We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel in the stunning Dolomites”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from a ski holiday in the Val Gardena region and stayed at this exceptional hotel which I booked as part of a package with Inghams. The hotel is located out of the Selva Wolkenstein village centre adjacent to the Dantercepies cable car and is perfectly situated for the whole ski area. Our room was lovely, amply proportioned and had clearly been refurbished to a very high standard. The hotel restaurant is pleasantly informal with the most delicious food being served: a 5 course dinner in the evening with plenty of variety and a comprehensive buffet breakfast. The waiting staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. Taken as a whole the hotel is extremely well managed and is a real credit to the family that own it. I can't wait to return to The Continental and all that fantastic food!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thehippohaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed in a Panorama Junior Suite, and it was large, quiet (very important for me, because I´m light sleeper),clean and with fantastic views. Breakfast and dinner were good (but drinks aren´t included with dinner).
No doubt, I would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TGS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Booked as package with Ingham's UK. 1 hour transfer from Bolzano airport. Top class 4* accommodation with ski in and out capability but a 10min walk up hill from the village centre. Recently refurbished bedrooms with all the expected facilities in the en-suites. Nicely appointed public rooms with lots of space. Food excellent with plenty of choice and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend this for winter and summer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Phill_Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2007

We booked this hotel well in advance for the week of Christmas 2006. We flew in to Bolzano, and had a taxi booked to take us from here to Selva - around a 1hr journey.

On arrival, we were very pleased with the hotel. Very friendly and welcoming staff, and a nice spacious room, with great view.

Throughout our stay, the food was wonderful (and healthy, with a great salad bar), and particularly over the holiday period the staff made an extra effort to make the occasion festive.

The hotel is located on the Sella Ronda. Across the street are several short, easy slopes. One major cable car is right behind the hotel, and it's a 5 minute ski down to Selva village, from where a network of lifts can transport you over the Dolomites region. Having the Dolomitie SuperSki pass is well worth it!

Selva village isn't huge, but has a pretty good selection of bars and restaurants, and a couple of nightspots.

The spa at the hotel (free for guests) is wonderful and relaxing with saunas, steam room, hot stone bench, infra-red therapy and a pay-as-you-go hot tub. A great way to unwind before dinner.

The hotel has a good ski storage area, with boot warmers. There's a GREAT hot dog stand right outside the hotel.

We enjoyed skiing the Dolomites. For our next trip we would probably consider staying around the town of Corvara, with easy access to the great skiing of the Alta Badia region. If we went back to Selva, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Continental again! GREAT value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NickWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2005

Just back from a great week's skiing trip to Selva. Stayed in the Continental with a group of 12 others, everyone thought the hotel was of a good standard with nice rooms and good food. Ideally located next to the Dantecepies gondola and opposite the nursery slopes. The only problem was the very steep walk down to the town, a good 10 minute walk down but 30 minutes back up! No taxis could be found at night and as there was very little going on in the town, with only 3/4 bars, we stayed in the hotel bar most nights - reasonably priced for a hotel but not cheap and they closed up at 12ish.
The skiing in the Sella Ronda is excellent for good intermediates, the snow is well looked after and the views are magnificent. Had a day trip out to Cortina, which convinced me that I wouldn’t be booking a week's holiday there! 4 smallish and disjointed ski areas across two sides of the valley. Also did the "hidden valley" just off the Sella Ronda – it’s not worth the effort with too much queuing for taxis, the cablecar and the horse drawn pull on the way back - the run down the hidden valley was only average.
Overall, I would stay at the Hotel Continental again but probably wouldn’t go back to Selva as it is too quiet, but I would certainly go back to the Sella Ronda area.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Bill912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ho soggiornato al terzo piano e non si sentiva alcun rumore né dall'esterno né da piani inferior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARIO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#45 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#23 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
#16 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Strada Dantercepies 40, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#23 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#26 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#29 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £130 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2007, especially with new rooms and cosy junior suites with great views over Selva and the beautiful Dolomites. Ideal position for winter as well as summer holiday. Ski in + ski out on the Sellaronda in winter, in summer starting point of many wander walks in the natural park Puez - Odle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing