We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay in Selva”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Selva”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Continental for 7 nights as part of a 2 Centre holday with a British Package Holiday. The Hotel is located in the meadows above Selva, where in winter the nursery ski slopes are located. It is located right next to one of the Mountain Gondalas so gives you direct access to the mountains for walks or skiing. However the hotel is a stiff 10-15 minute walk uphill from the village centre, only with a hourly local bus service during the day only.

We stayed on a Half Board basis, which consisted of a varied Continental Buffet breakfast and a 5 course dinner, which usually had 3 alternative choices of starter, main and dessert. The food was of a very high standard and served by attentive restaurant staff in traditional dress.

Our room was on the rear elevation, and was furnished and decorated to a high standard, with a shared balcony. All parts of the hotel were decorated to the same high standards. The hotel has a wellness spa in the basement, but we did not use this facility during our stay.

The hotel was very popular with a cross of nationalities and wide range of ages, with several groups of couples with children. It is a family owned hotel, with attentive owners and staff, but lacked some friendliness and character, with service on a more formal basis. Fully meets it's 4 star rating.

On the down side, the bar area is very formal and lacks character - with very few people using it. The hotel also lacks any sun terrace, apart from a few sunloungers and benches in a small patch of grass surrounding the building

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This was one of the best and friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in!! Lovely, friendly and efficient staff, courteous yet informal manners and very attentive. The Linder family are very special hosts who look after their clients and quests well!!

Our room, at the back of the hotel, had great views of the Vallunga valley (from the balcony), which offers a fine, easy walk for everyone, and the Dantercerpies gondola which allows easy access to higher level walking.... great to nip up there at the end of a day out!!! Our room was spacious, comfortable with a great bathroom with shower (no bath.... no matter!) and bidet. Clean and modern.

Hotel meals were excellent (try the local wine... great) and the packed lunch we had as part of our Inghams deal was enough to get use through the day. Drinks were reasonably priced.

The reception staff were helpful and genuinely interested in caring for their guests. Who could ask for more?

The only downside to the Continental is the 10 minute steep uphill walk from Selva centre, but after a week of it we were all a lot fitter and had actually begun to master the local bus timetable (infrequent but fairly reliable). I would recommend the Gardena pass.... at 64 Euros the unlimited access it give to all lifts and buses up and down the Gardena valley, not to mention the little summer buses that pass by the Continental, which makes life a little easier, is well worth it!!! Use the Tourist Info office... good friendly and reliable advice!!

Selva is a great place.... spectacular and special. The Hotel Continental is one of the elements that made our stay highly memorable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Continental for the last 10 years. This four star luxury hotel is located just up the hill from the main village of Selva, with wonderful views of the valley and mountains. From the moment of your arrival, the Linder family and their staff will attend to your needs.. anything to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms, which were renovated just last year, are spacious and comfortable, with great attention to detail. After a long day of skiing, there is nothing better than a down comforter.

If you are not a skier, there are plenty of things to keep you busy... from exploring the village of Selva, to wonderful long walks.. the Valunga (a valley a short distance from the Hotel) is truly breathtaking.

The food at the hotel is super.. starting with breakfast. There is an amazing selection of breads, cereals, cakes, yogurts, eggs, meats, cheeses... etc.. all fresh and delicious. It's a great way to prepare for the day of skiing or mountain walking. The evening meal is well thought out. The five courses start with a fabulous salad bar with a large assortment of fresh veggies, pastas, greens, and special grilled veggies. A variety of salad dressings and bread are available. The main dinner offers an ideal mix of cuisine from Italy, Germany, and Austria. You can start with a pasta in a spicy tomato sauce, follow with a cup of consomme with little dumplings, then a turkey cutlet, and finish the meal with apple strudel or another tasty desert. Each evening offers something different and delicious. One evening there is a dessert buffet and everyone eats especially fast that night to be the first at the buffet!

The once weekly evening of live music is not to be missed. Everyone from little children to grandparents can sing along and dance to a mix of traditional local folk music, Italian pop, German folk, and some American rock and roll... wonderful fun.

The wellness center is the perfect place to relax before dinner. With a choice of different saunas, steam room, heated bench, and more, you can warm up and sooth tired muscles at the same time... all in a large space that looks like ancient Rome.. beautiful.

The friendly atmosphere and attentive staff make everyone feel instantly welcome, and there are many guests (like us) who are repeat visitors.. and it makes a very entertaining international group.

Most of my visits have been in the winter, but I was fortunate enough to visit one summer, and the cool mountain air combined with the blue skies and beautiful green meadows against the mountain backdrop was super. With extensive walking trails and long daylight hours summer is a lovely time to visit here.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahBigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2009

For the sixth wonderful year, my husband and I joined our family in Selva in the glorious Italian Dolomites for our annual January skiing holiday at the charming and luxuriously appointed four-star Hotel Continental . Family Linder`s hospitality there is always first class, but this year we felt it was outstandingly good.

In particular, the chefs and the waitresses rose brilliantly to the challenge of meeting our requirements for two gluten-free diets and one yeast-free diet. (No easy task!) This made our holiday stress-free and every meal was a delightful and eagerly anticipated experience. The food was terrific! The charming head waitress and her team made us feel very welcome and every request was attended to promptly and efficiently. Amazingly, the hotel also thoughtfully provided delicious gluten-free bread, pasta and muesli. The coeliacs in the group were ecstatic, especially when the skiing appetites kicked in!

We would also like to praise our chambermaid, not only for keeping our wonderful room with its unbeatable view over Val Gardena `spick and span` (exceptionally clean!), but also for her unflagging cheerfulness, which got every day off to a great start.

The hotel spa was a haven at the end of the skiing day for those who needed to unwind tired muscles in the saunas and steam rooms. The hotel, a large traditional Tyrolean chalet right on the edge of the ski slopes, was also very relaxing for the non-skiing member of the group and Selva itself offers plenty of quality shopping: from Tyrolean woodcarving studios to gorgeous Italian lingerie boutiques.

There are plenty of activities for the non-skier. The ice sculptures near the church are always worth visiting and stunning scenery and wonderful walks are right on the doorstep. The nearby Vallunga valley walk was described by another guest as one of the most beautiful places he had ever seen on earth! (It doesn`t get much better than that!)

I need only add that Hotel Continental is very family friendly in the best possible way, where children are welcomed and catered for without their presence dominating the scene.

We`ll be back again next year, so if you`re booking a holiday there - and we thoroughly recommend Hotel Continental - make sure you leave our rooms free for the middle two weeks in January! Cheers!

  • Liked — the excellent hospitality
  • Disliked — not relevant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamWallace84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
229 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from a ski holiday in the Val Gardena region and stayed at this exceptional hotel which I booked as part of a package with Inghams. The hotel is located out of the Selva Wolkenstein village centre adjacent to the Dantercepies cable car and is perfectly situated for the whole ski area. Our room was lovely, amply proportioned and had clearly been refurbished to a very high standard. The hotel restaurant is pleasantly informal with the most delicious food being served: a 5 course dinner in the evening with plenty of variety and a comprehensive buffet breakfast. The waiting staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. Taken as a whole the hotel is extremely well managed and is a real credit to the family that own it. I can't wait to return to The Continental and all that fantastic food!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thehippohaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed in a Panorama Junior Suite, and it was large, quiet (very important for me, because I´m light sleeper),clean and with fantastic views. Breakfast and dinner were good (but drinks aren´t included with dinner).
No doubt, I would come back.

  • Liked — Good views, spacious, clean and quiet room
  • Disliked — Drink´s not included with dinner
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TGS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Booked as package with Ingham's UK. 1 hour transfer from Bolzano airport. Top class 4* accommodation with ski in and out capability but a 10min walk up hill from the village centre. Recently refurbished bedrooms with all the expected facilities in the en-suites. Nicely appointed public rooms with lots of space. Food excellent with plenty of choice and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend this for winter and summer.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Phill_Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#39 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#36 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oswald
Hotel Oswald
#31 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alaska
Hotel Alaska
#60 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Strada Dantercepies 40, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#20 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#27 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#31 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#33 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2007, especially with new rooms and cosy junior suites with great views over Selva and the beautiful Dolomites. Ideal position for winter as well as summer holiday. Ski in + ski out on the Sellaronda in winter, in summer starting point of many wander walks in the natural park Puez - Odle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing