We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alaska
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Granvara Relais & Spa Hotel(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mignon(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chalet Gerard(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bellevue(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Pralong(Selva di Val Gardena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plazola(Selva di Val Gardena)
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
90
54
20
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
54
20
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnursery slopesgood sizeperfect locationenjoyed fabulouslovely family runningski schoolan upgradesella rondafantastic choicemeeting pointboth directionsboot room hasevery nightfamily run hotelcourse dinnerspa areafamily atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We came back to Selva again this year for a second week on the next to last week of the season, we have stayed close by before and have passed the Alaska on every day over the last ten years of coming here, but this year was the first year that it has appeared in any of the British tour operators brochures.

There are only about three hotels in this resort that have slope access as good as this, it is situated in an ideal location for those coming in a mixed ability group, from beginners to those like ourselves who have skied all over the alps over during the last 25 years.

Below it are a selection of easy beginners slopes, above is a steeper beginners slope which links with the Danterceppes gondola, or you can make the approx 150 yard walk to it instead.

We think that the Danterceppes lift is the best way out into the Sella Ronda, even at this time of year we walked no more than 30 yards off snow, in or out.

On entering the Alaska it is immediately obvious that this is a family run concern, with evidence of children’s toys around reception. We were warmly greeted by the Mussner family, the warmth did not falter over our week there.

Although it is three star rated we stayed one of the refurbished rooms which was traditionally decorated, comfortable and we would reckon to be four stars standard. Not all the rooms have been refurbished, and from the outside it looks like it could do with a lick of paint, but look beyond this, the location is ‘prima’.

We would not describe the food as ‘fancy’, but it was wholesome, plentiful (I’m sure had we asked for more we would not have been refused) and although it does not does not have quite the choice of a four star, we still thought the pasta dishes were as good as any we’ve eaten in four star Hotels.

We had a great week there and would have no qualms about going back., the overall rating given by us is viewing the Alaska as a three star Hotel.

In summary this is a homely 3-4 star Family run Hotel that should have been available to British skiers for years now, during the day, adjacent to one the busiest pistes of the Sella Ronda about 50 yards from the outside bar, at night this a quiet location. If your holiday is simply “all about the skiing”, then this is for you.

If the tour operator involved were to remove this new inclusion from their brochure they need to have their bumps felt!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nathan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Our party of three couples stayed at the Alaska in February 2011 and had a pleasant week. The hotel is in an excellent position for the slopes and ski school although the walk back from town is hard work. The family and staff made us most welcome and the food and wine was of a high standard and varied.
The rooms are a good size although a little dark and too warm. I did not use the sauna so cannot comment on its quality. We all had an enjoyable week and will happily return to the Alaska.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fozzy035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We were 7 families with the kids of different ages from 4 to 19. There are many different things that I'd like to say about the hotel:
1. First of all absolutely home feeling, because of enormous affords of Martha and her family. The owners family is always there: during the morning hours, in the afternoon, at dinner they are eating right next to you. You really feel yourself like a family guest and it's quite unusual. It's little bit more, than just a good service, provided by management.
2. Location. From one side it's one of the best as it's right near the lift, 50m from school and on the hill that provide you excellent view. From another side it's bit far away from the village center and if on the way there you can enjoy easy downhill walk, on the back it's unpleasant icy uphill "movement".
3. Hotel. The rooms are very big, but most of them needs renovation not because of bad condition, rooms and bathrooms are kept very well and clean, but because of "darkness". Furniture, colors are quite dark and the lamps are not so bright, it gives the feeling of "lack of light". There are no hooks in the bathrooms and storage of towels is quite a problem.
I was told that the renovations will be on 2012 and I'm sure that it'll give absolute new look for the hotel.
4. Restaurant. The food was very good, provide a variety of different types of cuisines, wine list is rich. Marcello made all the affords to make our group satisfied and he definitely managed. It was not easy to feed the group of 25, especially when you don't want to spend 2 hours for the dinner, when you are with kids. The only suggestion for the restaurant is to reduce the heat, as temperature at the dinning room was extremely high.
5. SPA. This was the only disappointed thing. The SPA area is not organized at all. Everything is too small for the 4 floors hotel. Sauna is for maximum 4 people at a time, rest area is with only 3 (!) lounge beds and except this, there is absolutely no place to sit. Jacuzzi has nice size, but quite cold water. It occupies the largest room, where space is unused. Only 2 showers, no water to drink, only tea outside the room where clean glasses disappeared within 10 minutes as well as clean towels. I think that SPA area needs a biggest renovation, to use the existing space, but to provide more comfort and more style.

generally we were very happy at the hotel and we'll be glad to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank romantic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Great location, very close to the lifts, spectacular view of the Dolomits right from the room window. Very good for families with children, especially those, who need a ski school. The staff is nice and friendly, and always willing to help. The rooms are spacious.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank anechka020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at hotel Alaska. The owners Frau Mussner and her daughter Martha were very friendly.
The position of this hotel is incredible: you can ski directly from the hotel to the lifts, skischool for the kids. Never use your car!
There were 2 downsides:
- not all rooms have wooden floors
- very hot in the dining room, something that have to be changed in the future

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederique65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews