We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite attention to detail at a breathtaking location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenuta Lonciano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenuta Lonciano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite attention to detail at a breathtaking location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights here during a trip through Tuscany, visiting Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, and the Chianti region, upon the recommendation of an Italian colleague of mine.

I cannot say enough about the owner Daniele: this man does well beyond what you pay for to make your stay perfect: carries the bags, offers a supurb breakfast with designs painted into your excellent Latte, gives a briefing upon arrival (including giving a booklet on the place in your language - he checks the bookings in advance) which includes the best ways to approach Florence (and avoid any tourist-traps), and I even saw him sitting up fairly late in the evening with another couple to help them with booking train tickets to Venice! Where do you get service like that these days??! He even remembered to ask me about my hay fever - he had remembered my sniffling from breakfast!

The place is also gorgeous and a real gem of a find! We stayed in the "lemon" room - squeaky-clean with very comfortable bed, good space including a bedroom, kitchen area + big bathroom, bathrobe, slippers, TV, and even a few things in a minbar (minus overpricing - amazing!); the gardens are supurb and lovingly maintained, plus a jacuzzi is coming later this year! (Watch this space, says Daniele...!) The pool opens on 1 June, and has a gorgeous view over Florence. You can just see everywhere there is exceptional attention to detail, as there are also several places you can sit and sip your wine in the gardens.

The breakfast is encumbered with all the coffee (properly prepared, Italian-style) and juice you can drink, homemade cakes, excellent cheeses and cold cuts, toast (which is freshly topped up constantly - they keep a close eye on the table), and other bits and pieces, with a slightly different spread each day.

Another plus: free parking on-site. There are also sensor lights on the driveway if you arrive late. The driveway is a little windy and stoney, but our very-average sedan rental car handled it no worries. N.B. This place is also a great way to avoid the chaotic downtown Florence city traffic (train station is 10 mins driving away, with free parking + 12 mins journey into the central station).

I promised I'd pen a review after all my constant praise and delight at the place, and I hope this helps when people are thinking of accommodation for Florence - it's a personalised, thoughtful, delightful B&B experience. We're going back for sure!

Room Tip: "Lemon" room has cooking facilities (unsure if all do), fridge, and microwave - plus a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna1070899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
111
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salfords, surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Danielle and Massimo were absolutely lovely people who couldn't do enough for you. The views were great and the grounds wonderful. We must admit to being disappointed with the apartment though (Uva). The bedroom was extremely cramped with little more than a few inches on either side to negotiate getting in and out - there was also a wierd wooden platform that you had to walk along to get out of bed. Taking this out from oneside made it slightly less hazardous but this released the cockroaches (Colin, Conan, Carl, & Cosimo) . Hint to owner, get rid of the wooden enclosures in the bedroom and the stone cupboard in the bathroom. The road down and unfortunately back up to the road is no better than tortuous, but it is having tarmac laid in late October 2011. The room was sparsely furnished and only had a really uncomfortable 3rd bed or a couple of wooden dining chairs to sit on, and unless you perched on the end of the main bed in the bedroom, the TV was unwatchable. The room was cleaned everyday, some days were better than others, but it's marked down because of the roaches. The pictures we saw really do not give the correct impression of the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelu1962, Proprietario at Tenuta Lonciano, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Daphne,
after reading your comments I would like to say your English humor
is nice, but I find It difficult to say so, because of your rudeness and
strange behavior. Being your accommodation so dirty and uncozy, why
did you stay a whole week without saying anything? We would have provided for your best staying and satisfaction; maybe you did not dare to say anything because you had something to hide (a burned blanket, laundry service and room-bar were not paid, and finally you checked out
at 4.00 pm instead of 10.00 am and NOTE that we did not charge you the extra day).
As for the “roaches”….they were not roaches but simple insects that are very common in our countryside; as we are located on a mountain and not in Piazza Duomo in Florence, it is likely that some of this small things may have entered your window or door, being your apartment located on the ground floor.
Anyway they are harmless and absolutely cannot be called “roaches” , which usually live in the rubbish or dirty rooms, (which is not our case).
As for the furniture: our location recreates a real country hill house
With some pieces of furniture coming from these real houses (such as the wooden board around your bed)...if you were looking for a chintzy room with carpeted bathroom (under which the roaches REALLY live, as I have
Seen in the usually dirty hotels all over England), maybe you should have found a more appropriate accommodation.
We hope that you will not come again in Italy leaving bills to pay and
Then complaining about your accommodation because this is not a fair
Way to do here. First complain, than PAY (instead of NOT complaining and NOT paying).
Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Firstly, Massimo & Daniele could not have been kinder or more gracious! They are both lovely men committed to bringing their guests great service. In everything they do you can see touches of beauty and taste. The gardens are well tended. The rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfast table is abundant. The coffee is delivered with a flourish. We stayed two nights and we were relaxed. This is a place to relax. The view is spectacular. We brought pizza up from the Ulivo Rosso restaurant at the bottom of the hill and just gazed out from the mountaintop where the hotel is perched. Lovely. And the guests were wonderful to share a table with.

Our room, the lemon room is built partially into the hillside and we had to leave the windows open to alleviate the musty smell that permeated the room. It wasn't from lack of cleaning, I think it's the nature of an 800 year old room.

For us, being so far away from the city of Florence, didn't work. You must drive to town on a very steep, gravel driveway and then it's at least 10 minutes to the train station. Then wait for the next train to town. The train is at least 30 minutes. Since we were on a road trip, we had a car with us which is expensive to park in the city. We thought staying outside of the city would be better, but then there's the cost of the train for two people everyday. It was an inconvenience for us, but I'm sure it wouldn't bother other folks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The owners of this place are Italians and their hospitality, kindness, service mindness is really remarkable. It was a perfect place to get some rest, to look over the valley, to have a swim and sunbath. The animals (donkey, horse, chickens, rabbits, dogs, goats,...) made it a perfect scenery.

Room Tip: The Limoni room is very quiet. Best room with view is the Cherry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday, staying at an amazing place with the best views ever. We were welcomed by Daniele who made us feel at home immediately and gave us some really useful information. The rooms are exceptional, so clean and with a renaissance feel about them. The gardens are so peaceful and large, with some interesting animals (including a very friendly donkey called Oscar!)
The breakfasts were delicious and with the best cappacinos ever- made by Massimo! We cannot recommend the place highly enough and will certainly return.
Irene and Mick

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

It's true, it's a steep road leading to Tenuta Lonciano, but after conquering it, you're rewarded with a stunning view. Each evening we sat in the easy chairs next to the pool and watched the sun set over the valley. Crickets started to chirp, from the woods came the call of an owl and then we saw fireflies in the garden, a sign that the air there is very clean (so Daniele told us). We very much enjoyed our stay, Daniele and Massimo are excellent hosts and the breakfast was the best we had in the whole of Toscane.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The tenuta lonciano is truly magnificent! In order to reach this place you definitely need a car but once you get there, you feel like being in paradise. In the country park overlooking Florence, you live in a typical Italian stone house, it's peaceful and relaxing.
Daniele and Massimo, the hosts, are very kindly and warmhearted. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Especially the bed was so comfortable, we slept like a log. The breakfast is very delicious, with fresh fruits, self-made cake, cold-cuts, lots of cheese, yoghurt and the best omelet.
We can not recommend the Tenuta Lonciano highly enough, it's simply perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annett2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
4.1 mi away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Villoresi
Villa Villoresi
#4 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Terrazza Ginori
Terrazza Ginori
#2 of 9 in Sesto Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Lonciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Lonciano

Property: Tenuta Lonciano
Address: Via di Vara E Lanciano 3, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tenuta Lonciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Lonciano Province Of Florence/Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing