four different menus, while the other is an à la carte restaurant. The latter was recently assigned a Michelin star, and while I am not especially fond of extravagant/innovative cuisine, our only evening spent there was truly memorable. The “ordinary” restaurant is all but ordinary, and not necessarily inferior to the Michelin-starred one. I was especially amazed by the quality of fish plates that were on offer considering that this is a mountain resort! It goes without saying that service was top notch and that the hotel’s wine offering is among the broadest I have experienced lately. Wine prices tend to be somewhat high, although this did not seem to deter customers, as I saw plenty Sassicaia and Gaia bottles on many guest tables!

The hotel is not located directly on the slopes, although it is possible to easily return to the hotel on skis. To get there the hotel provides a very efficient shuttle service that takes clients around the resort in no time.
Since all slopes in the area are connected, you can get everywhere from the nearest slope. I will not go into much length on the (many) highs and (few) lows of skiing in the Dolomites: this is one of the top skiing locations in the world, and the scenery is peerless. My only recommendation is not to spend too much time on the famed “Sella Ronda”, since there are many many better slopes outside of it, and they are decidedly less crowded than the ones on the ronda.
The hotel’s owner is always in the hotel and likes to chat with his guests. I suggest you talk to him since he has some great tips on the surroundings, which slopes to try, which huts to stop by for lunch etc.

The hotel has two swimming pools, one of which is outside. The inside pool is a perfectly ordinary swimming pool such as can be found in many other hotels, but it does its job. The outside one is my favorite place in the whole hotel, especially after sunset. It is an amazing experience, very large allowing for some serious swimming, and at the same time a perfect place to relax enjoying the scenic surroundings. Right next to the pool, on the top of a small hill there is a whirl pool, which is very nice as well, although reaching it at 10-15°F is a bit daunting, especially for the ladies.
I did not make use of the spa facilities, although they appear perfectly adequate from the outside. There is a small but well equipped gym near the pool.

There is wifi coverage in the whole hotel, although it is not free, which is a bit of a shame considering the price one pays to stay here. On the other hand, If one wants just a quick peek at the internet every now and then there is a free internet access point near the lobby.

All in all I am very satisfied with my stay. The price is aligned with the category, the hotel itself is very nice and cozy, and the staff has made us feel at home on every occasion. So for me this is the best hotel in what I consider the best skiing location of the world.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa

Property: Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Address: Strada Meisules 43 | Dolomites, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Winter or summer, the majestic Dolomites Range, a UNESCO Natural World Heritage since 2009, is one of the world's most beautiful, and the Alpenroyal, nestled in the scenic Val Gardena, is a memorable place from which to take it all in. For cold-weather aficionados, te hotel has ski-in, ski-out facilities, as well as a sauna, steam rooms and treatments at the Eghes Beauty Spa to soothe aching muscles. Warm-weather guests can explore the stunning natural setting along a myriad of hiking trails or swim in the 1.500-square-eter alpine lake framed by the Dolomites' pale limestone peaks. For the ultimate in relaxation, book one of the hotel's suites, which come with Jacuzzis and privat steam-bath showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet Selva Di Val Gardena
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet And Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing