We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Armin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Armin
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent Christmas 2011 here with friends, everything was perfect from check-in to the packed breakfast we had on our last day (departure too early for normal breakfast hours!!)
It is a relatively small family run hotel in the centre of Selva which meant you had great service from every member of staff.
The rooms were of a good size and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom were second to none.
We had home made biscuits when we arrived in our rooms, its the little touches you always remember!!
I would recommend this hotel as it made our holiday very special.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    41
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
91
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croesgoch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Hotel Armin in Selva really is the tops. Standards of food, comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail are first rate and the spa is to die for! The staff are all friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The nearest ski lift, the Champinoi tele-cabin is a few minutes walk away (uphill) but the hotel runs a free shuttle bus every half hour throughout the morning. The ski and boot room has boot warmers - bliss. We had a view of the majestic Dolomite mountains from our window and although the hotel is handy for bars and apres ski it is still in a quiet location. The room was throughly cleaned every day and the five course evening meals were fabulous! We have only been back a few days and are already planning to go there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Spent Christmas at this hotel and had a wonderful time. We certainly didn't go hungry as the food was delicious and plentiful. Very well presented as well. The hotel was spotless throughout and every member of staff could not do enough for you. Christmas was very special in the Dolomites.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel Armin is situated in the centre of Selva (Wolkenstein). It is a relatively small hotel of 25 bedrooms and elegantly styled. It is a family run business, managed by Manni Pitscheider (ably assisted by his mother) who will do anything possible to please his guests. On arrival, we were offered a choice of two identical rooms - to the front or rear of the hotel. We chose the rear as it may have been less noisy due to the main street at the front. Our room to the rear was very quiet but those to the front did not report any great amount of noise either. The food is quite excellent - five courses per evening meal - and always alternatives on offer if, for some reason, you did not like the menu on offer. Breakfast was the usual, but very adequate, mixed fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads, boiled or scrambled eggs, etc. Our room had a generous bath - great for taking the sting out of the legs after a day's walking. There was a shower attachment, but not a functioning shower. As walkers, this did not cause us any concern as baths are preferred. If using the local lifts and busses in Selva, buy a Val Gardena card in the Tourist Office up the street and get a free bus pass too. The busses tend to be very crowded so, if travelling downstream, walk up to the stop opposite the Ciampinoi lift; if travelling upstream, walk down to the stop outside the hotel Oswald. After your day's walk, Manni will offer you complimentary tea and cake on your return - a really nice touch. This hotel is rated "***S", which means "3-star+" but it was better than many 4-star establishments we have stayed in. One very important fact: the beds are very comfortable - walkers will appreciate this point! An excellent hotel which should not be passed by.

Room Tip: Ask Manni to show you the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlingotn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Our first walking holiday in the Dolomites, we chose The Armin simply on the back of the reviews we'd read, so we were a little apprehensive. However, we needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived, late on a wet and dark Saturday night,( sadly minus our luggage, thanks Newcastle Airport baggage handlers!), we were made to feel very welcome. They even had a selection of cold cuts, a drink, toothpaste and toothbrushes ready, as they'd heard of our plight! The room they gave us was brilliant, large, airy and clean. The food was out of this world, in fact, we were continually looking forward to our evening meals. Staff were very helpful and friendly, even offering me use of some wet weather gear as mine didn't arrive till two days before we returned home. The hotel's location couldn't have been any better, being handy for shops, the lifts and many walks. This place is a little gem, and we'd certainly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david_pattinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Fantastic place to stay in Selva Gardena! We have been there twice: in July 2010 and in January 2011. I would say both times where unforgettable experiences! The room is nice and clean, the food is excellent and you get so much to eat! The owners are very nice and always there if you need something or as well just to say hi! We felt at home! I will definitely return this year with the kids!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zanzibar165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The first hint about the family run Hotel Armin being so good, the Crystal rep told us, "A great place to stay and the food is the best in town. Don't write a review, keep it a secret."
Sorry, having skied around the world and stayed in everything from budget chalet's to 5 star luxury, the Hotel Armin, it's owners and staff shouldn't stay a secret. From the first hello nothing was too much bother. Room was large enough and cleaned with fresh
linen everyday. Buffet breakfast runs till 10.00am so you can have that lie in. If you finish on the slopes early, home made cakes at 3.00pm. Yum! Then you can use the steam room and sauna to soothe the aches and pains away. Dinner is fine dining, without the stuffiness of a posh restaurant. A romantic themed meal was served on Valentines day.
The hotels position is in the middle of the town on the main road. Hence if you have a room on the front, if you leave the door open on your balcony, you do hear the traffic noise, which does start early. The hotel provided a shuttle to the nearby ski lifts. A great place to stay, It shouldn't remain a secret.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bells54070803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#37 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armin

Property: Hotel Armin
Address: Strada Meisules 161, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#17 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#20 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Armin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Armin Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing