We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic campsite”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sestri Levante
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Fossa Lupara
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, Channel Isalands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic campsite”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had done a little research on this camp site as we were staying for a few days and wanted somewhere convenient, clean and friendly and we got that in spades. From the moment we arrived until the day we left they couldn't do enough for us. The site itself is efficiently run but retains a family atmosphere. All facilities were spotless and we enjoyed a wonderful pizza in the restaurant and joined in with everyone to watch a World Cup match. Getting into Sestri Levante is easy on foot and it is very convenient for exploring Portofino and the Cinque Terre either by boat or train.
A taxi shuttle service to the harbour, town or station is available at a very reasonable cost and we took advantage of this to catch the boat to Portofino. The following day we had planned to do the Cinque Terre cruise and the taxi picked us up to drop us at the harbour. However when he dropped us he noticed that the sea looked a bit rough and he was concerned that the boat might not sail. He phoned Danilo at the camp site who quickly found out that the boats indeed were not sailing and then he offered to drop us back to the site but also suggested that we might like to go to the station and tour the Cinque Terre by train so that we didn't miss out. We elected to do this and he dropped us there and picked us up again on his return.
Throughout our whole stay we appreciated these little attentions to detail- nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return.
One further point - the site is situated very close to the motorway which gives easy access but once on site you would think you were in the middle of the countryside as there is no evidence of any motorway noise.

Well done Danilo and crew- you can be proud of your campsite!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stillvisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The review by Andy H says it nearly all and we endorse everything in his review. We have a large Camper, so it was difficult manouvering, but Danilo couldn't do enough to help. We also had bikes, so we cycled down into Sestri, to the beach and also to the train station, it was cheap to travel into Genoa. We took a boat trip along the Cinque Terre, very enjoyable, several of our neighbours used the train and did some walking. We tried the restaurant whilst we were there, the pizza was excellant. The site takes the ACSI card, so we had reduced prices in June.
Facilities on site, whilst not the newest were very good, new washing machines and they even supplied washing liquid in the 4Euro price! Showers were hot
We loved the site, Sestri was great, we would have no hesitation of recommending or using the site again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

**The following review is going to cover every part of our stop at Fossa Lupara. I've split it into sections so you can just scroll to the section that's most useful.**

ARRIVING
The campsite is in walking distance from Sestri Levante however if you've not been there before you may find it easier to get a taxi. If this is the case then you can pre-book the campsite's taxi service before hand. Just email the owner (Danilo, lovely chap) and he will give you his personal number to phone once you arrive and he'll send a car to pick you up (at a price of 4euros). Should for some reason this not be possible, a taxi from outside the train station cost us 10 euros.

THE CAMPSITE
Do not be put off by the location/entrance of the campsite. It is just slightly off being under a motorway type bridge, but once actually in the campsite you'll completely forget. Traffic noise is almost non-existent. The site itself works upon a various range of tiered pitches (like a mini cinque terra!) including rentable chalets, small tent pitches, large tent pitches and spaces for campervans. The site is absolutely beautiful, very picturesque. We spent every night sat outside with a candle playing cards with some wine, it was great, it's very quiet and peaceful at night times.

STAFF AND AMENITIES
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival and checking in, Danilo sat down with us, gave us a range of free leaflets with full and in-depth explanation of the area, how to walk into Sestri Levante and which places we should go and see. He fully explained how to make the best of the Cinque Terra and he was just overall extremely helpful and friendly.
The waitress/shop assistant is lovely. She speaks very little English but providing you make the effort to learn some basic Italian you can get by quite easily (don't be the type of tourist who doesn't attempt the language, it's not hard and believe me will be really appreciated even if like me, you're terrible at it!). The shop stocks basic amenities but should you need anything more there is a supermarket 10 minute walk from the campsite. To get to it, head out of the site, down under the bridge (through the tunnel) to the roundabout. Cross directly over and walk towards the big church, just past that on the left hand side is an obvious side road where you'll be able to spot the supermarket.
The showers/toilets were kept immaculately clean for our entire stay. Plenty of toilets and showers available. Be aware there is no toilet paper and some toilets are squatting only (really threw me first time I went in one!).
The restaurant serves nice food and is averagely priced and if you sit down you get complimentary nibbles, prosecco and lemoncello! Definitely recommend getting a portion of chips and large pizza from the restaurant takeaway if you want to split a very decent meal at a good price.

LOCAL AREA
Walking into Sestri Levante takes about 25 minutes but isn't a strenuous or difficult walk, once you've done it once it's very easy and Danilo provides you with a map to help. There are a lot of private beaches that you will pay to use however if you head towards the harbour you'll find a lovely sandy beach that was packed with locals and very few tourists. Get there early as it gets busy and stay near to the entrance of the harbour as that's the sandiest. The sea is lovely and refreshing to swim in. There are lots of beach sellers but it appears that they interact with the locals very well so best way to deal with them is a polite but firm 'no thankyou' in Italian. Don't ignore them and don't be too obvious about being a tourist otherwise they will hang about!

CINQUE TERRA
I won't say too much about Cinque Terra as this is a review for the campsite but Danilo will provide you with a free map and explanation of the best way to visit the Cinque Terra. I'm assuming that if you are stopping in Sestri Levante then it's most likely to visit the Cinque Terra, if not then absolutely visit the 5 towns. It doesn't cost a lot and they are absolutely beautiful. TOP TIP: Wear your swimming clothes underneath your clothes as every town has either a beautiful hidden marina to swim in or the sea, we spent all day travelling Cinque Terra and swimming at every location, it was one of my most favourite days of travelling Italy!

We loved Fossa Lupara and it's staff. Stopping there was one of our highlights of our holiday and we can't wait to return in the future, we can't recommend this campsite enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THORNTON CLEVELEYS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Returned this year to Fossa Lupara following a tour in our motorhome. We were welcomed by Danilo who remembered us from our first visit 2 years ago. The site is very handy for Sestri Levante. You can walk to the town and the beach in twenty minutes. Showers and toilets were very clean. There is a cafe/ restaurant on site. Danilo provided us with lots of useful information about visiting the Cinque Terre which we did whilst there. Wouldn't hesitate to return to this friendly site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHILIP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We arrived in our motorhome in July intending to stay 3 or 4 days and ended up staying 17 days. Like all the others before us Danilo is a star. He is without a doubt the most welcoming and helpful campsite owner we have ever come accross. DO NOT BE PUT OFF BT THE PROXIMITY OF THE MOTORWAY. Athough it is closeby you do not here a thing. The restaurant is very good and reasonable. We had a scooter but the close proximity of the station meant we didn't use it much. If you are in this area don't stay anywhere else you won't regret it.

Room Tip: This is a campsite not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable few days at Fossa Lupara, we were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and found the site to be a very restful and pleasant stay. Danilo was extremely helpful in regards to outings, giving us very useful information. The bar/restaurant area is really pleasant and the pizzas absolutely delicious!
Please do not be put off by approach to the site, once you go through the barrier you will have a great stay!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Coodengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I've been here with my girlfriend for ten days and we loved it. The small camping has everything that we need: clean toilets, hot showers en nice food en drinks. Also the manager Danilo is a nice guy and helped us with our trips en sightseeings. Every day we rode with our bikes to the beaches of Sestri Levante or Riva Trigoso. In ten minutes we lay at the beach. Also for Cinque Terre en Portofino is camping Fossa Lupara a great operating base. Perhaps we come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Fossa Lupara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Fossa Lupara

Property: Camping Fossa Lupara
Address: Via Villa Costa, 31, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Number of rooms: 315

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing