We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Oswald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Oswald for four nights as part of an independent motoring holiday shared with a stay at Riva. We have been to Selva before - about 11 years ago but stayed at a different hotel.
We booked an upgraded room which was spacious but slightly dated in decor. It was at the front and we found we couldn't have the window open at night because of traffic noise. Without airconditioning the room got rather warm and we didn't sleep particularly well. I am sure rooms at the back would be better although on that side of the hotel there is a largish stream so noise might be an issue there. However, to sit on the balcony and see the world going by on the high street was a bonus.
As other reviewers have said, the food was superb. Consequently we had a tendency to over eat (we were on half board) and we started to miss one course. The courses weren't large, just numerous and excellent! The hotel had an large wine list although probably €20 was the bottom end in the price range. The dining room in decor was rather formal and the staff smart and professional. The staff were very amiable behind the formal front.
We found breakfast ok but no hot courses during our four days. Plenty of pastries and the like but no sausages and so on. We didn't miss them.
If you come by car, be prepared to use the covered carpark. It costs €5/day but otherwise the free parking is limited to about half a dozen spaces.

Overall -yes we would go back again although Selva itself is a bit limited unless you are a very energetic walker. We paid €80 per person per night and this seemed good value, particularly in comparison with Riva.

Hot tip: dont buy paracetamol in Selva - €5.90 for 10 from the pharmacy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

Stayed here with friends and teenage children over Feb' half term week. Large bedrooms, well equipped. Dinner taken in large high ceilinged dining room which was brightly lit and rather grand - dinner food was of a high standard. Breakfast was taken in a room off the main bar/lounge area - continental supplemented with scrambled eggs and rubber sausages, so whilst everything was of good quality it all got a bit samey after a while. Bar/lounge was ok but lacked a few comfy chairs to collapse in.
Overall the hotel is of a high standard, very comfy but lacking a cozy feel if that's important to you.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandgrownun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We had dined at the Hotel on a previous visit to Selva and thought it would be a good place to stay. We were not disappointed. Our room was vast, big enough to accommodate a family of four, and nicely furnished.
The staff were friendly and particularly helpful with suggestions when ordering wine! The dining area is quite special with wonderful chandeliers and the food was superb. The breakfast room and the buffet breakfast also could not be faulted.
The nearest lift is walkable but you do have the option of the courtesy minibus and you can ski more or less back to the hotel if the snow conditions are good. (Note: the hotel minbus does not pick you up for a return journey from the slopes.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We have just returned from a week's skiing in Selva and the Hotel Oswald really contributed to making it a fantastic week.

It's beautifully decorated inside in quite a traditional style and the rooms are spotless and well looked after. I think it has been renovated in recent years. Our room had a shower rather than a bath but there is a very nice wellness area where you can go to rest your tired legs in the jacuzzi or sauna. They also have resident masseurs - I had an excellent massage one evening and the staff were very professional.

However, the main thing to say about this hotel is the quality of the food - it is much better than you would expect from a skiing type if holiday. Dinner is quite a formal 4 course affair which includes a pasta course each evening. The service and presentation both involved real attention to detail and they also really took the trouble to look after my brother who has coeliac disease. One evening they had a beautiful dessert buffet - we had the best tiramisu I've ever had. They even gave us a free bottle of prosecco on my Mum's birthday.

Overall, I was very impressed and cannot really think of a bad thing to say about this hotel.

The food is exce

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chestnutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Really enjoyed our weeks walking holiday in July, the hotel is enrolled in the selva active program which means guided walks, mountain bike tours and yoga classes were all free and were very good. Our room was beautiful - comfortable king size bed, full settee and large flat screen TV. The double basin in the bathroom was a welcome bonus too. The evening meals here were lovely with a wide selection of 4/5 courses every night. The staff were also really friendly and their english was good.
The hotel is well placed in the centre of town and 5 minute (uphill) walk to the main champinoi lift. Would definately come back again
My one niggle was the breakfasts, although adequate the quality really didn't match the evening meal

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emskilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I didn't stay at this hotel by seven of my holiday companions did, and I joined them for the 4 course dinner each evening (which they got as part of their half board arrangement).

When you think of half board, you tend to think of uninspiring food but the choice here is very good and changes every day. I would thoroughly recommend it. The serving staff are also very good - and fun.

If you're staying at the hotel, I suggest you get a room at the back as it's noisy mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Hotel Oswald is a good hotel with nice decor and location. Rooms are spasious and very clean. The food in the restaurant is delicious, so HalfBoard is a good choise. Oswald is offering all that you expect from one good SKI trip, and even more. One remark: we felt like we were missing a swiming pool....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswald

Address: Str. Meisules 140, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#15 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#35 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £153 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oswald 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Oswald is the perfect place for an unforgettable holiday in Val Gardena! It’s situated in the centre of Selva at 1536 m altitude, surrounded by the Dolomites, which have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oswald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oswald Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing