We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tyrol
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mignon(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chalet Gerard(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bellevue(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Pralong(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plazola(Selva di Val Gardena)
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
257
21
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
21
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine sommelierbooked through crystal skiwarm swimming poolfelt like homeevery nightperfect familywe stayed half boardfavorite hotelspa areasella rondapoma liftbeautiful townlovely hotelwarm hospitalitycleaning staffjust returned from a weeknothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

There appear to be many fine hotels in Selva but the Hotel Tyrol must be among the best. The Tyrol has the advantage of not being on the busy main road which runs through Selva. Situated in a quiet road, a short but steep walk from the centre, the hotel does not suffer from traffic noise. We parked our car in the garage beneath the hotel and did not move it until we left!

We were we made wonderfully welcome and all the hotel staff did everything they could to make our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Our spotless room, on the shady side of the hotel, could not be faulted. Not only did the room have a huge and comfortable bed but there was also a lounge area and plenty of storage space. An ante-room led to the well-equipped and spacious bathroom with, among other things, bath, walk-in shower and bidet.

After a hard days walking we made good use of the almost-too-warm swimming pool and whirlpool.

We were extremely impressed by the food. Not only was an extensive buffet breakfast available but we were also offered a hot breakfast, cooked to order. The evening meals were no less impressive. Twice during our stay the meal was preceded by drinks and canapés. Most days we were asked to choose our evening meal at breakfast. With the salad bar and often five courses, the evening meals were invariably perfectly cooked, served and presented. Eating too much was a real problem!

Val Gardena offers a pass for use on the cable cars, funiculars, chairlifts and buses. Sold at the tourist office, our initial reaction was that €76 was expensive for 6 days. However, the bus pass is valid for 7 days and covers the whole of the Alto Adige region. Trips to Bolzano and Bressanone are possible. We did not regret buying the pass. We discovered that alighting from the bus at Ciampinoi Gondola lift instead of the village centre, gave us a short, level walk to the hotel. Skiers would no doubt appreciate that the Nives drag-lift, giving access to the whole system, is about 50 yards from the hotel.

We plan to return.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scarecrow04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We moved to Italy in January 2011 and we are still learning our new surroundings. This trip to the Alps was a first ski trip for my wife and kids so it was important to me (an avid skier) that it went well. A friend from Maserati recommended Val Gardena and we found the Hotel Tyrol highly recommended by others on Trip Advisor. We agree. Book now and enjoy your trip. One note - nearest lift is a beginner hill with a Poma lift. So the hill itself could use an upgrade but hotel, breakfast, dinner and pool were perfect!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

With my girlf friend we spent 5 wonderful nights in Selva di Val Gardena. The destination offers a large range of possibilities for walking and hiking. In addition to that you will find some nice boutiques. However the top of it all was our Hotel Tyrol, wich was perfectly located and very closed to all the facilities in the village. Big and well decorated rooms, good food, nice spa area and fabulous service are to be pointed up. We felt personal attention to us and were delighted.
It's rarely to mention but this 4 stars superior is better than lots of 5 stars hotels

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This is a wonderful skiing hotel. Run by a very caring and welcoming family with Excellent Staff. The location is very convenient for the ski schools, virtually next to the first ski lift to get to the school meeting points. It is a quiet location too, away from the busy main road but close enough to get to shops etc. The hotel is designed in a traditional tyrolian style with nice modern touches, the rooms are very nice, clean, spacious. The food is absolutely excellent and they provide for various allergies/ diets without problems. the spa and swimming pool is amazing, the beauty offers extensive. I had a massage which was the best I ever had in hotels or spas. Really top. My muscle pain disappeared the next day. The hotel is child friendly and the have a small playroom. Nice would be a few books though there is a public library a few steps away which offers a wonderful collection of German and Italian children books. The ski resort is amazing, vaste, snow safe, for people who want to ski rather than après ski.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richmond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We visited the Tyrol for the third time this March travelling with companions we met at the hotel 2 years ago. We were all seasoned skiiers who also love the wonderful spa facilities. This hotel gets better each time. So friendly just like a home from home. All the staff are wonderful. We arrived Sunday evening with the party in full swing and a glass in our hands within minutes being greeted by Guiseppe. We had great rooms in the newer building and later in the week sun on the balcony. If that's what you are hoping for its worth the extra.
Our only gripe is if you hit children's week - we did on our last two days - the children seem to be very noisy and run riot in the dining room till 10pm. It would be better if they had a rule for families to eat at 7pm and those who wished to dine in peace could come at 8pm. If you don't have children with you just check holiday dates in advance.
This year it was a 150th Italian anniversary of unification and we were treated to extra entertainment in the dining room and another evening music in the lounge area.
Great food all round and time for the guests to mix. They have a large number of returning guests which speaks for itself. Yes Freda istill holding court Bless her!
A really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestSussexSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews