We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, good lobby and food, great folks”
Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Marina
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was basic, but the lobby area was quite comfortable, and the location of the hotel was great. But what was a real standout was how the owners went out of their way to help us resolve an issue we were having on another matter that didn't involve them; they saved us from a lot of headache. They certainly do take care of their customers.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, and after watching the food preparation, we wondered why we didn't do meals there too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Go_now1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Albergo Marina in october 2013 for a week and it was a wonderful experience. Excellent food, reasonable prices, good service, gentle staff.
Every evening we had a vegetables buffet, a choice of 2 primo's and a choice of 2 main courses. They offer a few local wines of very good quality at very acceptable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdv_ldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights while sharing a 2-bedroom apartment suite meant to sleep 4 people. The accommodation was adequate for spending the night and going out sightseeing every day. Since we were going to hike Cinque Terre (train station is 8 min walk from the hotel) and not spend any time in the hotel, we didn't care for the nice view (we had none as the room looked into some kind of back alley and a fence) or extra amenities (there were none, other than some hand soap in the bathroom), so we were satisfied. We also got a very good price for the area (less than $400 for three nights for four people). Breakfast was OK, but the buffet got emptied very quickly and was not refilled in the last hour the breakfast service was on. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to try the dinner at the hotel, but according to many reviews it's very very good. As a testament to that, the restaurant was always full, but the kitchen closed at 20:30 and we always came back later than that and only saw people finishing their meals. The owner is very very nice, provided us with maps and suggestions on how to get places and gave us some complimentary fried anchovies to try one evening after we (once again) were late to get a table for dinner service. Definitely a lovely host. To sum up: a good hotel if all you're going to do here is sleep (and possibly eat). If you're looking to relax at the property, look elsewhere as Albergo Marina is quite basic and the closest beach is not that nice (crowded, expensive and lacks any kind of character or charm).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We caught the train from florence (easy and cheep) and walked our bags down to the hotel that was easy to find. Sestri Levante is not a tourist town but appears to be where Italian familys go for their summer holidays so it was a welcome change from Venice and Barcelona. The owner and chef "Stefano" has great english is very helpful and serves up good meals. For others at the hotel (and in Sestri) english is not as well understood or spoken...but that is not a problem and in fact a welcome change and made me feel like I was actually in a different country. Stefano does a E15pp 4 course, two option meal every night at 7.30pm starting with a buffet antipasto, soup or pasta, meat or fish & desert...we had expected to eat out at the beachfront cafes but after the first night of eating at the hotel we decided to stay there for the next three nights (as did most of the other hotel guests). It was nice food at a good price and every night we had to wander the beachfront to walk off the nice food as we had to eat all courses they were so nice (and local fare).

The Hotel rooms were Modern and very comfortable with a large bathroom, the best (3 star) rooms we had on our Italian tour. There is no room fridge or kettle as normal on our tour but there is a small supermarket close by where we purchased cold supplies including beer (low cost) for pre dinner drinks in the small courtyard at the rear of the hotel.

From the hotel it was a short walk to the main beach, which had all its deck chairs and umbrellas for rent on the "gravel" beach and the picturesque bay of scilence beach was a 10 minute walk through the small alleyways, shops and cafes of the town.

Sestri is a short train ride to the Cinque Terre towns so is a good base for you walkers, but in August it was so hot we decided to change our plans and take a boat tour around the coast from Sestri to Portafino and back, it was fantastic and good value for money, we had two one hour stops at the destination locations to see the small bay with the Abby (and a bar) and the rich and famous at Portafino.

We loved the hotel and destination for a relaxing respite from our full on Italian big city tour.
We sunbaked and swam in the warn Med waters and enjoyed shopping in the cute little alleyways.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrantLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had 4 days here while walking Cinque Terre. Room was standard, but comfortable, and bathroom good.
The most fantastic thing was Santo's delicious cooking. Breakfast very substantial, and for a small charge a 4 course Italian meal was included every night. It was the best food we had eaten in Italy. All cooked by him.
Just a short walk to Sestri Levante station and 20mins to Monterosso on the train.
Free Beach closeby too.
We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'married' bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is a fabulous little "boutique" hotel that has great rooms, fabulous food (amazing meals at the in-house restaurant that can be added to your room rate for a very reasonable fee) and friendly (family run) personal service. Great location in the heart of town not far from the train station for quick easy access to the Cinque Terre area and even closer to the beach. 23 rooms each a little different but each one we stayed in were nice and modern. I cant say enough about this hotel. It was reasonably priced to (made even better by adding dinner for the night). A great breakfast was included gratis. Wow! Magda (at the front desk) and her brother Santo (responsible for the fabulous food I believe) will take care of you. There is even a beautifully restored turquoise Vespa scooter on the lobby on display! Belissimo!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocketman676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spent 6 nights in Albergo Marina from september 25 2012 (and also 2 nights in 2010). The hotel has a central location, an easy walk of 5-10 minutes from the railway station. The rooms are comfortable and
clean and are equipped with televison, aircondition and hairdryer. Thick bath-towels changed every second day. The best thing about this hotel is nevertheless the food: Generous buffet breakfast and a 4 course dinner in the evening. The food is very tasty and well-prepaired, with an antipasto buffet to start with and a choice of 2-3 different dishes for first course, second course and dessert. The menu changes every day. The owners are very welcoming and service-minded. All this makes Albergo Marina excellent value for money, as the rates are very reasonable. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Else-Hilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
654 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel 4 Venti
Hotel 4 Venti
#1 of 1 in Riva Trigoso
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#9 of 22 in Sestri Levante
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Vincenzo Fascie 100, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing