We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and the most helpful and friendly staff to make a perfect hiliday”
Review of Hotel Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived very early on new years day from South Africa. Although we knew we could only book in at 14h00, we were offered breakfast, a lift to the ski shop was organized. We were promise that they will try and get our rooms ready as soon as the other guest has left. We were settled in our rooms long before 14h00.
Rooms were beautiful and clean. The hotel was in the most perfect position for all levels of skiers and the food was excellent.
The hotel offered a wonderful family atmosphere and every evening all the guest and especially the younger generation gathered in the sitting room before dinner to listen to music and play board games. One of our guests is gluten and diary intolerant and the baked special bread for her and had special options at dinner.
Martha was very quick to get on the phone and help us with information, taxi's or what else we needed.
it was an unforgettable holiday and will see us return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alaska
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent our winter holidays in hotel Alaska twice and each time it was a pleasant vacation and a relaxing experience. The owners are very friendly and the staff is more than willing to help.
The hotel is situated in a perfect position for skiers. It is on the Sella Ronda circle and is a great starting point for both the green and the orange circle of Sella Ronda. The Dantercepies gondola is a short walk (cca 3 minutes) away from the hotel. If you prefer not to walk, there is a nursery ski-lift a few metres from the entrance to the hotel, which you can use to get up the hill and then simply ski down to the gondola. Behind the hotel there are a few nursery slopes and a ski-school.
The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are big and comfortable. The only downside is that they are a bit dark and could use some additional lamps, but the view from the rooms is fantastic no matter is your room oriented north or south. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it (a five course dinner makes you skip lunch because you don’t want to miss anything that’s on the menu :) ) and the prices of wine are reasonable.
The friendly atmosphere of this hotel makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the second occasion I stayed with the Mussner family and it is always a pleasure to stay in a hotel which is more like being welcomed into an Italian family home. The rooms and facilities in the hotel were brilliant and the chef was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet. The location of the hotel is fantastic as you are literally situated on the slopes which directly link to the ‘sella ronda’; perfect for a mixed ability group of skiers that want to meet for lunch. I would recommend staying at Hotel Alaska!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very friendly family run hotel with large clean rooms in the perfect location for the lifts. You ski down to the ski school meeting place and the Champanoi gondola and across the road from the front door is the Dantechepes gondola and 2 more drag lifts serving another nursery slope. A perfect spot to access the Dolomiti ski area in either direction and especially good for first time skiers or children. The food is excellent extensive wine list, wellness with masssage, free ski guiding, WiFi in the lounge. The only downside I would say is that if you want to go into the town every night this isnt the place for you as the walk back up the hill although not that far is steep and very tiring. We have been twice and would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hotel Alaska is a comfortable family run hotel with large clean rooms excelent food and wine list and a perfect position for both the main lifts out of Selva. At the top of the nursery slope you ski down to the ski school meeting place and Champanoi gondola and across the road are 2 drags that enable you to ski to the Dantecepes gondola or its only a short walk. We have been twice and would be very happy to go again. If you want to be out in the bars every night then this isnt the place for you as its quite a walk up the hill from the town but for everyone else this hotel is a great base for a weeks skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurboRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Alaska from January 14th with a varied group of 2 experienced skiers, 2 experienced snowboarders and a beginner skier.
Alaska is perfectly positioned at the top of the nursery slopes, a great position for the beginner and just as great for the experienced as we could cross the road behind the hotel and go up for serious skiing or ski down through the town to pick up more serious skiing on the other side.
If you want to do the SellaRonda then this is about as good as it gets and you can even get that last apres-ski drink at the top of the mountain behind the hotel and ski back home when the lifts are closed.
The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and well organised. Wine at dinner and bar prices are not a rip-off.
Sure, it's a 3 star so don't expect oodles of space and room service but the food is good, the rooms OK, the facilities what you would expect and everything is just great for a ski week.
Best overall recommendation I can make is that we will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmadduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hotel Alaska offers a great location, fantastic food, clean and beautifully decorated rooms and a warm family welcome. My husband and I stayed for a weeks skiing and will look forward to returning!
The hotel is just across the road from the slopes (5 metres and your on the slopes) on one side and the back of the hotel is just about on the nursery slopes! The ski area is vast and the whole area is worth exploring from the local slopes to the Marmolada glacier, the beautiful Hidden Valley (Passo Falzarego), the Alpe di Siusi area and lots more.
The bedroom was a good size with a 6ft bed, sofa and balcony overlooking the slopes. The en suite had a large bath and shower, double sink, bidet and toilet - plenty of hot water & clean towels. Room and bathroom spotless. The 5 course evening meal was really excellent - salad buffet, homemade soups and rolls,pasta dishes, fish / meat dishes followed by locally made ice cream or glorious pudding! Breakfast was also a very high standard with fruit salad, yogurts , meats, cheeses, rolls, cakes,scrambled egg, boiled eggs etc. The waiting and bar staff were very helpful and efficient.
Lots of extras are offered with a ski and ski boot room with heated boot racks. Guided ski tours can be arranged free of charge, we also had the chance of free tickets for a local ice hockey match kindly organised through the hotel reception. On one evening we had a local folk band playing during our meal which gave a great atmosphere! The Sauna and hot tub are great for relaxing after a days skiing.
The family were always available for advise and help and their welcome was excellent.
We think this hotel is under rated at 3 star and should be 4 star.This place is a skiers paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tregaddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#41 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#24 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corona Krone
Hotel Corona Krone
#42 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska

Address: Strada Dantercepies 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £88 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Hotel Selva
Hotel Alaska Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing