We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family run hotel.”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family run hotel.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were nine for one week at the end of January. and we cannot complain about anything we had a great time, we would stay there again.
We were nine for one week at the end of January and cannot complain about anything we had a great time, we would stay there again. Good hotel, good location, good food, you cannot complain about anything. It was as if you were at home all the staff were extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is a great man goes skiing outside the hotel. Facilities for storing skis and shoes and is very good. It takes about 5 min to walk to the city center and two minutes to the grocery if you need something. The entire hotel is nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engimyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    48
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was the second year that I have taken a group of skiers to Selva and stayed at the Serena. Mario and Assunta made us feel like we had returned home. They are special hosts who made every effort to make us feel at home. There's only one Valentino, there's only one Valentino..... and as head chef he provided plenty of choice and food to make us more than satisfied. It's the small things that make a difference and Mario and Assunta are such friendly and generous hosts that make this such a special place to stay. Without question, we recommend the Serena.

Room Tip: Room 107 or 102 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We booked the Serena due to it being ski in and ski out in Selva. The hotel itself is very clean and the views from our room were breath taking. The mangers were very welcoming and friendly. The room is very nice and the shower is very good

There are 2 things that disappointed us - the food was average and the selection not very inspiring and most of the meals seemed to be over salted.
The bar was a bit of a male domain with sports blaring out on the big screen and groups of men taking over the bar later in the evening.

We used the wellness centre and this was very good and so refreshing after a full days skiing.

So many plus points like the cleanliness and views but a bit spoilt by the food and bar area

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mparry1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was our fourth time to Selva and our third stay at Hotel Serena. As always we were warmly welcomed back by Mario, Assunta and their family for our ski holiday. The hotel is perfectly situated right next to the slopes and only a short walk to town. This was our first holiday over new year and we weren't disappointed. Served with a filling and tasty seven course meal on new years eve followed by Mario's amazing firework display. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly be returning, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms and very clean. We kept the patio door/window slightly open to let the fresh mountain air in the room.
Five minutes short walk to town, away from noisy traffic, located in a quiet location next to the nursery slope.
There are limited number of blue runs at the base, many more higher up in the mountains, may involve red slopes getting back to base. Great red runs. The one down from Ciampinoi to Selva has moguls and is quite steep at sections. We also did the black Sasslong run from Ciampinoi and the red "James Bond" from Seceda.
Sellaronda can be access from hotel via the nearby Dantercepies gondola. We did the orange clockwise direction Sellaronda on two occasions. Completed the first circuit within 4 hours. On the second time, we started early, took a diversion to Arabba/Marmolada area via a gondola towards Porta Vescovo, alighted at the halfway stop before Vescovo, followed signs towards Marmolada, skied down to Malga Ciapela and took three stages cable car to Punta Rocca (3200m), which offered great views of mountain tops from viewing platform. Highly recommended diversion.
Back to the hotel. Mario and Assunta are great host, very attentive to their guest.
We had a great time in Selva and the Dolomites.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Serena for a Crystal skiing holiday in March 2012. We were delighted with our choice. The owners are charming and determined to please. The food was excellent, as was the service, and our room. We would certainly book again if returning to Selva, and would recommend it to others. During our stay the owner received Crystal's "Best hotel in Selva" award - quite deservedly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the nursery slopes enjoy the best view but not so much sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Friendly family run hotel adjacent to the nursery slope. It is possible to ski from and back to the hotel. Assunta and daughter, Yolanda made us very welcome and looked after us with charm and attentive hospitality. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts and evening meals were a little repetitive, but the food was of good quality. Family friendly and very welcoming of children. Not good for apres Ski and late nights as the hotel doors are locked at 11pm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSerenaSelva, Proprietario at Hotel Serena, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear UKRaj,

First of all we than you from the bottom of our heart for finding time to write a review about our Hotel Serena on Tripadvisor.

We thank you very much for your nice words which give us a great satisfaction.

In reference to the "repetitive" food, we offer every day to our guests a buffet breakfast with home made sweets, scrumbled eggs and all sorts of goodies. We understand that the breakfast buffet is every day the same, but we are trying to satisfy all guests which come from various nationalities and have different ways of having breakfast. You see, all that we want is to make our guests happy. That's why we ask you, to give us yout suggestions or requests, during your next stay, and we will try to make you happy.

Please say hello to the whole party from our staff and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#36 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Freina
Hotel Freina
#21 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Property: Hotel Serena
Address: Strada Puez 22, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#28 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#38 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Serena Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing