We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for ski”
Review of Hotel Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is on the slope . You can reach Dantecerpies lift walking 2 min , the biginner slopes in 1 min and the Ciapionoi skiing in 5 min . You are in the midel of Sella Ronda , probabile the most spectacular ski domain in the world . The hotel itself is ok . Maybe a littel old . Not at all modern . The staff is nice , trying to help you , but not to profesional . It is a family run hotel with the family children runing around . You have to know were to find somebody to help you if you need , the same person taking care of the reception , restaurant , and other in the same time. The dinner was good , but the brekfast poor . The rooms are nice , not 102 , and clean . The view is fantastic from all the rooms .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose the Alaska for it's proximity to the slopes and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast was ample and interesting, dinners the same - we were never hungry and the bar was well stocked and sensibly priced.

Each morning we had eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, fruit and various breads, while in the evening we had 5 courses, commencing with a salad, a surprise from the chef, a pasta dish, a meat (or fish) course and a dessert. We selected our dinner choices at breakfast time, skied all day and came down to a warm welcome in the bar just before dinner.

The rooms were large, clean and well appointed and while the wifi is only available in the bar area, it was adequate to read emails and stay in touch with the news.

In contrast to other comments, I didn't find the public areas to be over-heated but just about right.

The staff were most helpful and when we told the proprietress that we had an 0500 pick up for the airport the next day, she made us breakfast tolls and brought them to our room later in the evening!

The spa is great after a hard day skiing with sauna, steam room etc. And you don't even have to bother with shorts!

The ski shops deliver and collect, so all you have to do is pop into town (10 min walk) and try your stuff on - it's delivered foc at about 7pm and collected at about the same time on your final day.

It's a great location for all levels of skiing - there are learner slopes literally right outside the ski room (heated with boot driers) and across the road you can access further learner slopes and the Dantercepies gondola from where you can start the Sella Ronda route.

If you want a change of scenery, it's only a short walk to the main drag and all the shops and apres ski bars - but the food at Alaska was so good that we ate in every night!

I think we'll be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent a week in the Alaska this summer. The bedroom and ensuite were both a good size, kept clean, and we had plenty of storage space. The food was very good, with a plentiful salad bar and a good choice of starter and main courses. The view from the balcony was impressive, inspiring a couple of early morning walks. The staff were friendly and helpful, they were happy to book a place on one of the local tourist board trips which were advertised daily on the menu for our information. Whenever we struggled with the language, they were only too happy to find a member of staff who spoke English. The location is fine, a little way out of the town, so it was peaceful in the evenings. The views compensated for the uphill walk back to the hotel at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The rooms are big as is the bathroom and we had a balcony looking out onto the slopes. There is a bar and a great sauna, steamroom and whirlpool - just be aware nudity is common...
As other people have said it is very hot in the restaurant and bar area which sometimes gets a bit much but there is relatively big wine list.. We found the Valpolicella and Barbera d'Alba more than fine. The food is plentiful and good and there is a choice of prima and secondi courses. To be honest the salad bar would have been enough for me...
Location is great and even walking down to the town isn't too much of a hassle although the walk back is quite strenuous.

Just a few things... The wifi isn't always dependable (but you don't necessarily go on holiday for that!); The quilts in the bedrooms are strange as all the feathers end up down the sides; the water at breakfast isn't hot enough for tea so i asked them to fill up my cup from the bar.

All in all though a great place. The comments about the owners being rude, I can certainly see but i think they are more abrupt than rude - just don't take it personally as they are like that with everyone

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived very early on new years day from South Africa. Although we knew we could only book in at 14h00, we were offered breakfast, a lift to the ski shop was organized. We were promise that they will try and get our rooms ready as soon as the other guest has left. We were settled in our rooms long before 14h00.
Rooms were beautiful and clean. The hotel was in the most perfect position for all levels of skiers and the food was excellent.
The hotel offered a wonderful family atmosphere and every evening all the guest and especially the younger generation gathered in the sitting room before dinner to listen to music and play board games. One of our guests is gluten and diary intolerant and the baked special bread for her and had special options at dinner.
Martha was very quick to get on the phone and help us with information, taxi's or what else we needed.
it was an unforgettable holiday and will see us return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent our winter holidays in hotel Alaska twice and each time it was a pleasant vacation and a relaxing experience. The owners are very friendly and the staff is more than willing to help.
The hotel is situated in a perfect position for skiers. It is on the Sella Ronda circle and is a great starting point for both the green and the orange circle of Sella Ronda. The Dantercepies gondola is a short walk (cca 3 minutes) away from the hotel. If you prefer not to walk, there is a nursery ski-lift a few metres from the entrance to the hotel, which you can use to get up the hill and then simply ski down to the gondola. Behind the hotel there are a few nursery slopes and a ski-school.
The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are big and comfortable. The only downside is that they are a bit dark and could use some additional lamps, but the view from the rooms is fantastic no matter is your room oriented north or south. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it (a five course dinner makes you skip lunch because you don’t want to miss anything that’s on the menu :) ) and the prices of wine are reasonable.
The friendly atmosphere of this hotel makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the second occasion I stayed with the Mussner family and it is always a pleasure to stay in a hotel which is more like being welcomed into an Italian family home. The rooms and facilities in the hotel were brilliant and the chef was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet. The location of the hotel is fantastic as you are literally situated on the slopes which directly link to the ‘sella ronda’; perfect for a mixed ability group of skiers that want to meet for lunch. I would recommend staying at Hotel Alaska!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#33 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#43 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#26 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rodella
Hotel Rodella
#38 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garni Hotel Wildbach
Garni Hotel Wildbach
#75 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pozzamanigoni
Pozzamanigoni
#39 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska

Address: Strada Dantercepies 65, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £102 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Hotel Selva
Hotel Alaska Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing