We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for Val Gardena” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Antares
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good option for Val Gardena”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed recently at the hotel with my family for a week. We were in a larger group for a ski break on a half board basis.

This hotel is not far from the slopes and mechanical means. Decent walking distance, even for kids.

Staff very nice and professional. I would like to single out a staff member Emanuela that was taking care of us (and a few others!) every evening for supper.

The hotel is in an overall good condition and the rooms are OK. Breakfast and supper were plenty and above average quality. Good wine list!

Certainly an hotel I could come back to and recommend as an option.

Although they have wireless, it only works in the common areas as a result of which these were packed with people, especially kids. If they make wireless available in the rooms then common areas could be more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet but not very large. Ask for one with bathtub. Try to avoid upper floors as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msv19650916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    141
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
207
93
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Convenient location. Room was renovated so comfortable. Pool is nice. Unfortunate that wi-fi was only in the lobby and others mentioned that they were not always able to connect. Staff was mostly helpful with a few exceptions. Breakfast was satisfactory but coffee was terrible. Salad buffet at dinner was excellent with the rest of the meal inconsistent. This stay was part of a tour so difficult to evaluate the true value.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel seems nice and is relatively ok priced. However, once you are there, there are just so many things that are wrong that it really takes away from the experience. The food (included in the price) is generally weak, with a few ok plates. Breakfast is simply gross, with cold eggs, no fruit, cold, chewy bacon and other similar delights. The Jacuzzie is a 1-person affair and costs EUR10 for 20 minutes. I was so sore from the slopes that decided to do it anyway... went up to my room and changed only to find out that the Spa only opens at 3PM. Why? No idea. OK, maybe I should book a massage instead. Oops, massages are available until 1:30PM and then only from 20:30 - 22:00. Why? No idea. OK, well maybe just go up to the room and do some emails? No such luck, Wifi is only available in the lobby and doesn't work half the time. I am not exaggerating when I say that I had a higher quality internet connection in a backpacker motel I stayed in in Cambodia 12 years ago than I did here, in this "4 star hotel" in Western Europe.

I recommend looking for other options - this hotel doesn't deliver on the details and is in no way a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here for a weeks skiing holiday, Wonderful Hotel with amazing food and wine, great location in Selva. We would highly recommend this hotel. Very happy, helpful staff. Thanks for a great week..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonbladh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel i january 2013. The hotel is very good located, just 5 minutes walk from Chiampinoi. The food is increadible good and so is the service. A nice bar with friendly personal. The service at the hotel is overall very good. I sure would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed a week in the Residence part of hotel which provided a self- catering option rather than the full hotel experience. Room was compact but quite well appointed. Very close to a supermarket for food and essentials.
Room was clean and modern and very good value for money.

Only downside was the walk to and from the hotel to get to lifts. Generally used to ski in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Large room with kitchenette & large bathroom with shower. Balcony towards church. Quiet. Very good/large breakfast and dinner with excellent salad buffé. A bit difficult to adjust temperature in the room.
Not so well equipped fitness room. No shower there! Not nice to pass the lobby and corridors in used training cloths! A bit old fashioned lobby, free WiFi.
Good location in the village, 5 minutes walking to main ski-lift.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#30 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Strada Meisules 195, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence-hotel Antares is centrally located on the main street in Selva Gardena and within walking distance (200m) from the lifts of the Dolomiti Superski and Sellaronda ski carousel.Antares offers accommodation in a 4 stars hotel or a 3 stars residence and it also has 2 little dependances with more home-like apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antares Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing