We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great.”
Review of Hotel Rodella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rodella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rooms are tight but are clean and ours was quiet. The evening meal was generally pretty good, the breakfast buffet is pretty disappointing - dry muesli, no bircher, nothing warm, very variable coffee quality.

Unless the whole valley is covered in snow you cannot ski-in/out. You certainly couldn't when we were there and waiting for the shuttle bus in the morning sometimes takes 30 minutes if you just miss one. There is one lift about 5 mins drive away where you can park, the rest are in the town.

George is a very friendly manager but was a bit dishonest with us. We specifically requested a twin room with 2 beds and only confirmed our booking when we got e-mail confirmation of this. When we arrived we had one double bed with two quilts. I complained to George and asked for another room. he just said 'No, we don't have any' and didn't even apologise. It was too late for us to move then so we had to live with it.

In my opinion it was not a mistake, it was dishonest.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    37
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
57
81
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel in mid June 2011 and have visited it twice before, each time at about the same time of year. We’ve always found it to be excellent service and very friendly.

The location is ideal for anyone who wants to use the ski lifts and cable cars to allow easy access to the higher slopes of the surrounding mountains, for longer walks and to enjoy the view without necessarily exerting themselves by walking all the way to the top of the lift stations. We’d recommend the Gardena cards if you are staying for the week, which give unlimited use of both the lifts/gondolas and the local buses to allow you to move between different villages and towns in the valley. It’s worth checking before you book as to when the lifts open – it’s mid June but obviously arriving a week too early will restrict those available to you.

As noted by some of the other reviewers, if you choose an operator who uses Verona, the transfer from Verona airport is fairly long – between 2 and 3.5 hours depending on the traffic, so be prepared for that after you’ve done the flight.

Selva itself is a fairly small town but there are a couple of supermarkets which are big enough to allow you to buy provisions for the day if you are intending to do all day walks. The hotel itself is about a 10-15 minute walk away from the main town, but if you are a walker then this is unlikely to present any difficulties for you.

The Hotel Rodella has always provided great service, with helpful friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms and excellent meals – a wide range breakfast options to get you started for a days walking and an equally substantial quality three course dinner in the evening, once you’ve been out all day.

There’s also a sun terrace with loungers and an awesome view of the mountains for sunny days, and a health spa (Wellness Centre) in the basement of the hotel. This is open in the late afternoon, through to the early evening and includes a hot tub and three saunas (at different temperatures), which you can use to ease your aching muscles at the end of a days walking.

For context, we were an extended family party ranging in age from about a year, through mid forties and up to late seventies.

Overall thoroughly recommended and we expect to be going back there next year.

Room Tip: Buy a Gardena Card if you intend to use the lifts/Gondolas and buses most days of the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edandsarahengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N E Lincs
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here with friends, having booked the hotel through Inghams. If we come back to Selva we would certainly want to stay again and would consider booking directly with the owners.
Our welcome was great. All the family were very friendly. We would have to single out Andreas as being particularly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and he always had a smile on his face!
The food was excellent. Dinner consisted of four courses and was always perfectly cooked and quite delicious. Vegetarians were well catered for here.
Our room (no 7) was very pleasant. We did have a bath as well as the shower and the view from the balcony was stunning.
If there is a drawback it is that the hotel is 1k out of Selva but hey we're walkers so we shouldn't grumble about that! Transport options right to the hotel didn't always work for us but it was barely a 10 minute walk to the road where a main bus route out of Selva operated.
We had one Italian evening during our two week stay and that was particularly enjoyable with wonderful food and live music.
Overall it was a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

transfer is too long at 2.5 to 3hours from verona and owners will do own transfer from innsbruck for parties of 4 plus.
it is a family run hotel and you are made very welcome by all ,especially george,who has so much info about the region.
the roads are full of hair pins so if you are not a good traveller i would avoid some of the longer day trips ie cortina and 5 towers. we found 1st world war trenches tour was not as good as advertised and lacked detailed info.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremorne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Rodella early in June, 2011, and enjoyed it greatly. Though the establishment had a few trivial minus points for us, overall it represented excellent value and made for a very agreeable week-long stay.

The hotel is on a hill overlooking the townships of Selva to the East and Santa Christina to the West – it is about equidistant from each, but the walk back from Selva to the hotel is the easier as it is not such a steep climb. There are magnificent views of the Dolomites from most parts of the hotel.

The hotel is managed by George Planker, with the assistance of his wife and his mother and father. George and his three children, aged from about 10 down to 6, are all quad-lingual in German, Italian, Ladin (the unique local language of Val Gardena) and English. George’s English wife also speaks at least three languages, and his parents, while having only a little English, also speak three languages fluently. We found it a little unnerving to hear the kids switch instantly from perfect colloquial English into Italian or German. We’d both kill to be able to do the same.

Our room was on the top floor, with a wonderful view over Selva and the mountains beyond. The only drawback with the top floor is that there are 36 steps between the lobby and the room, and no lift – the stairs can be a bit of a challenge when arriving and leaving the place, but no problem whilst there.

The room was comfortably furnished, with a marvellous bed in the European style (two mattresses, two duvets), a sofa, two tub chairs, a desk and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was excellent, with very hot water in the shower and a great volume of it. The towels were all high quality and very large, with a heated towel rail that ensured that they dried between morning and afternoon ablutions (both being necessary for us when on a walking holiday). There were also two chairs and a table on the large veranda, from which your reviewer and his dearly beloved often gazed out across the town below. Everything was spotlessly clean and in perfect working order.

We had half board during our stay – this holiday was the first time that we’d been on half-board all through the 5 weeks we were in Europe, and we were worried about how it might work out. We needn’t have worried about Rodella.

Continental breakfast was very good, though those who prefer hot food could be a little disappointed. However, we found the quality and quantity of what was available to be more than adequate to sustain us through a day of strenuous walking.

Dinner was excellent, with a choice of two starters and two main courses each evening, preceded by a large antipasto buffet and followed by a scrumptious dessert. We were pleasantly surprised that the quality remained high throughout our visit given that the Summer season was not yet underway so the hotel was rather lightly populated with guests.

Regarding Selva and Val Gardena: The area is breathtakingly beautiful, and, despite very poor weather and some heavy rain while we were there, we found the walking to be excellent, well signposted and well documented in local maps that George provided to us. George also seems to know everything there is to know about the local area and gave us some excellent tips on where to walk.

The roads getting into and out of Selva are challenging – we arrived over the Gardena Pass from Corvara in Badia, and it was a hell of a road, made more difficult by the fact that the scenery around it is so gob-smackingly beautiful. Be prepared to handle narrow and winding, plus large items of traffic (tour buses seem to love that stuff).

Selva, despite its being rather diminutive, has about everything a holiday maker could need from a commercial laundry (bliss after three weeks on the road), two decent Spar supermarkets, and bars and cafes enough for anyone. There’s a small store in the middle of town that sells English-language newspapers and magazines, and the Spars also have some newspapers. If you get sick of Selva, Santa Christina is close by (less than 5 minute’s drive) and Ortisei, the largest of the three towns, about 10 minute’s drive. In Santa Christina there’s an excellent Internet café that doesn’t charge the world (Chipware in the main street). If you take a laptop with you, I believe that Rodella provides free wifi connection (we didn’t try it).

When we arrived in the valley, it was the week before the opening of the Summer season, so lots of places, including many of the lifts up the mountains, were closed. It would be wise if you’re going there on the cusp of Summer to check what is open and what is not.

Downsides for us at Rodella: There wasn’t much. The lack of any English-language TV channel worried Ms. Crooksmeister, who is a news addict. The 36 steps was challenging when we arrived, though Andreas, who works at the hotel, was a great help in getting us settled. The walk from Selva back to the hotel was somewhat longer (15 minutes or so) than we were expecting, but that wasn’t really a problem – there’s no great up-hill in it.

Summary: Val Gardena is a place you have to see before you die – like Yosemite National Park, and it has about the same magnificence quota. If you’re going to see it, and you want a small, very comfortable place in which to stay while you do it, you can’t go far past Hotel Rodella.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room - the difference is marked
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crooksmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The owners added so much to the enjoyment to the holiday, nothing was too much trouble. The scenery was fantastic. We will be going back to the hotel and doing many more of the huge choice of walks.

Room Tip: Room 7 giving views of valley, town and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

we stayed here whilst skiing, booked through Inghams. although the location not great for the main lifts they run a shuttle so its really not a problem, except it gets full up at peak times ! the rooms are comfortable, although no baths, which is annoying when you fancy a soak after skiing. However, the food is truly memorable. Lovely anti pasto buffet every night, which changes, and excellent menu too which choices. Great service, we left a ring in the safe, which was safely sent back to us. They really can't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerladylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
Kristiania Small Dolomites Hotel
#42 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#45 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaconi
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaco...
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#34 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodella

Property: Hotel Rodella
Address: Stradella la Poza 75, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#26 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#29 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rodella 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel in perfect position - panoramic and very close to ski slopes and lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rodella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rodella Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing