We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pamper yourself after a hard days skiing.”
Review of Hotel Armin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Armin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The first hint about the family run Hotel Armin being so good, the Crystal rep told us, "A great place to stay and the food is the best in town. Don't write a review, keep it a secret."
Sorry, having skied around the world and stayed in everything from budget chalet's to 5 star luxury, the Hotel Armin, it's owners and staff shouldn't stay a secret. From the first hello nothing was too much bother. Room was large enough and cleaned with fresh
linen everyday. Buffet breakfast runs till 10.00am so you can have that lie in. If you finish on the slopes early, home made cakes at 3.00pm. Yum! Then you can use the steam room and sauna to soothe the aches and pains away. Dinner is fine dining, without the stuffiness of a posh restaurant. A romantic themed meal was served on Valentines day.
The hotels position is in the middle of the town on the main road. Hence if you have a room on the front, if you leave the door open on your balcony, you do hear the traffic noise, which does start early. The hotel provided a shuttle to the nearby ski lifts. A great place to stay, It shouldn't remain a secret.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bells54070803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

We spent a very enjoyable week in this hotel at the beginning of February. Everything from the friendly personal greeting by the owners on arrival to the breakfast packs prepared for our early departure reflected the care and attention this family devotes to its guests.

Our room was spotlessly clean with a beautifully equipped bathroom. Breakfasts buffets were extensive, cake was provided on return from the slopes in the afternoon and the evening meals (5/6 courses) were excellent with several choices to be made each evening.

Although there had been no snow since before Christmas, the skiing was excellent with all lifts and runs open. We skied long distances every day including the Sella Ronda, the Hidden Valley and The Marmolada. The hotel provides a minibus service to the main lift stations in the morning and we were able to ski back to within 100/200m of the hotel.

We have no hesitation in recommending both Selva, the Dolomites and the Hotel Armin.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastanglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

just had a lovely week staying at the Armin. lovely spacious, clean rooms. food was great, excellent wine menu. the staff are amazing an absolute credit to the owners, it is very obvious that they all enjoy working at the Armin. great value for money our group was pleasantly surprised when our weekly bar bill arrived. we are hoping to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaKathykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We have been visiting Selva at Christmas for over 10 years, always staying in apartments and eating out in the town. This year, rather apprehensively, we decided to take a package tour and stop at the Hotel Armin. We chose this partiicular hotel due to the reviews. This has to be THE BEST all round hotel we have experienced. The food is outstanding - MIchelin star class, the family and staff are warm and friendly and make your stay perfect. The cleanliness throughout is excellent.. All these features made our holiday amazing and we will definetely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

From the moment we arrived (nearly midnight), the service we were given was excellent, the staff are friendly and attentive, nothing is too much bother. The hotel is spotlessley clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food was to die for, every evening a 5 course dinner, great buffet breakfasts with a fantastic range of fresh bread and tea and cake every afternoon when we returned from our walk. I would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to Selva (and we probably will). The hotel is also situated in the heart of the town, right next to the Campinoi lift. There is also a sauna and whirlpool available but we never go round the trying out these facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CouplefromNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Arrived at the hotel on 19th June and it had just opened for the season. I was a little concerned that there wouldn't be enough to keep us occupied but found the opposite. The hotel is a member of the Selva active which has lots of activities organised from yoga to cookery. I did not participate in these as I wanted to do lots of walking and the area is ideal for this, in fact the walking was superb.

I was particularly impressed with the welcome we were given by the staff, food, wellness facilities, and general cleanliness. The quality of the food was outstanding and easily justifies the hotel's inclusion in the Michelin 2010 hotel guide.

I couldn't rate more highly the professionalism and friendliness of the staff who did their utmost to make for an enjoyable stay. If travelling with Thomson then don't miss out on afternoon tea.

I have to admit that I usually book 4* hotels but will be re-considering this in the future. If you want a walking break in spectacular surroundings with a delicious 5 course meal at the end of the day then the Armin is for you. Well done to the Armin and keep up the good work - it really does make a difference.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbtyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed here for a week's ski holiday. It's small and run by one family for the last forty years, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. It's right in the centre of Selva and a five minute walk to the ski lifts although they run a free shuttle every morning which will take you wherever you need to go in the resort. Rooms are smallish although most have balcony, the rooms at the front do suffer a fair bit of road noise and as the room was hot we had the balcony door open, so sleep sometimes disturbed (take your ear plugs). The whole place was very clean except that the toilet in our bathroom was "fragrant" and not in a good way. The food for breakfast was good standard buffet fare and did not vary during the week, although plenty of choice. Evening meals were simply superb, four courses every night, two choices for starter and main, lots of meat as you would expect in the mountains. Service in the restaurant was very friendly and professional, we asked to move table and were accommodated with no problem. It's not all Brits so there's a nice mix of people. There's a nice little spa with sauna and steam room, good warm ski and boot room with heated boot racks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ob4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#13 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
ArtHotel Anterleghes
ArtHotel Anterleghes
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armin

Address: Strada Meisules 161, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#14 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#20 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £115 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Armin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Armin Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing