We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

As others have said, this is a fine, well run hotel. The room (a junior suite) was spacious and comfortable and, particularly important, was quiet and dark at night. The spa is outstanding. The salt water pool (you float as in the Dead Sea, and drift under a mirrored ceiling) was a wonderful experience.

We enjoyed the local wines. The only downside is that you need to use the shuttle bus to get to and from the slopes. This normally only involves a wait of a few minutes, but on one occasion we had to chase them up to collect us.

We would have like to have seen more of the family, although we cannot fault the professionalism of the staff.

In winter the hotel has an arrangement with the ski school for guests to go on a tour with a guide. This is not exclusive to the hotel, so you will mix with skiers from other hotels. The tour is daily. We left it right to the last day to go on a tour, which turned out to be excellent, so we regretted not having done this more often in our week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caravanserai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just got back from our second annual ski holiday at the Gran Baita in Selva Val Gardena. We stayed in a junior suite, which was a lovely big room with a great view. The bathroom was spacious and modern with both shower and bath.
The breakfast is buffet style and there was so much to choose from, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bacon, various eggs, and fresh sliced fruits!
The evening meal was a five course meal with a set menu of the day but there were several alternatives for each course. Excellent spacious restaurant, with the starter usually a buffet where you can help yourself. The waiters are very helpful and professional but they don't make you feel inferior if you just want water with your meal; If you do order a bottle of wine and don’t finish it, they are quite happy to keep it for you and put it on your table the following night.

There is a heated ski storage room downstairs, which is locked at night so your gear is quite safe. Also a substantial games room with snooker table.

The hotel are happy to shuttle you the short distance to the main lift systems in the morning; its only a 4 minute drive but would not be ideal if you had to start the day walking in ski boots and carrying skis! One of the nursery slopes is just behind the hotel, about 2 mins. walking distance.
The spa (wellness area) is excellent: immaculate sauna area, very well equipped gym, and an inside / outside swimming pool with state of the art electric sliding windows giving access to the warm outside waters, specially appreciated in winter when its snowing and the water vapor is rising from the pool.
This is a fantastic hotel and good value. Perhaps not fully suited to families, but of course there are plenty of people that would prefer this to be the case!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've been going to Selva Gardena since 2005 for winter and summer vacation and had the oportunity to try out several hotels, but the last two years in this hotel have been the best. Defenitly the best four stars superior hotel in Selva with an excellent quality and affordable price. I highly recomend it for all kind of tourism (families, couples and solo).

Best SPA in the region, with excellent personal. The hotel has a great variety of living rooms which acomodates any kind of leisure (reading, playing cards, hearing live music). Has a great playing area for the kids. The food is very good and thw wine list is supperb.

GREAT HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son buenas.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAPCRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was unfortunate to have a ski injury on day one. Being in this lovely hotel made the rest of the week bearable. Fabulous spa and lovely heated pool that connects to the outside through an automatic door you swim through.
The food was varied and amazing catering to many tastes. The wine list is extensive and serves some of Italy's finest. I put on a lot of weight on this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Feb 2013, just arrived back from a lovely week in selva and the Gran baita made this holiday, the staff are wonderful, the food just perfect and position for skiing home at the end of the day was just right.we were in the pool every day after skiing and what a pool or shall i say pools with the indoor and the out door as well.
you will not be dissapointed if you pick this hotel.
Just one tip, we did not do our research and found that it was holiday time for italy and some days the lift ques were terrible, but if you hit it right the ski area is vast and has something for every one.

Room Tip: we stayed in a suit No 601, great veiws
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We love the Hotel and the area. The Hotel and the food is great. We always go back . The Hotel personal very friendly and warm. It has been 6 times that we go back. Prior, we have been in Austria, Courchevel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We have been in this very special hotel for the 3rd time. Beautiful room; excellent restaurant / dinner (incl very good wines). Plenty of choice for breakfast. Very nice, service oriented and professional staff. Excellent and modern spa-facilities. Special: inside-outside swimming pool. The Ski-area of Val Gardena in the Dolomites (Sella Ronda's) is wonderful.

Room Tip: As far as we know most rooms are very good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva di Val Gardena
0.6 mi away
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet & Spa
Alpenroyal Grand Hotel - Gourmet...
#4 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
Hotel Laurin Small&Charming
#1 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaconi
Boutique & Fashion Hotel Maciaco...
#25 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
348 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel

Address: Strada Nives 11, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#6 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#9 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: £166 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovation in harmony with nature - that's the goal at the Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel****s. We've put a lot of effort and thought into creating the special atmosphere at the leading mountain resort hotel in Wolkenstein in Groden / Selva di Val Gardena. Situated in the village center, but with an extensive park-like garden, the Sport Hotel Gran Baita invites you to enjoy the legendary panoramic view of the Dolomites (which UNESCO has declared to be a World Heritage Site). Mild mountain air together with a wide range of wellness activities, sports, and culinary specialties - it's an experience for all the senses! The wellness facilities at the Gran Baita allow you to experience a new dimension of spaciousness and comfort, of warmth, light, and water. Throughout our hotel complex, you'll encounter a casual atmosphere characterized by unobtrusive luxury and harmonious design. And the philosophy of our 4-Star Superior Hotel is based upon carefully prepared culinary specialties and a truly remarkable assortment of wines. The Gran Baita in Wolkenstein / Selva was constructed in the early 1960s by the parents of Carmen Puntscher. It's a family-operated hotel where we've devoted a lot of attention to the smallest details. We and our team are looking forward to providing you with a maximum of comfort and service so that you can enjoy the best vacation of your life. Yours truly, The Puntscher Perathoner Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing