We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant but bland food”

La Sciamadda dei Vinaccieri Ballerini
Ranked #14 of 169 Restaurants in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant but bland food”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The decor is charming, the service very friendly, the menu concept interesting, but we just find the food bland. The rave reviews received by this restaurant seem a bit too enthusiastic to be credible. But then, maybe, it's just us...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantinadelPolpo, Direttore at La Sciamadda dei Vinaccieri Ballerini, responded to this review, 26 April 2016
Yes, it's just you... but for our fault...

We don't explain all about our kitchen and it was a real pity, because it's the real food from ancient Liguria!

Try again!

Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    546
    163
    75
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Daniele is a wonderful host. He welcomed us in, even though he was closing for mid-afternoon. He shared his love of Italy. We just had to go back for dinner. Delicious, simple, traditional. The interior brought us in, but Daniele brought us back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something different, a set menu but very enjoyable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This restaurant offers a set menu of five different pasta dishes inclusive of wine which makes it really affordable and a great experience. The pasta was of a different style to what we have had before in Italian restaurants but we really enjoyed it and it was excellent value for money. It is only a small restaurant but it has a great buzz and feel about it and we had a very enjoyable evening and can highly recommend. The two owners one of which was Daniel (sorry I can't remember the other one's name) but they were both so hospitable when they found out we had come all the way from South Africa they were kind enough to offer us complimentary liquours which was very kind of them. We will definitely be back to Sestri Levante as it is an absolutely stunning destination for a holiday and we will also be back to this restaurant - hopefully next year guys! Also thanks to Jessica our waitress for looking after us so well. Definitely put this restaurant on your list when staying in Sestri Levante. Many thanks for a wonderful meal and memorable evening. Pam and Steve Lord, Cape Rose Cottage, Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A true Italiano experience at a bargain!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Just amazing restaurant, food, service. If you want true Italian- this is it! All for 17E with wine thrown in - and magnificent pastas! Thank you so much- just an incredible experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you like Pasta”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

For someone who does not speak Italian, I could not make out the menu at first, but that does not matter. They only serve pasta, five courses of pasta. But it is really good pasta. For 17Euros per head we had five pasta courses starting with pasta in cheese and garlic and finishing with pasta and nutella served with as much beer and wine as we wished. We went with a group of work colleagues and had a really enjoyable night with the added bonus of a magician working the tables.
The waiters made us feel very welcome and it was certainly a great evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Healthy_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sciamadda dei Vinaccieri Ballerini also viewed

Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 

Been to La Sciamadda dei Vinaccieri Ballerini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing