We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Untidy round the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Untidy round the edges”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Although this is definitely a 5* with great leisure facilities (pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc) there are some things that are missing, The family who own the hotel are around but sit away from other guests, never smile and give a very unfriendly impression which has passed onto the staff who are unwilling to help, or accept that, for example, their internet facility is not working. Nor were we offered to use their own computers when it still was not fixed. Food ranged from excellent to bizarre, "the potato - a variety of ways" "eggs - in three manners", oh dear. The proscuitto was butchered rather than sliced and to have a trained sommelier who is never on help seems a real waste of money. The problem is this hotel is not pitching to the UK market, but to the Russian, who were generally unfriendly and allowed their children to run free over the hotel, down corridors at night, through the restaurant during service. All these details mean that i just would not be signing up, at that price, to return another time. Fabulous snow though

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    55
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
169
226
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Having previously stayed at this hotel when it was smaller, the growth has evidently adversely affected what was once an outstanding hotel. I feel that the hotel is now resting on a reputation that was once deserved but unfortunately no longer!!

The hotel is most certainly catering for a specific market which does not necessarily recognize quality but instead feels that “paying a high price represents receiving the best.”

Gone is the outstanding gourmet food and in place is a mediocre hit and miss menu aimed more towards a basic palette……outstanding no more. Along with the pedestrian food the previous exemplary service too has disappeared which is a great shame in comparison to previous stay.

The charm and hospitality is simmering somewhere below the surface and a return to prior form would be most welcomed. Remove the screaming kids from the corridors, the children’s parties in the bar; the ragamuffin squalls from beneath the feet of the waiters and maybe this will enable a re-elevation to a higher level.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2010

By chance we came accross with the ALPENROYAL GRAND HOTEL, as early as the beginning of the last month of october. We were suddenly and astonishingly enchanted by the whole environement around that experience after experince we plunged in.

It was all that nice and perfect that we have alredy gone back twice since those days and, a longer white-week vacation will be undoubtly enjoyed during the very next month of January 2011.

Noteworthy are the professional, but above all the PERSONS, who make all that possible and, during our stay, made all of us feeling nurselly protected as one could feel into a candy-box:

FRANCESCO behind the reachely supplyed lounge-bar rack, who proposes courtesy and expertise at all times;
the always smiling girls that may alternate behind the reception-desk;
MOMO, (qui m'excuserà si je n' ècris bien son nome) Maitre de Salle, who always welcome us politely as if you were a royal couple;
The gentle and never late attentions of the multi-lingual and multi-regional service staff;
RAFFALE's perfection that the GOURMET restaurant should never renounce to and.......
last but not certainly the least.............

FELICE LO BASSO whose superior cooking arts, caught us that tremendously, to turn flavourness and meaningless anything we have eaten during the following seven days since we missed you.

I hope I have not forgotten anybody but in case that occourred, they must know that they are into our heart.

We wish to express to the property of ALPENROYAL GRAND HOTEL, our sincerest thanks for all the great emotions that we lived by being their hosts.

I heartedly recommend ALPENROYAL GRAND HOTEL SPA & GOURMET to all the persons whom I know, in Italy and abroad, to my friends and to all my commercial partners.

Fulvia, Clizia, Marco

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fulvia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I previously stayed at Alpenroyal during the winter of 2005 with big satisfaction and I decided to try the Gardena Valley during the summer. Despite the not so favourable weather conditions the overall experience has been (again) very good. Since 2005, the hotel has been further enlarged with a complete new building, a big outdoor heated swimming pool and an artificial alpin lake. I had a Junior Park Suite that is a wide and very comfortable room with a balcony above the swimming pool. The sights on the valley are really beautiful. Cleaning is very good, as well as the overall hotel service. Sleeping with duvets and feather pillows is always a challenge for me, but I know that this is what you get in this part of the world. The restaurant is a magnificent experience, the chef Felice Lo Basso and his crew offer a top level quality that really deserve the Michelin Guide star(s) that (I hope) will soon arrive. The wine list is huge, anyway well reasoned. The bar service is very efficient, with a wide choice of local and international spirits. In conclusion: this is a real five stars hotel, quite expencive, but you get the quality you pay for. Just two minor observations: paying nearly € 500 per room a day (half pension), one may expect that a morning newspaper (€ 1.20) and up to 30 minutes/day of wi-fi internet connection should be considered as complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I helped organise a group driving trip through the Alps which included a 2 night stay at the Alpen Royal Gran hotel, from check in to check out everything was perfect, great staff on recepetion, bar and the restaurant was better than some Michelin star ones we tried, the owners are ever present and watering flowers, We booked a helicopter flight through recepetion for 4 of our group, we talked the recpetion girl into coming with us!, we all enjoyed this and thought it was good value, would i return, yes without hesitation, i am planning on taking my family later this year.

Thank you to all at the Alpen Royal for making me look good at organising this trip!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

good location for skiers and mountin lovers, beautiful view from outside warm pool to Sella grup mountins, clean, nice " smile on face" service ( reception and breakfast/dinner staff), top service at massages, good cook ( sometimes traveling to Michelin star), garage, family runed hotel, probably one of the best in Gardena walley, room with space.
Wine are to expensive ( compare for example with Anna Stuben- 1 Michelin restaurant near), no mountin bike, slow internet, to small gym

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We have stayed at alpenroyal for 5 days in the summer. It is an a great base for travel in the area. The food is the best you could hope for. The suites are large and very comfortable and the staff is very helpfull for families with children. The indoor/outdoor pool is amazing for families. However this is not just a family hotel. It is even better for couples. Very romantic. However this is not a spa hotel. The spa and treatments are not the strong point of this hotel. The strong point is the gourmet food and the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaimHerzliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
430 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa

Property: Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Address: Strada Meisules 43 | Dolomites, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#3 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Winter or summer, the majestic Dolomites Range, a UNESCO Natural World Heritage since 2009, is one of the world's most beautiful, and the Alpenroyal, nestled in the scenic Val Gardena, is a memorable place from which to take it all in. For cold-weather aficionados, te hotel has ski-in, ski-out facilities, as well as a sauna, steam rooms and treatments at the Eghes Beauty Spa to soothe aching muscles. Warm-weather guests can explore the stunning natural setting along a myriad of hiking trails or swim in the 1.500-square-eter alpine lake framed by the Dolomites' pale limestone peaks. For the ultimate in relaxation, book one of the hotel's suites, which come with Jacuzzis and privat steam-bath showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet Selva Di Val Gardena
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet And Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing