We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for Longer!!”
Review of Vis a Vis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vis a Vis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had we realized that this Hotel (and Sestri Levante) had so much to offer, we would have stayed longer. Of course the Hotel overlooks the bays, but its proximity to the old town is also a real bonus. The bar area and restaurant are exceptional. The only quirk was that our room backed onto the restaurant kitchen, so we could hear the clanging of pots and pans at breakfast time. However, our room was to die for, with its own patio looking over the town. My wife teared up when we left. It was that romantic.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, and dont be afraid to get a room which looks over the town and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel sits high up on a hill (but has an elevator directly down to the town level so you get the best of both settings). Rooftop bar and restaurant have huge panoramic windows and take full advantage of the view. The hotel is older (celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2014) so the rooms are smaller, however they are well appointed and in excellent shape. not the highest on my value list but an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: get a view towards the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rob-dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is set on top of the hillside overlooking the twin bays of Sestri Levante. The view is enchanting, amazing, exquisite. The mythology is that the gods turned the arm of a would be assailant into the leafy, stony promontory that separates the bays to prevent him catching and ravishing a young maiden. The view is fit for the gods. The Vis a Vis hotel is designed like a ship and the rooms though comfortable are small, so don't expect major city hotel expansiveness. The restaurant serves the most delightful food and I recommend half board to fully enjoy this. The outdoor pool sits on the topmost section again commanding the view. You are a short train ride from the Cinque Terra, a must see area of Italian beauty. The staff at the hotel are great. Many guests return year on year. Cannot recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wished we had longer. The view is incredible!! Absolutely breath-taking, you would not want to stay anywhere else. Bar and pool area are fantastic, making the most of the view too. Very relaxing oasis, would strongly recommend! Negative was that we had to wait 1.5 hrs after the official bcheck-in time for our room to be ready and were only offered to go up to the bar and buy our own drinks (with amazing view mind you). After 25 hrs in transit from Melbourne and a beautiful sunny afternoon to enjoy by the pool this wasn't the best start. Apart from this, the service was great.

Rooms are small but very comfortable and well equipped. Check that you are getting a full seaview rather than a side view as it differs greatly depending on which side of the building you are on.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EJ40418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staying in this amazing resort feels like being transported back in time to holidaying on the Italian Riviera in the 1920s. The great thing is that it also feels authentic. Everything is done extremely well from the decor to the music. The poolside area is almost impossible to leave and the only better view is from the nearby bar and lounging area. This is a luxuriously charming hotel and the entrance to the lift through the tunnel must be seen to be believed.
The only negatives are the very hard beds and the walls are not soundproof. Staying in a room adjacent to the kitchen is very noisy at the end of the dinner service. These negatives were far outweighed by the positives. Along with the hotel experience, the location is so handy to the cafes and shops near the waterfront. Turn left on exiting the hotel gate and it is only a two minute walk.
The hotel restaurant should be visited for dinner at least once. The meals are superb, the view is divine and the service is top quality.
Vis a vis is not cheap but nor should it be. It feels like a luxurious holiday destination and is unbelievably beautiful. A must stay.

Room Tip: Both mountain view and ocean view are beautiful. Rooms not adjacent to the restaurant kitchen may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

With the most breathtaking views, and great spaces to make the most of them, Vis a Vis hotel offered fantastic service with friendly and corteous staff. The rooms were basic, clean but had good Frette linen. Although we had a family room, the bathtub was a little tight, it was adequate and there was lovely bath/shower products. The common areas are very generous, make the most of the views. The breakfast was extensive and good. The town is easily accesible and on your doorstep. We certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for short break from UK. 2nd visit to Liguria - great region. sestri is a charming, quaint, coastal town - mainly Italians vacationing, always a good sign! Great food and appetitivo culture, lively at night.

Vis a vis is a great base - leachate position gives superb sea views from room balcony. Rooms quite small but comfortable (firm beds which we didn't mind). Cleaned twice a day - never see that in other hotels!!

Staff hospitality is very good - as a wedding anniversary we had a couple of fruit bowls on our room and classic holidays kindly have us some local wine to celebrate! We loved sitting on or balcony watching over the Bay of Silence.

Breakfast - a highlight, fresh Italian. coffee as you would expect, continental buffet and fresh fruit, plenty of choice, even prosecco. Waiters very efficient and polite.

Hotel has small rooftop pool but we spent our days on the 2 Sestri beaches. Would be nice to have a gym but you can't have it all.

Hotel seemed peaceful except for weekend when large family celebration took place and it felt noisy with lots kids - that was only for a few hours though.
Will miss Sestri an breakfast with a view!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank LukeMogDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#11 of 22 in Sestri Levante
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
#6 of 22 in Sestri Levante
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vis a Vis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vis a Vis Hotel

Address: Via della Chiusa 28, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: £115 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vis a Vis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a stunning, panoramic view and located between Cinque Terre and Portofino, the Vis à Vis is one of the most extraordinary hotels in Liguria , managed from three generations by the family De Nicolai. Built on the top of a hill , in the city centre, to which it's connected through an elevator carved in the rock, the hotel dominates the vista of the Tigullio's Gulf from Portofino to the peninsula of Sestri Levante. It's 45 minutes off Genoa Airport and 1h.15 from Pisa Airport. Completely renovated, the Hotel offers 46 rooms all with private balcony or little garden. Some of them have wonderful sea-view. A private parking, swimming pool, wi-fi throughout the hotel and a steam bath are available free of charge. The heated swimming-pool, is situated among the olive trees in full sunshine and sorrounded by the greenery. The panoramic Restaurant Olimpo offers gastronomic delights from the best italian and regional cuisine. At the Sky Bar Zeus people can enjoy excellents drinks enjoining stunning views over two beautiful bays of Sestri Levante. A steam bath with the well-equipped wellness area Giunone is also available to relax and enjoy pleasant regenerating moments. The Hotel Vis à Vis is at walking distance from the train station and boat terminal for well organized excursions to Portofino and Cinque Terre/Portovenere. A nice co-operating beach (with free shuttle service) is available from May to September. The Vis à Vis is the ideal getaway for those who seek comfort, excellent service, informal elegance and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vis a Vis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis a Hotel
Vis a Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing