We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned rustic tuscan gem”
Review of Villa Villoresi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Villoresi
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family owned rustic tuscan gem”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

From being met at midnight by Christina Villoresi to checking out 9 days later we had a fantastic stay. It's about 15 minutes drive from central Florence but a great escape from the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds, and within the walls of the formal garden or the ancient walls of the villa itself it feels like your own private haven. Yes it is a little 'run down' in places but in a lovely rustic way. It is billed as a 3 star remember, the pictures and reality of the villa are indeed beautiful but bare in mind if you want true luxury and being waited on hand and foot you may wish to look elsewhere; the staff are minimal in number so you may have to go hunting for a drink at times, but they are lovely and helpful when you find them. Christina herself is part of the draw here, a wonderful old lady who delights in inviting you to her table to regale you with tales of the history of the villa and her family and all manner of subjects. The florentine steak is a highlight of the evening menu. Very limited but tasty cold snacks available during the day, or head 2 mins walk to town square for supermarket/cafe/pizzeria. We stayed in 'the tower' room which had a balcony and view into the inner courtyard. Would like to stay in one of the rooms opening onto the loggia next time; they look amazing and are huge. The loggia is a great place to sit and drink/watch a sunset/do some sketching, overlooking the garden and pool. Because most guests use it as a base for touring Tuscany we found on the days we chose to stay there all day and rest that we had the place to ourselves, lovely and peaceful. Would definitely return whilst still in family ownership.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostondangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    19
    19
    14
    24
See reviews for
28
35
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed with the Contessa in her family home for six nights and had the most amazing holiday. The grounds are beautiful, green, peaceful and colourful. The pool was well kept and great to soak in at the end of a long day pounding the pavements of Florence or Siena.

The staff were helpful and attentive. We hadn't booked a hire car and relied on trains and one of the receptionists printed out all the bus timetables for us to save our aching feet.

The evening waiter was very attentive and came to the pool each evening to offer to bring drinks down before dinner. At this point I knew I was going to love this hotel.

The frescoes and decor are all beautiful. I felt as though I was staying in a national trust property. I kept looking for rope and signs saying "do not touch' but there were none and it was lovely to be able to sit in the beautiful rooms, verandah etc and just relax and enjoy.

On leaving we received a gift of orange marmalade from the contessa from their own oranges. A little tip though. Don't put it in your hand luggage! Ours was confiscated at Pisa airport.

The hotel was a good 30-40 minute walk from the train station at SEsto but was quiet and secluded away from the bustling city.

We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baptistkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights too many.

The room: so small there was only space to walk around the 2 twin beds making a double and mattresses so old we were constantly sinking in the middle, dirty carpets, one prison cell window, tiny bathroom. We did not expected to get the huge bedroom on the website's pictures, nor this.

The breakfast: beautiful photos of sunny buffet with fresh fruits... Shame we can't eat the pictures because there was none of this, instead: water with cheap orange cordial, coffee that put the shame on italian coffee reputation, dry mini pastries, crackers and processed cheese, cheap cereals. We were there in July! Honestly, I didn't even wanted to have my breakfast there...

The restaurant: Too pricy for what you get...(a bowl of pasta with chorizo sauce was 20 euro), this was no fine cuisine but sold as such with fancy words.

The swimming pool: Nice surroundings, but the water was warm and dirty. As well they offer you to borrow swimming towel at reception and then charge you 2 euro each, to BORROW them! it's almost offending. Don't expect a jug of water in your room either, that too you have to pay for.

And to finish up on the day we were leaving, at 11:45, I had a rude phone call from reception telling me, not asking, to vacate the room immediately, we were just ready to leave and found this call quite irritating.

In brief, a low budget hotel sold for a hight standard one, I mean that the hotel is on a budget not you!...
Poor service (asking for things several times as staff constantly forgets), room as big and comfortable as a prison cell, low quality breakfast, and also that constant feeling that they will drag every penny they can out of you (like when they OFFER you a refreshment of something from a jug somebody made hours ago, and you accept as you do, then watch them write it down on your hotel tab).
The villa is beautiful and has historical values but stay in and you will leave disappointed and pocket emptied, felling like you've just been robbed.

Room Tip: Ask for there most expensive room, you may have a chance to get something decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sesto Fiorentino hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Had a 2 night stay here with family.It was an amazing place and an ideal base for exploringTuscany.We had driven here on our way back home to England from the Amalfi Coast.We caught the train into florence a ten or so minute journey costing us 1.40 euro one way.The meal in the hotel is expensive but worth it for the experience,we ate inside but in summer there is a lovely courtyard to have your meal and breakfast.i would love to go back one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIBANE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Villa Villoresi is the equivalent of heritage listed and deservedly so. My wife had stayed there in the 70s and chose to adopt the villa as our base for a six day stay near to Florence.

On our one day visit to Florence with the two friends with whom we shared the visit we chose to leave the car in the "suburbs" and taxi in and out but the other days we used the Villa as a hub for sorties to Lucca, San Gimignano, Siena and Fiesole.

The Villa has been in the same family for a few hundred years and Countess Christina Villoresi, who is now 96, was laid up with a vertebrae problem after a fall but still is the boss and knows enough about what is going on to hand write a personal note to my wife to welcome her back!

The garden is extensive but in need of a bit more attention and some of the furniture definitely needs looking at but with an extended stay, sitting and simply soaking up the charming and beautiful surroundings is a wonderful way to let time pass.

The dinner and breakfast offerings were typical Italian ( which means that dinner was special and breakfast was predictable and nothing to rave about ) .The staff were very friendly and helpful, behaving like members of a family welcoming guests to their home.

We had requested a ground floor bedroom and it was comfortable and enormous, our friends had a room off the balcony that overlooked the orchard and the pool . The ceiling fresco there was worth travelling to see and it looked down on an equally enormous room.

As a memento of our visit we planted a rose in the garden and are looking forward to a return visit hoping that the Contessa is back on her feet to greet us as guests to her family home and we can see how our rose is faring.

Room Tip: The stairs to the balcony rooms are a real test which is why we had requested , and got, the large g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RODNEY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

If you are looking for a hotel that offers luxury accommodations in Florence, don't stay here. However if you are looking for an authentic Tuscan experience, off the beaten path and with exceptional service, this is the absolute best hotel. I can not say enough positive things about Villa Villoresi. My husband and I recently took our honeymoon in Italy and spent our first few days with the Countess. We were pampered by the staff and treated with true hospitality. The food in her restaurant is exceptional, the pool was wonderful on a hot day, the grounds are stunning and the villa itself is one of a kind. The rooms are simple but comfortable (the air conditioning works perfectly). Sesto Fiorentino is a lovely little town outside of Florence (we took the train into the city for sightseeing - it is a kilometre walk to the train station and about a 7 minute train ride to the city). We had a fantastic time exploring a Florence suburb, lounging by the pool and spending time with the fantastic staff at this hotel. While they were all wonderful, Daniel was especially kind and friendly. We hope to be back one day as this hotel was truly an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemarie791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I remember staying with my parents years ago for a couple of nights. I remember the Contessa, the fantastic Palazzo, the entryway...I just hope I will be able to go back and stay longer. Truly a one of a kind experience.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lavinia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Villetta
Hotel La Villetta
#2 of 8 in Calenzano
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
525 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Villoresi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Villoresi

Property: Villa Villoresi
Address: Via Carlo Ciampi n 2, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Villoresi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa hotel on the Florentine hills with swimming pool restaurant frescoes and antic furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Villoresi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villoresi Hotel Florence
Villa Villoresi Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing