We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monika
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Sesto
Certificate of Excellence
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel is very charming... Out side is like a montain house, but inside is very modern! The restaurant is wonderful, the food is delicious! The view is beutiful and de service is polite and very attencious... I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Patricia,
thank you very much for your friendly review and the promise to come again to our hotel. We are looking forward to it. Meanwhile we send you our best regards. Thanks for your recommendation.
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    111
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
225
685
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

At the outside, Hotel Monika is one of the many hundreds Tiroler hotels in the area, white washed walls, timber balconies and wide roofs. The reception area and lounge are also quite conventional. The rooms, however, at least those I have seen, are tastefully designed, unusually spacious, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. The same is true for the swimming pool and sauna area, which are also beautifully designed. All of the staff members are very friendly, while the young and charming hotel manager is extraordinarily helpful and eager to please.
The great surprise though was the dinner. We had booked half board. The dinner was a five or six course gourmet dinner of world class. Every course was inventive, fresh and just amazingly delicious, while the sommelier helped us to select some of the best wines of Italy. Try the “Kaid”, a dark red, robust wine from Sicily, a delight and very reasonably priced. The next day, the feast was repeated, another superb five course dinner. When I checked out, I got a bill for Euro 115 per day plus the wines. I told the receptionist that he had inadvertently forgotten to charge breakfast and the dinners. He smiled and said that it was all included!! The bill was very cheap for just the room. So, we had these delicious dinners for free. To call that a bargain is an understatement. No surprise that the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advocate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear guest,
many thanks for your extremely satisfied comment. We do our best to offer our guest the best value for money and are pleased to know that you appreciated it. Special services such as a free daily newspaper, a boat trip on the Prags lake and similar are a matter close to our heart just like a delicate cuisine. You gave our Hotel Monika the maximum points for cost-benefit, sleeping quality, rooms, cleanliness, and service, and for the position 5 out of 6. Sesto/Sexten is a small town with limited shopping and entertainment opportunities, however with lots of nature and a fascinating view on the Sesto Dolomites – ideal for relaxing, hiking, and simply enjoying. The towns of San Candido/Innichen and Dobbiaco/Toblach can be reached with a 10-15 minutes’ drive, the larger towns of Lienz and Brunico/Bruneck in 30-40 minutes. We thank you for your recommendation which will certainly help other guests to choose our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon to your hiking holiday with us.
Kind regards from Sesto/Sexten in South Tyrol
Your Egarter family and the Hotel Monika team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfratshausen
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We first stayed here just over a year ago. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay then, so decided to return this year for a long weekend of cross country skiing (which you can do right from the door of the hotel). For those of you who haven't been to the hotel in over a year and are contempating another visit, we are happy to report some enhancements since our last stay, including: ipod docking stations, free wireless internet access and water kettles and tea in all rooms; the fitness centre is more fully equipped and for English speakers, they now offer the dinner menu in English. As before, other written material is available in German and Italian but staff are more than happy to explain the program for the week or assist in any other way. The food is excellent - breakfasts are good but the 5 course dinners are devine. We are hoping that we can return again soon. Perhaps a summer or fall visit for hiking or cycling!

Room Tip: Request a south facing room (most are but not all). In addition, the second floor rooms have a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest, we are delighted that you came back after one year and spent your cross-country skiing holiday here with us. And even more, that this time you found our service even better and more pleasant. We hope to see you again soon. Yours, Egarter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

A top hotel with excellent facilities. The food was delicious! Staff are friendly and the hotel is very good value for money. Amazing location. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliali18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear guest, thank you heartily for your great review! We are already looking forward to seeing you again! Yours, Egarter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent family hotel for great stay in Dolomiti. Wonderful times. We hope we will return in next year with friends. The restaurant propose exceptional dishes with a very good choice of wines. The five dinner course that we had every evening, was spectacolo :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear guest, it was a pleasure to welcome you with us at Monika’s. Thank you for your stay and for your positive review, particularly concerning our culinary offer. See you again next year.... we will be pleased to meet your friends. Yours, the Egarter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I just came home from one week vacation at hotel Monika in Sesto in the northern part of Italy. I highly recommend anyone to stay there, we stayed in the spa suite which was the same standard as a design hotel in a bigger Europen city. The five dinner course that we had every evening, was better then most restaurant I have visit around the area. (like the Michellin restaurant Tivoli in Cortina that I don't will bother to visit again)

The service is amazing and even if the hotel is a small "cozy alpine feeling" the service matches a Ritz hotel. I will defiantly visit Monika again and don't see why you should choose anything else.

Things you might need to know
+ the gym is good, but small if you are in need of more equipment
+ the spa area is a bit small but have anything you might want.
+ all the tv channel is in italian or german
+ a little bit sluggish wifi connection but it works fine

But don't worry the staff will do anything to help you out if you have any specific wishes.
They helped us out with rental car, taxi, birthday celebration, private wine testing when we didn't had time to show up on their ordinary wine testing in the afternoon.The slopes are just on the other side of the road (400 meter) and I don't see how anyone can be disappointed if they choose hotel Monika in Sesto.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilenmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear family Gilenmyr, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guests. On our behalf and on behalf of the guests who read a review on Tripadvisor before booking their holiday we thank you for your detailed description and valuation and for your pictures. We are delighted to read how much you praise our hotel and how you compare it to renown brands. We will continue to work on our service and our offer: next year the SPA area will be enlarged and the internet provider is already working on a faster solution. Kind regards to Sweden, your Egarter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is the fourth time we are going to Sesto and Monika Hotel is one of the best bets there. The atmosphere is very good, a warm hotel, with excelent food and service. The spa is a must go after skiing. I feel like home there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucilaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Lucila, we are looking forward to you and promise to do again our best to satisfy you. See you soon, your Egarter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto
0.9 mi away
BAD MOOS - Dolomites Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Berghotel
Berghotel
#2 of 26 in Sesto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Valle di Casies
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dolomitenhof & Chalet Alte Post
4.6 mi away
Hotel Leitlhof - Dolomiten
Hotel Leitlhof - Dolomiten
#2 of 20 in San Candido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
22.7 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monika

Property: Hotel Monika
Address: Parkweg 2, 39030 Sesto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Sesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Sesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monika 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday at a higher level at the Monika in Sesto, in the heart of the Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage The rooms and suites are modern and with quality furniture. All rooms with comfortable bed, sofa, TV, WiFi, safe, minibar, telephone, make up mirror, hair dryer, bathroom scales. Most rooms with balcony or patio, some rooms with separate toilet and with bidet. The wellness area benefits from a sky infinity outdoor pool, an indoor pool with underwater music, an outdoor whirlpool, an event sauna, 2 Finnish saunas, biosauna, steam bath, infrared cabin and resting rooms. A fitness room, a yoga room and a beauty and massage centre are also available. The restaurant offers true culinary delights, the wine cellar offers over 250 different fine wines. There is a sumptuous breakfast buffet, the 3/4 board package also includes small meals at lunchtime, an afternoon snack and gourmet dinner in the evening. The hotel is situated immediately next to the hiking trail to Val Fiscalina, to the cross country ski track and 300 m from the pistes of the skiing mountains Monte Elmo/Croda Rossa (free bus shuttle to the lower cable car station). There is free outside parking and, for an extra charge, an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing