We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Savoy
Certificate of Excellence
Manlius, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This property is very well appointed with wonderful spa amenities. If you want to be spoiled, you should come here. The room was exceptionally appointed and large with a separate toilet and bidet room across from the main bathroom (nice amenity). We decided to get some wine and groceries to make panini and enjoy the terrace. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us the utensils, wine glasses and bottle opener! We enjoyed using the work out room, although this is one area of the hotel that I think they could improve with more weights and more modern equipment.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    34
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
117
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Having stayed here on two occasions for skiing holidays, my wife and I decided to visit again in the summer. The standards of service and the quality of the meals did not disappoint. The attentive owners were on-hand throughout to offer advice on all aspects of the stay. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Having stayed in a number of rooms on different floors - cannot fault any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to the Savoy. The hotel was as comfortable and as welcoming as last year and it was good to see that the friendly and efficient staff had not changed. The chef is very creative and creates the most delicious meals with a new menu each day and plenty of choices. Everything is beautifully served and presented and the attention to detail is excellent.
The hotel is just a few minutes walk away from the lift and the bus-stop so exploring all of the beautiful walking trails in the high pastures is very easy to do. It is close to the centre of Selva making shopping and browsing is easy. The neighbouring towns of St Christina and St Ulrich are an easy bus ride away. Everything in the area is extremely well organised for walkers and hikers and the scenery is spectacular.

Room Tip: Our room was at the side of the hotel - very quiet with a view of the forest, but noise is not a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and have not been disappointed. The small suite we booked was spacious and had good views and was very quiet. We booked half board and dinners were excellent though I thought the breakfasts were tuned into German tastes. The ski in ski/out facility was a bit overdone as we were usually skiing in another valley and had to walk 5 mins into town for bus or main lift. Staff were all helpful and friendly with the exception of the head wine waiter who obviously preferred talking to German guests and ignored the Brits. A great location, lovely spa/swimming pool area and good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or far side best with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChritophV, Owner at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Wendy G,
thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel Savoy. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As your review was published while you were still staying with us, we were able to speak to you about it. We are pleased that you discovered that the piste passes directly behind the hotel and you do not need to walk 5 minutes to get to or from the lifts. The Hotel Savoy really is ski in-ski out.
We hope that you do not mind us making this clarification, but we always find it easier to deal with problems when out guests speak directly to us rather than writing a poor review on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Savoy on another occasion.
Best wishes
Christoph Vinatzer
Hotel Manager/Owner/Head Wine Waiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We returned this year as a family group having made our first visit last year as a couple. This family run hotel is very well run with the owner and his wife visible each day. Equally reassuring was the number of staff who we recognised (and who remembered us too) from our previous stay.
This is a genuine ski-in/ski-out hotel in a quiet part of the town yet the town centre is easily accessed by road, on foot and by piste.
The hotel facilities are excellent with the pool and spa offering a welcome after a day's skiing.
Recommend half board as the evening meal is excellent and the hotel will always offer an alternative choice if you cannot find something if you liking from he menu.
Our only niggle is the cost of bottled water at dinner - no jugs are offered though they are present at breakfast and in the spa! By contrast the wine list has not only an extensive choice of Italian wines but is reasonably priced and the owner is on hand to offer advice on selection.

Room Tip: No tips on room, though not all have baths as well as showers. Would recommend half board and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

THis was our 3rd trip back to this hotel and once again we loved it. The hotel has a great location beside a chairlift that takes you up to just below Ciampinoi. It may be a bit slow but it does the job. At the end of the day you can ski right back to the boot room door. THe food was every bit as good as I remembered and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a lovely big buffet. Rooms very nice, nice warm fabrics and spotlessly clean. Great leisure area with indoor/outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this location-the room was super clean, staff very friendly and with the ski in/ski out feature you couldn't want better!! We took the half board option (highly recommended as this is a 6 course divine feast) - the owners are local family and the property is more like a 6 star --couldn't be better-new spa is incredible and massage treatment well valued!! Loved being here again and look forward to yet another trip to Hotel Savoy!! P. Knox, Canada

Room Tip: Don't even think of booking elsewhere!! Highly recommend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Somont
Hotel Somont
#29 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
Hotel Portillo Dolomites 1966'
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giardin Boutique B&B
Giardin Boutique B&B
#19 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hotel
Gran Baita Sport & Wellness Hote...
#5 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#7 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#59 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Via Ciampinoi 36, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#16 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#40 Family Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#46 Romantic Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Savoy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, design, comfort, quality, individuality and great service are waiting for you at the Small Luxury & Spa Hotel Savoy in the midst of the UNESCO World Heritage Dolomites. It is an ideal starting point for all outdoor activities in summer and in winter. Ski in - ski out: from the ski room directly onto the pistes of the Sella Ronda in the Dolomiti Superski area Val Gardena/Alpe di Siusi using our unique lift. In summer you can enjoy some beautiful hikes, mountain bike tours and innumerable climbing routes. Relax in our spa area ,,La Saliga" and enjoy our culinary delights. Relish our gourmet nights, a spa par excellence and a stylish atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing