We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb base for mountain walking”
Review of Hotel Armin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Armin
Certificate of Excellence
Bungay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A superb base for mountain walking”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in July with my wife. One of the best Italian hotels we have ever used. A warm welcome from all the staff, very comfortable room (at the back of the hotel), outstanding food, and very conveniently placed for shopping and transport. Afternoon tea with cakes was an unexpected and pleasant event. The walking in this area offers plenty of choice at all levels of expertise. We are already considering returning next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    41
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
92
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

One of our best holidays ever! The welcome and friendliness of this hotel were second to none. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms newly refitted and immaculately clean. The food was all freshly prepared and well beyond our expectations. The only problem was that one week was not long enough! We booked through Crystal Lakes & Mountains and Jon the rep was totally dedicated to this resort and we can see why, would recommend his wine tasting. The walking in this area is outstanding with several ski lifts, funiculars and gondulas to take you up the mountains and well marked footpaths and restaurant huts to make this experience a total pleasure accessable to all, and the scenery and flora and forna are beautiful, and you could do as much or as little as you wanted. We had good weather, bright and sunny, only rained one evening with thunder storm. The only thing that we were dubious about was the 2 1/2 hour transfer from Verona airport, but it was not a problem and well worth it. The Armin Hotel has a Thomson Gold Award and we met other guests that have returned for many years, but there was a mix of all nationalities in the hotel and the resort is very cosmopolitan. Would recommend the hotel and the resort 100% for a summer walking holiday.
So much to do and see can't wait to be back.
G & J F

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSFYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Lincolnshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here as a couple for one week at the end of June. The holiday got off to bad start as Thomson holidays & Birmingham airport managed to lose our luggage. Harrumph! However the warm welcome we received from Mrs Pitscheider soon made us forget our problems, her son Manny even offered to lend us waterproofs should the weather turn.

The hotel is small with just 25 rooms, and is located in the town centre, a short walk from bus stops, cable car stations, and local shops and bars.

Our room was a good size and had a large balcony that caught the afternoon and evening sun. It faced the road and as such had some road noise but this did not bother us unduly. The mountain stream opposite gave more noise than the passing traffic. The room was very comfortable, with plenty of storage, and a newly refitted bathroom that was so clean it shone. No fridge or drinks facilities in the room, but an excellent TV, hairdryer & plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was buffet style, and we had more than enough to eat, and we were greeted each afternoon with tea and cake of the day following a hard day's walking.

Evening meal consisted of 5 courses of 2 choices, but they would always cook something else if you didn't like what was on offer. The standard of cuisine was very high. 0.5 L carafe of excellent house red was 6 euros a night. No need to buy more expensive wines.

There was a lovely wellness centre in the basement, but we didn't use it as the weather was lovely and sunny during our stay. The only thing lacking in the hotel was a sitting out or garden area, but we were quite happy with our balcony, and the lovely sun chairs that were upgraded half way through our holiday, thanks Mrs P!

All in all, a memorable stay, I would heartily recommend this hotel and resort for its comfortable standards, the warm welcome, and the fantastic well organised walking nearby. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Recently visited with my friend and we both had a wonderful holiday in Selva. The excellent service and warm welcome was exceptional. The location of the hotel was very central and our room, with balcony, located at the back of the hotel was very spacious and quiet - lovely bathroom and always hot water - everything spotlessly clean. 5 course evening meal was excellent with plenty of choice. Try a cocktail before dinner each evening - very reasonably priced. A lovely friendly family run hotel - highly recommended.

Room Tip: A few guests told me that rooms at front of the hotel could be noisy due to traffic - we were based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

6 of us went for a walking holiday (Selva is wonderful for this). We stayed at the Armin. None of us could have found fault, they could not have been more helpful, all staff were pleasant and efficient. The room was excellent, good shower etc (3 of us shared) with plenty of storage and very clean - I would highly recommend this location and hotel.

Room Tip: The room we shared was at the front of the hotel. There was traffic noise at night, being on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week, while walking in what must be one of the most beautiful areas of the world. ( I have walked in South America, North America, Canada, Nepal and New Zealand) The location was very central and although two of our rooms fronted the road, there was little disturbance at night. I have never before experienced such friendly and efficient service. The food was excellent and alternatives to the menu were always available. I honestly think this must be the most spotless hotel I have ever stayed in. Thanks to all the staff for helping our group of six have such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Some rooms may have better wifi signal and rooms at the back will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniortraveller137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This family run hotel couldn't be more welcoming with staff more than helpful and very friendly. The weather was cool and not summery at all whilst we took our summer walking holiday in Selva - but the hotel was always warm , clean and cosy with delicious food always on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter without traffic noise from the main road at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuddersfieldMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#22 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#35 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
199 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armin

Property: Hotel Armin
Address: Strada Meisules 161, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#20 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#20 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Armin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Armin Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing