We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another top class week at the Hotel Serena”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another top class week at the Hotel Serena”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just got back from another superb week at the Hotel Serena (our 3rd stay). As always we were made to feel very special with a lovely warm welcome by Assunta and Mario. A very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel with first class food and service. The variety and quality of the food is exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are extremely friendly, making us feel instantly at home. The hotel is right on the slopes with lifts on the doorstep. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    48
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic week in Selva, staying in the Hotel Serena. We don't normally bother with reviews, but felt we had to do one, as we enjoyed our stay so much.

The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere as soon as you walk in the door. It is family run and both the owners and staff are very attentive, nothing is to much trouble.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and rooms are modern, although we were on the third and in the attic the room was big enough for all our gear and had a balcony with lovely views.


The location is perfect for skiing as you can ski out and in easily via the nursery slopes at the rear of the hotel. Ask at the hotel reception and they will let you know how to get to the nursery slopes when skiing in from the other side of the resort.

The food was excellent, plentiful and of a standard worthy of an extra star. Our only criticism is the rigid 7.00 to 7.30 slot for dinner, however this did not dampen our enjoyment of the stay. Dinner consisted of four courses a very special salad buffet, starter, main and outstanding dessert.

Our other small criticism would be the booking system for drinks ordered from the bar. This would be better served if you had to sign for your drinks as you ordered them.

We would also like to say we met some fantastic people in the hotel, which made a great week even better.

Finally we would recommend this hotel, without hesitation, to anyone who is thinking of a trip to Selva in the near future.

Thankyou Mario, family and staff for a great week.

Russell and Suzanne

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Assunta and Mario welcomed us back from the moment we arrived at the hotel. They, and their staff, again ensured we had a lovely stay and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable in every way. The hotel itself is outstanding with impeccable service and they cannot do enough to make sure you are enjoying your holiday. Selva itself is an excellent ski destination. We are intermediate skiiers and enjoy the variety of runs available. No matter how far you ski there are always more runs, and ski lifts as far as the eye can see. At the end of the day to be able to ski right back to the hotel is a big bonus. This was our fourth time staying at Hotel Serena and we will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This is a charming, quaint family run establishment with meticulous attention to the satisfaction of its guests.

Mario and the team always make you feel very welcome and go that extra mile to ensure that you're happy.

The hotel is well equipped with fabulous spa facilities and heated boot rack ensuring no damp boots for following day.

The meal on an evening has a slightly closed window in terms of seating times (7 till 7:30) but this is to ensure that the extravaganza of the presentation of the food is enjoyed by all.

The food is a taste sensation and is wholesome. Not petite portions and four courses....

The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

The only thing I'd change is baring any children under 14 years of age from the spa. Can't relax with screaming kids sadly and the don't take notice of the "science please" signs....

Other than that, faultless!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Honestjohnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

An excellent time was had at the Serena. It is an intimate family run hotel which is really comfortable and welcoming to all.
Food is excellent with plenty to eat all the time to never be hungry.
The owner was up at 6am to ensure we had a light breakfast on our departure
Evening meal sittings are a little rigid, between 7 and 7:30 is best, but having said that we enjoyed it as everyone has just about finished mains at the same time to enjoy the spectacle of sweets being served. You also have the same table for your stay so strike up conversation with your neighbouring table. It works well.
Good ski locker with boot warmers and on slope access
We will definitely be back

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CMLDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Serena is an extremely friendly family run hotel. The staff, led by Mario and Assunta, could not have been more friendly and helpful. For a three star hotel the food was excellent, with a good variety provided every night; the buffet (both hot & cold) in particular was of a much higher standard than you could reasonably expect in a hotel of this class. My gluten free diet was well catered for, with Mario in particular checking that I was OK, and getting special options prepared for me. Congratulations to chef Valentino and his team for a great job.

All of the rooms have a view towards the mountains on one side or the other. Ours (326) looked across the town to the mountains opposite - from choice I would select a view looking to the other side, but either is fine. Our double room was a reasonable size, with enough storage for a skiing holiday. It was comfortable and warm enough, without being too hot. It also had a good size balcony.

The ski locker & boot room downstairs was excellent, with heated boot racks to dry out your boots and ensure that they were nice and warm to put on in the morning.

This is a hotel that we would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarf_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was too small for three adults but more a fault with our holiday operator rather then the hotel itself. Our welcome was huge, our flight was delayed yet they saved our evening meal for us. Food was excellent, room warm, perfect location. Great. I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Linder
Hotel Linder
#36 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#32 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Freina
Hotel Freina
#21 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Property: Hotel Serena
Address: Strada Puez 22, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#22 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#28 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#38 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Serena Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing