We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”
Review of Villa Villoresi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Villoresi
Reviewed 2 June 2005

The Vila Villoresi was a very great disappoint. Very much overpriced both for room and board and, it would appear, now living off a lost reputation of by-gone years.

We are not inexperienced international travelers – and certainly not in Italy and Tuscany -- but we must admit that in this case we were taken in.

We had a room on the loggia. When it was opened, a cloud of dank and moldy air greeted us, a warning we should have heeded. Clearly the room had not been recently aired or cleaned. The proof of this were the cob-webs and the half dozen spiders or so we killed in our brief stay.

The pictures as currently shown on the web do not match the reality of the accommodations. They were taken either some years ago or else with the advantage of special lighting. Our room, despite its once-fine murals, was dark, dirty, and dingy.

Our room, at a top dollar price, like others on the loggia had no windows, and only access to light and air through two shuttered doors. The glass enclosures were too flimsy and revealing to leave open by themselves; but the shutters blocked all air and light to the outside world. Sleeping in this airless vault was extremely uncomfortable.

The garden of potted citrus trees, obviously many years old, was delightful, but the rest of the grounds were unkempt and in a sad state of maintenance. The pool was a foot or two low in water and littered with leaves and debris; no one, so far as we could see, used it during the time we stayed at the Villa.

Much is made of dining at the Villa in its advertisements. The one meal we took there we must admit was of good quality. But the charges are outlandish. We had many other fine – indeed, much better – meals in Tuscany at 40% -- or less -- of the price charged by the Villa. (We would recommend, for instance, the restaurant in the ‘First Hotel’, just off the A1 autostrada in Calenzano, for far better service and food for a fraction of the price charged by the Villa. Sometimes, indeed, outward appearances are not what they seem.)

There are simply too many superior accommodations in Tuscany, especially around Florence, at far better prices and with far better services, for any traveler to give the Villa Villoresi a first thought, much less a second.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2004

Villa Villoresi welcomes you into its gracious hospitality with open arms. Soaring vaulted ceilings with 12th century frescoes, crystal chandeliers, Renaissance grandeur. The original family which has occupied this elegant palazzo for centuries manages the property with careful attention to detail. Being in the countryside means a great night's sleep while Florence hustles and bustles all night. Crisp ironed linens, cushy beds, huge rooms...and don't miss a leisurely dinner on their outdoor terrace. Would stay here again and again...can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elliemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2004

I stayed at the Villa Villoresi this past summer, and it was like a home away from home, but in the lush beauty of Tuscany! They pampered us with a lovely candlelit dinner on the terrace, with everything either grown or made on the Villa's grounds or nearby. The proprietress, Cristina Villoresi, is a countess, and this is her ancient family home, of which she is extremely proud. The family tree on the wall in the lobby goes back many centuries. The structure itself dates from the 12th century and is actually a National Monument, but there are nice amenities like a swimming pool and updated bathrooms. Original frescoes, antiques, and vaulted ceilings are throughout. Make sure to go when it is a little cooler than the middle of August tho; all of Florence is extremely hot in mid summer. A sweet memory!

8  Thank sbcgirlpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eugenio1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charming4, Direttore at Villa Villoresi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank matlehavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charming4, Direttore at Villa Villoresi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaja986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charming4, Direttore at Villa Villoresi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
339 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
401 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Villetta
Hotel La Villetta
#2 of 8 in Calenzano
97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Villoresi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Villoresi

Address: Via Carlo Ciampi n 2, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Villoresi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa hotel on the Florentine hills with swimming pool restaurant frescoes and antic furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Villoresi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villoresi Hotel Florence
Villa Villoresi Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing