We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again I have had a fantastic holiday in the Dolomites!”
Review of Hotel Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the second occasion I stayed with the Mussner family and it is always a pleasure to stay in a hotel which is more like being welcomed into an Italian family home. The rooms and facilities in the hotel were brilliant and the chef was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet. The location of the hotel is fantastic as you are literally situated on the slopes which directly link to the ‘sella ronda’; perfect for a mixed ability group of skiers that want to meet for lunch. I would recommend staying at Hotel Alaska!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very friendly family run hotel with large clean rooms in the perfect location for the lifts. You ski down to the ski school meeting place and the Champanoi gondola and across the road from the front door is the Dantechepes gondola and 2 more drag lifts serving another nursery slope. A perfect spot to access the Dolomiti ski area in either direction and especially good for first time skiers or children. The food is excellent extensive wine list, wellness with masssage, free ski guiding, WiFi in the lounge. The only downside I would say is that if you want to go into the town every night this isnt the place for you as the walk back up the hill although not that far is steep and very tiring. We have been twice and would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hotel Alaska is a comfortable family run hotel with large clean rooms excelent food and wine list and a perfect position for both the main lifts out of Selva. At the top of the nursery slope you ski down to the ski school meeting place and Champanoi gondola and across the road are 2 drags that enable you to ski to the Dantecepes gondola or its only a short walk. We have been twice and would be very happy to go again. If you want to be out in the bars every night then this isnt the place for you as its quite a walk up the hill from the town but for everyone else this hotel is a great base for a weeks skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurboRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Alaska from January 14th with a varied group of 2 experienced skiers, 2 experienced snowboarders and a beginner skier.
Alaska is perfectly positioned at the top of the nursery slopes, a great position for the beginner and just as great for the experienced as we could cross the road behind the hotel and go up for serious skiing or ski down through the town to pick up more serious skiing on the other side.
If you want to do the SellaRonda then this is about as good as it gets and you can even get that last apres-ski drink at the top of the mountain behind the hotel and ski back home when the lifts are closed.
The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and well organised. Wine at dinner and bar prices are not a rip-off.
Sure, it's a 3 star so don't expect oodles of space and room service but the food is good, the rooms OK, the facilities what you would expect and everything is just great for a ski week.
Best overall recommendation I can make is that we will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmadduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hotel Alaska offers a great location, fantastic food, clean and beautifully decorated rooms and a warm family welcome. My husband and I stayed for a weeks skiing and will look forward to returning!
The hotel is just across the road from the slopes (5 metres and your on the slopes) on one side and the back of the hotel is just about on the nursery slopes! The ski area is vast and the whole area is worth exploring from the local slopes to the Marmolada glacier, the beautiful Hidden Valley (Passo Falzarego), the Alpe di Siusi area and lots more.
The bedroom was a good size with a 6ft bed, sofa and balcony overlooking the slopes. The en suite had a large bath and shower, double sink, bidet and toilet - plenty of hot water & clean towels. Room and bathroom spotless. The 5 course evening meal was really excellent - salad buffet, homemade soups and rolls,pasta dishes, fish / meat dishes followed by locally made ice cream or glorious pudding! Breakfast was also a very high standard with fruit salad, yogurts , meats, cheeses, rolls, cakes,scrambled egg, boiled eggs etc. The waiting and bar staff were very helpful and efficient.
Lots of extras are offered with a ski and ski boot room with heated boot racks. Guided ski tours can be arranged free of charge, we also had the chance of free tickets for a local ice hockey match kindly organised through the hotel reception. On one evening we had a local folk band playing during our meal which gave a great atmosphere! The Sauna and hot tub are great for relaxing after a days skiing.
The family were always available for advise and help and their welcome was excellent.
We think this hotel is under rated at 3 star and should be 4 star.This place is a skiers paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tregaddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We came back to Selva again this year for a second week on the next to last week of the season, we have stayed close by before and have passed the Alaska on every day over the last ten years of coming here, but this year was the first year that it has appeared in any of the British tour operators brochures.

There are only about three hotels in this resort that have slope access as good as this, it is situated in an ideal location for those coming in a mixed ability group, from beginners to those like ourselves who have skied all over the alps over during the last 25 years.

Below it are a selection of easy beginners slopes, above is a steeper beginners slope which links with the Danterceppes gondola, or you can make the approx 150 yard walk to it instead.

We think that the Danterceppes lift is the best way out into the Sella Ronda, even at this time of year we walked no more than 30 yards off snow, in or out.

On entering the Alaska it is immediately obvious that this is a family run concern, with evidence of children’s toys around reception. We were warmly greeted by the Mussner family, the warmth did not falter over our week there.

Although it is three star rated we stayed one of the refurbished rooms which was traditionally decorated, comfortable and we would reckon to be four stars standard. Not all the rooms have been refurbished, and from the outside it looks like it could do with a lick of paint, but look beyond this, the location is ‘prima’.

We would not describe the food as ‘fancy’, but it was wholesome, plentiful (I’m sure had we asked for more we would not have been refused) and although it does not does not have quite the choice of a four star, we still thought the pasta dishes were as good as any we’ve eaten in four star Hotels.

We had a great week there and would have no qualms about going back., the overall rating given by us is viewing the Alaska as a three star Hotel.

In summary this is a homely 3-4 star Family run Hotel that should have been available to British skiers for years now, during the day, adjacent to one the busiest pistes of the Sella Ronda about 50 yards from the outside bar, at night this a quiet location. If your holiday is simply “all about the skiing”, then this is for you.

If the tour operator involved were to remove this new inclusion from their brochure they need to have their bumps felt!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nathan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Our party of three couples stayed at the Alaska in February 2011 and had a pleasant week. The hotel is in an excellent position for the slopes and ski school although the walk back from town is hard work. The family and staff made us most welcome and the food and wine was of a high standard and varied.
The rooms are a good size although a little dark and too warm. I did not use the sauna so cannot comment on its quality. We all had an enjoyable week and will happily return to the Alaska.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fozzy035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
Savoy Dolomites Luxury Spa Hotel
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rodella
Hotel Rodella
#38 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sochers
Hotel Sochers
#87 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#45 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska

Address: Strada Dantercepies 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £171 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Hotel Selva
Hotel Alaska Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing