We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Lodz, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Relax and good service”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is the very good place for relax: indoor and outdoor swiming pools, including heater outdoor (34C) and whirpools, relaxing room with view to Dolomites, sunbath hill, saunas etc. Spa has wide choice of treatments (I have very strong sport masage made by Serena). The hotel has good location, especially for skiing or hiking. But the best positive point of the hotel is service. Everyone is smiling, ready for help. Restaurant has 1 Michelin star. It's mean that meals are sophisticated. I am fan of "simply" Italian cousine, so this kind of cousine is not my cup of tea. But the bigeest minus are prices of winies. Everyday winies are 3-4 times more expensive if you compare with shop prices. It's mean that comision is 200-400%:( more sophisticated winies are twice expensive (eg. Sasiccaia costs more than 200 Euro). It is unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    60
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
185
246
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Every year we spend the first week in July in the Dolomity. This year we chose Selva as a good starting point for our planned hiking in Sassolungo, Puez- Odle, the Selva massif and Alpe di Siusi.
Hotel Alpenroyal was chosen based on the guest reviews on the Internet. It is situated at the entrance of the village boasting unique panoramic views. There are a few cableways and lifts , also good bus service or shuttle bus. More practical is the use of the travel card "Val Gardena Card" that can be purchased directly at the hotel reception. Unfortunately, this card is not valid for the area of Castelrotto and Siusi.
The first mistake we made that we have booked this hotel in October 2012. Thus, we have lost about 15% against the real price at the time of stay. A booking was guaranteed with payment of a deposit of 30%. In case of cancellation the deposit is not refunded.
Correspondence with the hotel reception was quick and efficient. Cheerful was their requirement that the delivery of the rooms is from 15:00 hours, though they had to know that the hotel is half empty.

Arrival and accommodation was OK,I refused to park in the underground garage due to the excessive price, while parking place outdoor was free of charge.
Deluxe Double room with balcony was standard with a suitably equipped. The room had everything we needed and wanted from the room. It was cleaned twice a day. From the balcony we had a wonderful view of the Dolomites,we were fascinated by admires the Sella range and were charmed by the astounding beauty of the Sassolungo. We slept well here.
What makes the hotel Exclusive is the aquatic relaxing complex, including the outdoor swimming pool in the Grand Parc heated to 33°C,


outdoor hot Whirlpool (36°C), indoor swimming pool ( 32°C) ,indoor whirlpool, Finnish Sauna and Outdoor alpine swimming lake "Kurat" with view of the Dolomites and especially the winter garden-relaxation room with 12 fruit juices. After a extended mountain hiking and swimming, relax in the the winter garden-relaxation room with and views of snow-capped Sely group, wrapped in a deep silence does not mistake. The cozy atmosphere was created by the smell of burning fireplace and listening in relaxing soft music.
Lots of good free activities on offer(for example guided hiking tours.hotel shutle,fitness),but wine and mineral water are to expensive.
Breakfast buffet was standard, but completely lacked fresh vegetables. It was the same thing every day when we stayed, so we would expect a bit more variation of the menu for travelers who do stay more than a day or two.
Dinner was always new experience. Despite the preparatory consultation with the three language versions menu it was the lottery what we actually choose from three creative options. Fortunately, the selection menu helped us Signor Angelo.
For this level of hotel is undignified that when we ordered wine from the wine list by a certain vintage and it paid for, but in fact was served younger vintage of the same wine. Unfortunately, I found out the next day.
Access the hotel staff was friendly, however, was significantly different to ordinary mortals and to VIP guests.
The highlight of our stay should be a visit to the famous Alpenroyal Gourmet Restaurant. The first shock came during the selection menu. Menu still advertised on the hotel website does not apply! They do not have rack of lamb, or venison fillet. So we chose the "Tasting Menu“ with pig . So it was an experience and seems a real waste of money! Although they served us the four kinds of butter and four kinds of salt, but pig was undercooked. We think that this was the reason why the famous Lo Basso did not come to ask guests how they enjoyed it, although normally for VIP guests he attended advise in the selection menu in a normal restaurant. We left the restaurant with the words "Never more." When paying the hotel bill we had to claim a price reduction this “gourmet” dinner based on Halfboard (20 EUR0 per person).

Thanks to its magnificent position the Alpenroyal Grand Hotel is the perfect starting point for easy walks, demanding hikes and vie ferrate in the Dolomites. Apart from Gourmet restaurant and high prices ,our stay at the hotel was comfortable, excel relax after a hard year, also the weather was nice to us. Special thanks to Signor Angelo which cared about us personally.

Room Tip: On the second floor of the main building (where reception and restaurant is located), backstairs qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Antonín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful hotel with my wife in mid February 2013 for 5 days.
I was our 2nd time to Italy in one year and our first time to north Italy - and we just loved it!
What can I tell you... We were simply amazed by the breath taking view from our Double Room Deluxe... the Apls were just a glance away which was just STUNNING - literally! We couldn't talk for like 2 minutes!!!!
The room was very comfortable, nicely and tastefully furnished.
The staff members were very welcoming and assisted us with everything we needed during our short stay, including directions and hooking us up with a private tour guide.
On the other hand, when we asked for an extra pillow and it was late at night, it took them 2 hours to get it to us which was a bit off - but that's the least pleasant experience we had there, so it's not bad compared to past experiences we had in hotels, especially in Italy.
Breakfast was also very good and we loved most of it, but it was the same thing every day when we stayed, so I would expect a bit more variation of the menu for travelers who do stay more than a day or two.

We got to talk to a few tourists who visited near by hotels and they weren't as half as excited about their hotel as we were, so take it under consideration when choosing your hotel!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to visit the area, it's not cheap but it offers a great value for your money and I would have paid more for this if needed - it was simply that good!

Room Tip: Haven't been to the spa, so I can't rate but as everything else I have seen in this hotel I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladAvigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

All important has been written on these pages - it is ski IN, not out, wonderful setting and access to some of the Italy`s most exciting skiing, hotel is clean, rooms refurbished, though for some rooms it may take you a good 5 min walk to/from reception, restaurant, pools etc, hotel is being a member of the LHW, great spa and very relaxing, neatly designed outdoor pool...... All is good (decent) and probably meets standards of an Alpine 5* (not 5*L though, where honestly I think it was rather our own desire for such standard rather than hotels aspiration itself).

Why a 50/50 experience ? The overall experience has always been in a half way between unexpected disaster and classy experience one would expect from such property, ie great spa and outdoor pool vs close to hostile attitude of the front desk staff, some very professional staff at hotels restaurant versus some with a serious attitude problem. Some good 50% of staff lacks basic manners and proper attitude if they had decided to work in hospitality business. Its not always easy, guests can be evil, but if one decides to work in such industry, it better think twice (and hotel manager 5 times before picking the right person). It probably was not the case here, I am sorry to tell.


It is unusual to comment on such a review still having 4 nights to go (having rented 5 rooms for me and my family), but this has been so far quite disappointing experience.

We approached the hotel owner with our remarks so lets stay tuned and see whether this stay turns into a "NEVER MORE" award or eventually into a lovely holiday. It is 50/50 so far.....

Room Tip: Main buidling (where reception and restaurant is located), or expect 5 min jogging in a hallway ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Alpensroyal has the best spa I have ever encountered. The service throughout the hotel is exceptional and the staff are emarkably warm and welcoming. The food lived up to our expectations, which for a Michelin starred restaurant in Italy were stratospherically high. The wine selection is of course wonderful and we enjoyed some truly excelent and reasonably priced Italian wines. My only critiscism is that the huge wine list is over-dominated by premium Italian wines (Gaja) only affordable by Oligarchs.

The hotel is ski-in but not ski-out. However the hotel does everything possible to mitigate this minor inconvenience. A shuttle is instantly available to take you to whatever lift you chose. Ski passes and rental equipment are available from the hotel so no queuing is required at any stage. Each room has its own boot and ski locker in the hotel's comfortable ski-room.

The Dolomite Superski area is scenically the most beautiful ski resort in the World and for intermediate skiers, like myself, provides the most enjoyable skiing imaginable. The food on the mountain is of the standard you would expect in Italy, very high.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Thanks to all the staff of Alpenroyal for the great service got in this fantastic place. Special thanks to the restaurant manager Momo which cared about us personally. We will be for sure back or in winter for skiing or next summer with friends. Greetings Family Walker!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Spent 3 days in Alpenroyal Suite, perfect greeting with smile, complimentary upgrade, room spotlessly clean and wonderfully equipped with jacuzzi and steam shower. Great services, amazing and creative food, omelette a la carte for breakfast made to order was just amazing! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirikarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.6 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
449 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
434 reviews
12.9 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
0.9 mi away
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaconi
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaco...
#28 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa

Property: Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Address: Strada Meisules 43 | Dolomites, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Winter or summer, the majestic Dolomites Range, a UNESCO Natural World Heritage since 2009, is one of the world's most beautiful, and the Alpenroyal, nestled in the scenic Val Gardena, is a memorable place from which to take it all in. For cold-weather aficionados, te hotel has ski-in, ski-out facilities, as well as a sauna, steam rooms and treatments at the Eghes Beauty Spa to soothe aching muscles. Warm-weather guests can explore the stunning natural setting along a myriad of hiking trails or swim in the 1.500-square-eter alpine lake framed by the Dolomites' pale limestone peaks. For the ultimate in relaxation, book one of the hotel's suites, which come with Jacuzzis and privat steam-bath showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet And Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet Selva Di Val Gardena
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing