We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and superb staff!”
Review of Hotel Oswald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We returned for a second visit to the Oswald for a skiiing week with friends, booked through a ski company. Once again we had a great stay here. The hotel is well positioned in the town of Selva with bus stops right outside on both sides of the road. There is a hotel shuttle bus to take you to two of the local lifts. You can ski to within a very short walk of the hotel too.
The boot room has been renovated since last winter. Now it has wonderful warming pegs for your ski boots, numbered for your room. What bliss that the boots then slip on so easily! Also racks for holding 2 pairs of skis plus poles - so much easier to find them in the morning.
The rooms are big, comfortable and quiet. Bath robes & slippers provided and are excellent for using the spa facilities. European style spa - i.e. no cozzies in sauna but OK for jacuzzi!
The food is very good - a great breakfast selection and a 4 course evening meal, portions just right (not too big!) plus salad buffet bar.
As everyone else has said the staff are the jewels in the crown of The Oswald from the owner right down to the chambermaids. Everyone so helpful, friendly and welcoming. Difficult to pick out anyone but Timio in the bar remembered us from last year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed one week , as part of a 3 week ski adventure in Italy/Austria. Found the hotel by accident , but a very happy accident. Good sized rooms , very well appointed and meticulously cleaned. Food at breakfast & dinner was high quality with plenty of choice. However , the highlight for us was the care & attention of ALL staff. We were recognised and greeted on all occasions & any assistance we required was given graciously. My wife & I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary during our stay. The hotel put on a lovely dinner for us , which was not expected but really appreciated. Perfect location within the town of Selva, with only a short shuttle trip to the ski lifts. It would be very hard to stay anywhere else when we return to Selva.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hotel Oswald is very well located to provide gate to the Sella Ronda skiing experience, has very nice, typical italian and rather spacious rooms, very friendly staff from reception, thru restaurant, bar and driver which takes you to the nearest ski-lift. Food was great, plenty of it, good choice, nothing to complaint about, it had that special Italian feeling which is difficult to re-create elsewhere. The wellness is fine though not too special. could not find a fault, enjoyed it thoroughly.

Room Tip: Any on the first floor, no issues with rooms whatsoever. 220 has shower and bathtub, plus separate W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paoloanachronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Oswald with a large group of friends/colleagues. The hotel was the best ski hotel I have stayed in, big rooms, very clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff and the food was outstanding!
I would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you to Elisabeth, Tatjana, Timeo, Vincenzo, Pia, Ricardo and the whole team! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndWend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Oswald. Very, very friendly and helpful staff, great meals and comfortable rooms (if a bit too hot.) They even got the wifi fixed when it went down on a Saturday. They helped us find a ski school for our kids and get our rental gear, and they have their own shuttle to take you to the nearby lifts. You can "almost" ski back from the slopes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlG495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We really enjoyed our weeks stay, the hotel is kept to a good standard, the food was delicious with plenty of choice, our room and the public areas were cleaned to a high standard, the staff were all friendly and made us very welcome, we had the convenience of bus stops right outside the hotel, we hope to visit Hotel oswald again in the future.

Room Tip: To have the sun on the balcony, choose a west facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Many thanks for Your kind review, we really appreciated! Hoping to see You again, in the mean time we wish You all the best for the future!

Your Hotel Oswald****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Oswald for 7 nights on a recent walking holiday,the room was spacious,bright and immaculate with the balconey overlooking the main squre.
The staff were really friendly and helpful on all occasions,the food was great,the packed lunch proving useful whist walking.
Lastly Maria Pia and Vincenzo always made us feel valued guests rather than a source of income.highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehh-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloswald, Manager at Hotel Oswald, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

A special thank You for Your nice review! Wish You all the best and see You again in the next summer!Your Hotel Oswald****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#6 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#35 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oswald

Address: Str. Meisules 140, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#13 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#35 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £154 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oswald 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Oswald is the perfect place for an unforgettable holiday in Val Gardena! It’s situated in the centre of Selva at 1536 m altitude, surrounded by the Dolomites, which have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oswald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oswald Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing