We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Senigallia
Certificate of Excellence
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Right on the beach with private access, easy to find from the train station. Big shower with good water pressure and temperature. The room wasn't just comfortable, it was beautiful, too. The staff helped us with everything; free bike rental, restaurant recommendation, even a deck of cards. The breakfast in the morning is much nicer than most in Italy, too. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Face the sea! Our room had 2 balconies, 501, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    262
    56
    11
    18
See reviews for
184
278
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel only one night but we'll definitely return here if we visit the region again.
From the outside the hotel looks like every other hotel by the beach in Italy but once inside we really appreciated the modern look: both the reception and the rooms felt recently renovated.
The staff is very friendly and after a fast check-in we arrived at our room that was very clean and with a comfortable bed (this was a big plus after a long trip to get there).
There are only two downsides that we noticed during our stay: the room is quite small and the walls are thin, not paper thin but you definitively hear noise coming from the other rooms. Luckily for us there wasn't noise at the night (just only before going out for dinner) so we slept very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SitoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forked river, nj
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in September. The location was great...on the beach and about a 10 minute walk into town. The rooms were clean and the staff very cordial and helpful. The breakfast had a very large assortment of items. Many restaurants are also close by. A very good choice for this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Senigllia to break up our trip to Pescara. Hotel was clean and tidy and right on the beach. Room was small but adequate and close to the best seafood restaurant in Italy too.
For €99 it's hard to beat, breakfast was complimentary and good too.

Room Tip: Get sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed just for one night in May, before "season". The hotel is well situated, across the street from the beach, and a 10 minute (or so) walk to town and a bit further to the other side of the marina. We were happy to find the hotel's(no charge) ample parking lot adjacent to the hotel.
The Universal is clean, sleek and modern. Our room and bathroom were adequately equipped (but quite small), and had a lovely balcony facing the sea. The people at the front desk are helpful and charming, A varied and abundant breakfast buffet was available, and the staff was happy to prepare individual requests (soft boiled eggs) that were not included in the buffet. We enjoyed our stay, but would think that the charm in visitng was doing so in the off season.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

If travelling to / from Ancona this is a very good place to stay at a very reasonable price (although it would appear to be expensive in high season).

We arrived late but the restaurant was able to stay open and provided a very good help yourself meal. The room was well laid out and had some style as well as being extremely clean.

All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

It was the cheapest hotel we stayed in on a 6 day trip and was definitely the best!

Room Tip: Facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived here after 3 days in Venice. What a fab hotel. Nothing too much trouble. We upgraded our room for a nominal amount per night. Our balcony was HUGE although the room was slightly small, bathroom was lovely though! We overlooked the sea. The restaurant wasn't open due the the earliness of the season, but we were given a 10% voucher for some restaurants nearby. The sunloungers on the beach are free and ive never seen such large loungers. Brilliant. Stayed 3 nights it was so lovely.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the refurbished rooms. It's well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Senigallia hotels
0.7 mi away
Terrazza Marconi Hotel & SpaMarine
0.3 mi away
Le Querce
Le Querce
#9 of 63 in Senigallia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#1 of 63 in Senigallia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#11 of 63 in Senigallia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Caggiari
Hotel Caggiari
#45 of 63 in Senigallia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristallo
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 63 in Senigallia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Lungomare Goffredo Mameli 47, 60019, Senigallia, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Senigallia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Senigallia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing