We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They understand service, lovely fellows!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenuta Lonciano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tenuta Lonciano
Certificate of Excellence
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They understand service, lovely fellows!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Firstly, Massimo & Daniele could not have been kinder or more gracious! They are both lovely men committed to bringing their guests great service. In everything they do you can see touches of beauty and taste. The gardens are well tended. The rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfast table is abundant. The coffee is delivered with a flourish. We stayed two nights and we were relaxed. This is a place to relax. The view is spectacular. We brought pizza up from the Ulivo Rosso restaurant at the bottom of the hill and just gazed out from the mountaintop where the hotel is perched. Lovely. And the guests were wonderful to share a table with.

Our room, the lemon room is built partially into the hillside and we had to leave the windows open to alleviate the musty smell that permeated the room. It wasn't from lack of cleaning, I think it's the nature of an 800 year old room.

For us, being so far away from the city of Florence, didn't work. You must drive to town on a very steep, gravel driveway and then it's at least 10 minutes to the train station. Then wait for the next train to town. The train is at least 30 minutes. Since we were on a road trip, we had a car with us which is expensive to park in the city. We thought staying outside of the city would be better, but then there's the cost of the train for two people everyday. It was an inconvenience for us, but I'm sure it wouldn't bother other folks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
111
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The owners of this place are Italians and their hospitality, kindness, service mindness is really remarkable. It was a perfect place to get some rest, to look over the valley, to have a swim and sunbath. The animals (donkey, horse, chickens, rabbits, dogs, goats,...) made it a perfect scenery.

Room Tip: The Limoni room is very quiet. Best room with view is the Cherry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday, staying at an amazing place with the best views ever. We were welcomed by Daniele who made us feel at home immediately and gave us some really useful information. The rooms are exceptional, so clean and with a renaissance feel about them. The gardens are so peaceful and large, with some interesting animals (including a very friendly donkey called Oscar!)
The breakfasts were delicious and with the best cappacinos ever- made by Massimo! We cannot recommend the place highly enough and will certainly return.
Irene and Mick

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

It's true, it's a steep road leading to Tenuta Lonciano, but after conquering it, you're rewarded with a stunning view. Each evening we sat in the easy chairs next to the pool and watched the sun set over the valley. Crickets started to chirp, from the woods came the call of an owl and then we saw fireflies in the garden, a sign that the air there is very clean (so Daniele told us). We very much enjoyed our stay, Daniele and Massimo are excellent hosts and the breakfast was the best we had in the whole of Toscane.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The tenuta lonciano is truly magnificent! In order to reach this place you definitely need a car but once you get there, you feel like being in paradise. In the country park overlooking Florence, you live in a typical Italian stone house, it's peaceful and relaxing.
Daniele and Massimo, the hosts, are very kindly and warmhearted. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Especially the bed was so comfortable, we slept like a log. The breakfast is very delicious, with fresh fruits, self-made cake, cold-cuts, lots of cheese, yoghurt and the best omelet.
We can not recommend the Tenuta Lonciano highly enough, it's simply perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annett2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Tenuta Lonciano is a cosy B&B in Sesto Fiorentino. A perfect place to stay for everyone who wants visit Florence (easy reachable by car or by train from Sesto Fiorentino railway station) and, in the meantime, stay over in the quite typical Italian countryside.
The Tenuta is an Italian rural house renovated with style and taste by the owners avoiding to alter the original contest.
The owners, Daniele and Massimo, are perfect hosts and easygoing persons. They have been really helpful with their trusty tips how visit Florence. The friendly staff pass a extraordinary home feeling.
The rooms are simply lovely and the atmosphere unforgettable. The very very well kept garden, the nice swimming pool and the breathtaking view make you feel as leaving in fairytale.
The morning breakfast is rich and the cappuccino is a masterpiece.
Drive carefully the path to reach the B&B. it doesn’t suit sport cars but luckily that day I was not driving my Lambo ;)
The last but not the last, the B&B offers extremely good fares!!!
Can’t wait to go the there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauro73milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Tenuta Lonciano is located in the mountains overlooking Firenze. It has the most amazing view! The people who run it are extremely friendly and helpful and give you a run down of how and where to go around the area when you first arrive. The rooms are amazing with everything you need. The property has a pool and plenty of areas to lounge around in the sun. The breakfast provided is amazing with fresh local produce which was the best start to the day! We will definatly be coming back on our next trip to Italy!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan_skinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Villoresi
Villa Villoresi
#4 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Terrazza Ginori
Terrazza Ginori
#2 of 9 in Sesto Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Lonciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Lonciano

Property: Tenuta Lonciano
Address: Via di Vara E Lanciano 3, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tenuta Lonciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Lonciano Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing