We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monika
Nearby Hotels
Lanterna Verde(Sesto)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Berghotel(Sesto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
1,144
130
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,144
130
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelwine tastingcourse dinnersan candidoindoor and outdoor poolsset menuexcellent spamid dayspa facilitiesrelaxing vacationattending a conferencerooms are largejust returned from a weekstainless steel poolfriendly and efficient staffadvanced trailsdried fruit
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very stylish rooms and building in a wonderfull loacation by the breathtaking Dolomites. Quiet- Good bed. The included 5 course dinner was a treat and the breakfast was really good. Very helfpfull in the reception, free proseco in the garden as a welcome. Free parking just outside. OK WiFi.

One drawback: Our group had 3 rooms and one were placed very far away from the others, even tough we ordered months ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having selected our Hotel Monika for your holiday in the Dolomites. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities of our hotel. We are very sorry that you were unhappy that one of your rooms was in the annexe and not in the main hotel. Unfortunately, the main building only has one single room and we therefore had no option but to reserve a single room in the annexe for you. We hope that this did not reduce your enjoyment of your holidays too much.
We look forward to be able to welcome you again in the future and we send very kind regards to beautiful Norway!
Yours sincerely
Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This would have to be the best all round hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It appears to have been owned and run by the Egarter family for generations, and there is an ingrained culture of service, hospitality and aesthetic perfection. The decor of the hotel is delightful and chic, and all kept spotlessly clean.

Our room was full of thoughtful details. There is a basket with slippers and pool towels complete with your room number on it, so when you go to the pool all your needs are at hand. There is even a post it note on the bathroom mirror where you can write down anything your room is lacking.

We were there for a week, and there was always something to do. Everyday they have free activities such as guided snow shoe walks or ski tours. The pool is warm and inviting, with lots of comfortable loungers to sit in and watch the snow falling outside the window. The outdoor spa is delightful to sit in while snow falls on your head (but it is a rather chilly dash to get out there!). Twice a week they had afternoon tea and cookies by the fire accompanied by live piano music. There is a kids room in the basement with table tennis and table football.

We had the 3/4 pension, which includes a full buffet breakfast (with freshly cooked eggs or waffles to order). There is then a mid afternoon snack of soup, bread and various cold cuts. Dinner is a 5 course gourmet experience. You select what courses you want at breakfast time. Dinner starts a bit late for my personal taste (7 pm) but I guess that is a European thing. It would be nice if they offered an earlier start for us early-to-bed, early-to-rise types.

The predominant languages throughout the hotel are German and Italian. Key staff (eg reception, the head waiter, the manager) speak enough English to be helpful, but most of the written material such as the weekly schedule, notices in the elevators etc is not in English, so it is very useful to have a translation ap readily available. The manager, Alexander is particularly friendly and helpful and made a point of coming around at mealtimes to make sure we were happy with everything.

There was one thing which needs, improving, however, and that is the wifi. It does not seem to cope with the demand, and everytime you log on you have to enter all your details and date of birth. Then half the time you would be denied access with a 'too many concurrent users' message. At one point nobody in our room could log on for over half a day. These days every man, woman and child has a device that needs internet, so this aspect should be upgraded.

Overall it was a most relaxing and refreshing week. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Owner at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Sasha,
many thanks for your visit and your nice comment. We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for your holiday and that you felt well taken care of with us. For us each guest is a particular person, but guest who come from far away are even more special and fill us with pride.
We are sorry about the problems you had with internet: in Sesto unfortunately there still is no fibre optic cable but only ADSL. Last summer we invested a larger sum to offer our guests the absolutely best internet service possible. Regrettably at the time it is technically impossible to do more. Up to 50 persons can be online at a time. The login with name and date of birth is requested by law…
We wish you all the best, a good time in Europe, and a safe journey back. And if you should long to see us again… board a flight, the Dolomites are waiting for you!
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just returned from spending 10 fantastic days at the Hotel Monika in Sesto. We love walking and wanted somewhere in the Dolomites that had fantastic scenery, plenty of walking opportunities and a lovely hotel to pamper ourselves in and the Hotel Monika provided all of this.

The hotel is based in Sesto/Sexten in South Tyrol which is a small town/village which is a ski resort in the winter but a great place to base yourself for walking and cycling in the summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk into Sesto. There is a gondola/cable car up into the mountains virtually opposite the hotel. We hired a car for 10 days to get out and about but there are plenty of buses that can take you around. Also, as you'd expext with the Dolomites, loads of walks you can do right from the hotel door.

The hotel itself is fantastic. It is family run and is very welcoming. Most of the staff only speak german or italian but a few can speak some english. We stayed in the Alpine Suite which was really spacious with great views from the balcony. The food is fantastic. A really good choice every night with between 5 and 6 courses not including cheese!. They also provide an afternoon snack every day between 3-5pm as part of the HB option which is great when coming back from a walk and you are hungry and can't wait for dinner!. The hotel has a spa and the massages and mud treatment are recommended! There is also a gym and an indoor swimming pool.

Overall I would rate the Hotel Monika extremely highly for its welcome and friendliness, helpfulness, food quality, quality of ameneties, location and value for money. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you have loads of walking gear like us it's worth paying a bit more for the suite or a bigger room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear guests, many thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted to welcome guests who travel a long way to experience the Dolomites and our hotel. And we are obviously very happy when they leave satisfied and immediately think of coming again. Satisfied guests and regular guests are the basis of a successful hotel. And therefor, our team is engaged in offering a perfect service and creating an unforgettable holiday. To reach this goal, in the last years we whipped into shape the hardware and worked on the software, upgrading it constantly. For the next winter we also plan some building works and new services.
We would be glad, if you would not only recommend us on Tripadvisor, but also enthuse about your holiday with us in your professional and social environment. Social networks not only work online, and – as we all know – the opinion of a friend is much stronger than any advertising. We thank you for your support, and send you our best regards,
Your Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights to meet up with some friends.

The rooms are very nice. Nice beds. The bathroom had a huge shower, two basins, with a rather odd strip of glass when if your kids are sharing a room they try and cover.

The communal rooms of the hotel are excellent, again very clean. The spa is lovely. The pool is a really decent size, and very recently refurbed. Breakfast was perhaps the best we had all holiday..and if you like tea there are about 25 to choose from.

The food was very good, if a little overwhelming.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, beware the recommendation of an easy five hour walk however!

Lots of walks and the scenery is stunning.

Downsides. The sunbeds at the front are right on the road, which feels a little odd with people tramping by the other side of the very thin hedge. The room was very hot so we slept with window open. However, the cars are all parked at the front of the hotel so if someone's car alarm goes off, that can be irritating. Also there was some river party the first night with music til 1am, so not really the relaxing stay we had planned.

I had tried to book direct with the hotel and never once got a response from the five emails I sent. In the end I booked with booking.com.

They wouldn't put our tables together in the restaurant with the other family we knew.

But overall very good, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: ONe at the back of the hotel, away from the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We read that you didn’t get a response on your mails… it must be a technical problem, maybe the spam filter: we will check it immediately. Thank you for telling us. It is annoying for our guests, when they don’t get a response, and bad for us, if we do not receive all requests. Once a year nearby there is a Lake Festival – we are sorry that you felt bothered by it. On the other hand it is good that events are organized in town. We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends again with us.
Your Egarter family and the Monika team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in June - the location is beautiful with mountains rising up in the valley behind.

The food was absolutely delicious! The restaurant staff was not only friendly but on top of every detail. The flow of the dinner was smooth.

The staff was incredibly helpful (we ended up with a flat tire on a Friday afternoon, the desk staff was able to call and find a place that was open on Saturday and was able to arrange an appointment to help us out since we don't speak Italian). They went above and beyond.

The rooms are beautiful, modern and huge!

The price is high, but the quality of everything was excellent. This has been one of our favorite places anywhere.

We will absolutely try go back to stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust99Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monika_Sexten, Inhaber at Hotel Monika, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear guest,
many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you „loved“ our hotel. The quality of our service is of great importance for us, and we are pleased, you valued our efforts!!
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours, the Egarter family and the Monika staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews