We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around and just as good.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Second time around and just as good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our last visit to the Tyrol was in 2010 and we judged it excellent then. We liked it so much (and the area) that we promised ourselves that we'd return. So we did for a week in late July. All that was positive in 2010 remains so in 2014: the welcoming, efficient and friendly staff, the facilities and, of course, the food. The latter is almost better than it was in 2010 and indeed the only criticism is that there's an abundance of it breakfast and dinner. The quality (and quantity) is first class and we happily put on weight (despite the walking) during our stay. The gala buffet/dinner (remarked on elsewhere) is superb and it is quite unnecessary to then have a full dinner afterwards. As with the canapes evening later in the week ther wine flows in abundance. OK, for you're paying for it somewhere along the line but what an extraordinary thing: eat and drink until you can have no more and no extra charge. Oh that hotels in the UK were quite so munificent. Downsides? Well the spa is starting to look a little dated compared to what it now built: it's a bit dark and gloomy but the choice of facilities is excellent. The hotel is, in a very few places, starting to look a little frayed around the edges but that a minor quibble from a satisfied guest. All in all the positives outweigh the odd discordant note. Would we return? Oh yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPicard_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our favourite place in Selva di Valgardena. More than friendly staff, delicious cuisine, comfortable atmosphere, you feel welcome every moment of your staying.
I strongly recommend it, for both summer and winter holidays!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We're staying in this hotel right now. Cannot rate it highly enough. The staff are so friendly and the restaurant have been so amenable to altering dishes for our two small children. Friendly welcome, ultra clean. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Selva is full of beautiful looking hotels in a chocolatebox-pretty town. Wonderful views everywhere so it was difficult making a choice from the Ingham's brochure. We went for the Tyrol because the food was recommended, and we were so pleased we did so.

Our flight to Verona was delayed and we arrived at 1.00am, to be met by a charming member of staff who offered us plates of cold meats, cheeses and drinks. That soothed us nicely. Our room was massive and done out in Tryolean style. There was a load of space (no walking sideways to get to bed or bumping into things) and cupboard, shelf and drawer space galore. The bathroom was equally large so we felt that we could actually live there as opposed to pass through. We had a balcony that looked over to another hotel so it did not have a great view but we used it for reading after a hard days walking.

The room was cleaned and tidied during breakfast and the turned down during dinner. One of the many extras was the linen sheet that placed at the side of the bed so when you ease yourself out of bed in the morning your feet are on linen rather than the carpet.

Breakfast was a super buffet and dinners were first class every night. Don't miss the Gala evenings on Sundays and Wednesdays with an aperitif and extra special buffet. The 5 course menu always had surprises and delights. The Chateaubriand steak with Bearnaise sauce was to die for. I cannot praise the staff too highly.

The location was perfect for us. About 5-7 minutes to the town centre and bus stops, less than 5 minutes to the covered centre where there are concerts and films. Walk out the gate, turn left and immediate left again, a few minutes up hill and you are on a path through a meadow going towards the Vallunga valley. Brilliant!

My only concern about the Tyrol and Selva is that they have spoiled me for everywhere else. Picture post card scenery, clean everywhre, no graffiti, wonderful walks, spectacular hotel and food. Not a corporate place in sight - no KFCs, Macdonalds, Holiday Inns or any of that lot, just family run businesses.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great hotel in a good location next to ski lift. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
The hotel was very clean at all times. Evening meals were excellent, they have obviously an excellent chef. Après ski was a five minute walk away and a little spread out through the resort.
Not the best resort for après ski but was good quality and reasonably priced.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidraccanello, Proprietario at Hotel Tyrol, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Google Translation
…un bel salut,
L’inverno appena passato è stato davvero ricco di tanti affezionati ospiti, un carico di gioia e sorrisi all’Hotel Tyrol di Selva Val Gardena...! Grazie a Tutti Voi!
E’ stato un inverno incredibilmente ricco di neve e sciare è stato davvero meraviglioso…a volte anche la pioggia ci ha fatto compagnia…, abbiamo avuto giornate fredde ed altre tiepide... ora finalmente splende il sole che ci regala suggestioni e colori stupendi verso il Sassolungo e la Vallunga! Grazie splendide Dolomiti, Patrimonio dell’Unesco!
Un grazie di cuore a tutto il nostro Team, a tutti i camerieri, cuochi, cameriere, segretarie, facchini, manutentori, massaggiatori, lavapiatti... TUTTI molto speciali e preziosi per l’eccellenza di ogni giorno…
Grazie a Voi di essere nostri amici, delle bellissime recensioni, della Vostra allegria.
Ci vediamo quindi dal 18 giugno per un’energica apertura della stagione estiva…ora all’Hotel Tyrol di Selva Val Gardena ci riposiamo per un po’, o meglio rimaniamo ben volentieri a Vostra disposizione tra una passeggiata ed un tramonto Dolomitico!
A presto!
Fam. Malloyer – Kasslatter, Bibiana, Maurizio e collaboratori tutti!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Spent a weekend in sunny Selva. Stayed at Villa Anna and had our dinners at Hotel Tyrol. Nice atmosphere, fantastic staff; extra thanks to Alex for exellent wine recommendations and for taking care of us. We will defenitively come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marierose054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here as a base for skiing the Sella Ronda. Lovely hotel, with staff who can't do enough for their guests. Wonderful gastronomic delights each evening, including succulent chateaubriand, desert buffet and hors d'oeuvres buffet. Can't wait to see what we get for Valentines tonight! And it's right next to a lift so virtually ski in and out...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
6.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#2 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.0 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol

Property: Hotel Tyrol
Address: Strada Puez 12, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#6 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tyrol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable and Modern Hotel in Selva di Gardena This splendid hotel in Selva di Gardena is a reflection of the experience and character of the Kaslatter family, which welcomes enthusiastic and satisfied holidaymakers with commendable professionalism and friendliness in summer and winter alike. An elegant and spacious atmosphere, prompt and discreet service, culinary treats, wellness & beauty, and spectacular nature hikes will turn a simple holiday into a unique and unforgettable experience—one that you’ll remember with nostalgia again and again in the years to come. The Tyrol Hotel in Selva di Gardena is the ideal choice for a holiday in the heart of the beautiful Dolomite Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyrol Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing