We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent a wonderful week being looked after well and enjoying the delicious and imaginative food at this lovely family run hotel. We arrived late but they served us supper, the atmosphere was friendly and relaxing and we hope to return before too long. We booked a superior room which was large and comfortable with an east facing balcony and great views, with enough space to help us feel at home. Catherine and Morten

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temphry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

The best about the hotel is that snowy mountain, warm, unreal atmosphere created by excellent stuff, personal approach to each customer and above all -amasing food (this part is always an important part of our decision when choosing a place to stay). Spa is great and there are free stuff to eat (afternoon snack) and drink (choice of different special mountain herbal tea, water with minerals for different purpose in spa).
Furthermore, they go into details. Every day there was a small gift left on our daughter's bed.
When my husband cought some virus, they provided medicine immediatelly and special food all the long, althought we were on hb basis. For skiers with kids going to ski school, it is good to be on this part of the town. It' about 150m to the ski school starting point, and althought we hate walking even a metar in boots, we found a shortcut through the courtyard of the apartments next to the hotel, so it was ok. Back to the hotel, when going throught this shortcut, you can ski almost all the way to the hotel. And, not to forget - the view from the hotel living area is directly to the slopes on the oposite part of this mountin gem, so even when sitting and sippin prosecco, you feel being a part of this unique winter experience.

Room Tip: Room 23 is large ans spacious, with view to the Campinoi slopes.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 011-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

ALL WE CAN SAY IS THAT WE HAD A MAREVLOUS TIME HEIDI AND MICHAEL are marvelous hosts, the services were more than eccellent and the food is the best in the world
We love this family and would come back anytime
Milly & Raul Green

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We came for 3 night at hotel Dorfer - we didn't know nothing about the place - was kind of last minute decision to go skiing -

We had wonderful surprised, the hotel is family hotel with great warm welcoming.

Rooms are very big, clean, great design and very comfortable..

Service is great and personal.

Breakfast is wonderful - all that you just need to start good day skiing .

Location is good few min and you start sking.

Best surprise was the spa- very modern,
3 Sunna and jacuzzi .

In general - we had fantastic time- and sure ill come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at three hotels on our hiking trip with the Seattle based Mountaineers. This was the best of the three hotels, and all were superb. Attentive staff. Very nice rooms. Wonderful food. And this was the only hotel with quality internet in the room with a LINK cable. Those with Apple IPads had to resort to wifi in the lobby. Only of the three hotels where the internet worked 24 hours. Good enough that I could listen to NPR in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We agree with everything the previous reviewer (bwdgsa) says! Definitely the best hotel and location we've come across in Europe - and we've been to lots too. Well worth the drive from Scotland. The hotel and surrounding area exceeded all expectations. The hotel is lovely. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view, nice balcony and it was very quiet. The evening meal was top class! We were spoilt for choice. We enjoyed drinks on the terrace listening to music and the lovely flowers in the garden. Staff were great. Our first visit to Val Gardena but not the last. We will definitely return to this area of the Dolomites and especially......to the hotel Dorfer.

Room Tip: Rate varies according to room size. We were on the second floor at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anno001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Hotel Dorfer is the type of hotel that once visited you will start making plans to revisit soon. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left - we had a wonderful time.

The staff and management team were always attentive, helpful and very friendly. Michel and Heidi treated us as if we were friends and always made us feel very welcome. The restaurant staff deserve a special mention - nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was very spacious with warm furnishings and a lovely sunny balcony with a view of the mountains to die for.

We especially loved the warm, well designed decor throughout the hotel public areas and restaurant. It was I think, the way that many Tyrolean families decorate their own homes.

The evening meals were always absolutely delicious, the choice was varied and interesting and the chef is clearly a master of his art. The 'help yourself' salad choice was superb. Some evenings, I wished it were possible to sample all of the dishes on offer but that would have been greedy !!! The wine list was also extensive with good local wines on offer at reasonable prices.

The breakfast buffet was also very generous, with lots of choice and with an option for hot food also, i.e. scrambled eggs etc.

We didn't have an opportunity to use the wellness / spa facilities but they looked great - very clean and very modern.

The ski / boot room was secure with excellent storage and boot warming facilities.

We visited Selva during the second week of March and although the hotel is not ski in / ski out, access to the entire ski area is less than a 10-minute walk away (and I'm 63). If you have a car with you and you don't like walking to the lifts, I recommend that you drive the three or four km to Plan Gralba, pay the 5-euros parking and you will be within 30 seconds walk of two modern, high speed lifts.

We will definitely return to the Dolomites (we now prefer it the Three Valleys) and we will definitely return to the Hotel Dorfer. It is a special hotel run by people who are very very good at making their guests feel welcome.

One final comment ......... the Hotel Dorfer is not a low cost holiday hotel but it certainly gave us terrific value for money. Thanks Michael, Heidi and all your staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BR11SUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#10 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#3 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming

Address: Via Cir 5, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#13 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#13 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#21 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £151 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dorfer Alpine & Charming Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing