We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in stunning setting.”
Review of Hotel Pralong

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selva di Val Gardena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pralong
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in stunning setting.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have recently returned from our 2 week summer holiday hiking in Selva and staying at the Hotel Pralong. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and the levels of service exceptional. The hotel excelled in the dining room with faultless levels of service and very good evening meals, you will not go hungry here! The meal starts with a very generous salad bar followed by a pre starter, a starter, a main course and pudding. We also appreciated the buffet breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day. The hotel has been owned by the same family since it was built in 1970 and consequently they have lots of knowledge about the area. Our room had a balcony from which we had great views. There is noise from the road below but the location of the hotel makes up for this as it is only a short walk to the nearest bus stops and the centre of Selva. Our room was a little small and could do with an update but it had everything in it you need including a safe (for a nominal charge). Everything was kept spotlessly clean and the towels were changed every day. I would recommend this hotel as a good base for a hiking holiday in a stunning part of the world.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. On the plus side it had the sun on it at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    25
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just come back from a holiday in Selva, Val Gardena, staying at the Hotel Pralong.

We had stayed there 8 years before and wanted to return to the same venue because it was so good last time. If anything the experience was better, which would have been hard to do. Everything about the stay was exceptional. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were good and the views from the balcony were breathtaking.

The Denicolo family are delightful and the staff, particularly in the Dining room were very attentive and helpful. The food and wine list were exceptional.

Christian is a mine of information on walking and climbing, always giving time to discuss and advise on what would be a good day out in the mountains. Even to the point that when I bought the wrong guide book on the last day, he exchanged it with the vendor and sent the correct copy by post.

We have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Pralong, it's a piece of heaven. 3 stars doesn't do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at the Pralong for the last week of the ski season in April.
Terrific family -run, non smoking hotel. Friendly and helpful owners and staff. Outstanding service. Super meals. Comfortable bar / lounge. Rooms of a very good standard. Good ski / boot room.
Hotel is well positioned to access the slopes going in all directions.
Would I return? You bet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shincliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My son and I have recently returned from our stay at this hotel. We found the owners to be most friendly, and the service exceptional. The room we had was very clean; towels changed each morning. Though we were not skiing, but snowshoeing, for the first time, Christian, a family member, assisted us to plan our walking routes. Over the course of the week, we had walked 51 miles, in breath taking scenery. The food was excellent, with a good selection available, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have no reservations whatsoever in recommending this hotel. The service is excellent without being obtrusive and all the staff are welcoming and friendly,making us feel at home right from the start of our holiday. The hotel is beautifully furnished, successfully combining traditional features with comtemporary furnishings without being ostentatious, and was scrupulously clean throughout. The location is good if you are an adequate skier - beginners would find it difficult, but not impossible, to ski back to the hotel. We enjoyed a fabulous holiday and appreciated all the advice offered by Christain, the manager, about the skiing in the area. We will undoubtedly return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The welcome was very friendly and relaxed, and this experience continued throughout our stay. Everyone working here seems happy and very proud of the quality of the service they deliver.

The rooms are modern and were spotlessly clean each time we returned from the slopes. The rooms with a balcony are bigger, have a desk, and have a view over to Selva and the Ski slopes and would be my recommendation, but the rooms at the rear are still very cozy and of the same standard.

The lounge is well laid out with a well stocked bar and a comfortable place to relax. The free internet access is available throughout and has good connectivity.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented, even our teenage children were trying out new things and loving them. Much of the food and wine is sourced from the region itself and so over the course of the week we got an excellent taster of the local cuisine.

For skiing it has a good location, very slightly out of town, but pretty much opposite the Ciampinoi chair which is directly on the Sella-Ronda. You do have to cross over a road to get to the slopes, but since the hotel is on the east of Selva it is fairly quiet and was never a problem even during the busy time we were staying.

Selva itself is still only a five minute walk away including the main gondola to the top of the Saslong and liveliest apres-ski. We even took the 20 minute bus ride into Ortisei one evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AostaAosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a ski trip where we had a really good time at the hotel. Similar to other reviews we found the family and the whole team were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to talk to. The food was excellent with so many wonderful dishes. The location was close very good as the lift is a very short walk across the road and it was never busy. It was like having our own private lift. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandChrisKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#30 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaritz
Hotel Aaritz
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pralong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pralong

Property: Hotel Pralong
Address: Strada Meisules 341, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#37 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#37 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pralong 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Pralong Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing